Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PopCap games brings Plants vs. Zombies to the Nintendo DS for on the go play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 1, 2011
    95
    In general, Plants vs. Zombies is an addictive game in all its versions, but on the Nintendo handheld it has at its disposal the largest audience ever owned by a video game and found its best gameplay on the console because of the touch screen.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    PVZ will grab you in its mesmerizing clutches and leave you slack-jawed and ceaselessly shuffling about for more. [Feb 2011, p.86]
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    86
    In the end, Plants vs. Zombies is a very apt game on the Nintendo DS that successfully ports this franchise to this console. With perfect controls thanks to the stylus and the exact same gameplay you find on any of the other platforms, this is one game that DS users should investigate because casual gaming doesn't get any better than Plants vs. Zombies.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    80
    Although not the optimal version of Plants vs. Zombies, I would say that this is a worthy entry into the Nintendo DS lineup. If you haven't yet tried this amazing game the DS is a good version to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. May 23, 2011
    80
    There's a huge amount of addictive gameplay on offer in Plants VS Zombies, all tied up in a humorous package that is perfect for short and long play sessions. Another success for PopCap that will keep many players busy for a good while, Plants VS Zombies is no weed.
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    The fun gameplay coupled with an incredible amount of replayability should keep this cartridge in your handheld for months.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    60
    Although it's still a fun and imaginative game no matter where you play it, there are cheaper and far superior Plants vs. Zombies offerings on almost every other platform. I'm not sure why PopCap delivered watered down audio/visuals, but the fact that they did essentially rules out the DS version for anyone with a PC, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, or Xbox 360.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    This is basically Plants vs. Zombies on the DS. No new changes other than the smaller screen size. So if you already have it on any other system, you know what you're getting, though I'm not saying it's bad. Still as fun as it ever was. Recommended for tower defense fans who wants something new. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    It's Plants facing off against tides of Zombies all over again! I great addition to the DS collection, especially if you've missed the PC version of the game. The gameplay is simple yet addictive and has quite a challenge to it at times. For all you lovers of tower defence games, this will be right up your alley. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Top screen to see big zombies and touch screen to play with tiny cute zombies! I like playing zombie shooting and baseball :) They are really cute and funny. Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    9
    This is by far the best system to play this game on because of the touch screen which can get annoying if you stop pressing down on it it'll fall but once you pick it up you can't put it down. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    I'd recommend this game over any other tower defense game out there. Great that it's on the DS now, so you can play as you go. Cute and wickedly funny! Definitely worth it! Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    6
    This games is very similar to the PC version so if you want to see what the fuss is all about you can download a trial PC version and give it a spin. If you like that you won't be disappointed with the DS version.
    I find the zombies hilarious and the plants a quite comical, it is a little bit repetitive despite some good efforts to have some special levels that are different to the normal place the plants and shoot the zombies. I measure a games success on how long I play before I lose interest; Plants vs. Zombies got about 2 hours game play so far (not that great) but for the novelty of having plants shoot down zombies this is pretty awesome!
    Collapse
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    3
    I don't understand why this is getting such great reviews, I rented it from game fly and the graphics / interface are far inferior to the previous versions I played. WHY would I pay 29.99 for a DS game I can get for$3 with sharper graphic and smoother gameplay. A ten means perfect this far from that. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews