User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 75
  2. Negative: 9 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Much to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simple yet fun. In a way this is a breath of fresh air Pokemon desperately needed.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Great combination of Pokémon and Advance wars with pretty fun gameplay. Definitely the best pokémon spinoff ever.
    By the way what the ass has happened with rating?
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Pokemon Conquest is not a game that will appeal to everyone who will see its title, and even more so will have absolutely no idea about what the game is actually about. It's a sad, but true, fact when you see the title is dominated by the word 'Pokemon'. But for the well informed, this cross-over entry to the Nobunaga's Ambition franchise really shines, and has represented the personality of Pokemon and Samurai Warriors alike. Even for those who can't tell if Hideyoshi is Japanese or Chinese (answer: Japanese), it's a light and enjoyable experience deep yet friendly enough to appeal to newcomers and fans alike. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    This game. This game, this game, this game. When I played through the first campaign, I thought I had been ripped off. It looked like I was going to finish it 6 hours through and nothing had really "wowed" me yet. I was relieved to find out that, after finishing the game, a number of other campaigns popped up. I played through several of them ... then realized that, aside from a few lines of text at the beginning of each campaign, I was playing the same game over and over again, on different combinations of maps.
    I'd say that I liked every aspect of the game, except for when you hit the point when you realize that the game isn't getting any better and you quit.
    Another major disappointment is a lack of peripheral functions, like trading and a large pool of Pokemon to ally with.
    Maybe I'm missing something here, but this game just doesn't shine like I expect it to.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Great game so far. I was one of the skeptics thinking that this would never work, but I am pleasantly surprised! There is so much polish and depth to the gameplay, while being simple and accessible from the beginning.
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I have always thought that pokemon needed a change of venue, and this was a good idea for one. Taking pokemon and puting them on a grid they could move around on and make more in-depth strategies with was perfect, especially for my tastes. I gave it a 9 rather than a 10 because i don't really like how pokemon only have 1 more, rather than 4. I would have been more happy with 2, but i understand how 3+ would make it too complicated. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is a strange game to rate. It's not as complex as the main pokemon games but it's a strategy rpg, meaning not everyone will like it even before turning it on. I for one am thoroughly satisfied by what this game turned out to be. The story is a wash but it's the gameplay and the numerous amount of different things you can do that will keep you coming back for more. Pokemon fans will like since it keeps most of the original games' battle formula (each pokemon has a type that is stronger or weaker to another one) but it can be a bit more complicated since you only can use one move with each pokemon. It really gets you to thinking about how to best prepare yourself for the coming battles. At any rate, this is easily the best pokemon spin off game since Snap on the 64. You'll have a hard time putting it down the moment you start it up and that's the best type of game in my book. Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Pokemon Conquest is the best Pokemon spinoff game created. It is and odd combination of the classic Pokemon game formula and a tactics game like Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem. This new equation works really well and paired with the setting of Feudal Japan it is quite fantastic. The gameplay flows very well having you conquer kingdoms and recruit new warriors and their Pokemon. This added twist of a tactical style of a Pokemon game is crazy addicting and fun! I honestly didn't think I'd ever get hooked on a Pokemon spinoff game but Pokemon Conquest proved me wrong. Expand
  9. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This game is quite possibly the most addictive thing I've ever layed my hands on. Although it's a Pokemon game and the battle system plays quite like Advance Wars, I would say the game plays more like Civilization. Where a single game can last quite a long time if you sit back and level up or it can be much shorter if you try and rush your opponents early. I agree with the people that say the other campaigns don't have any real story but neither does a game of Civilization or most other turn based strategy titles. The gameplay itself is good enough to keep you playing and the fact that you can try using different warriors or warlords and the pokemon you've caught with each person carry over to later games make it all feel like progression towards and end goal of evolving all warlords and collecting all the pokemon, of which there are about 200. I would seriously recommend this to anyone who's been considering getting it. I've been playing it for about 125 hours and still have loads to do!! Expand
  10. May 6, 2013
    8
    It seems as though they were trying to create an unneeded foundation by bringing in the Nobunaga's Ambition series, but I really love(d) this game. One can play the side stories for hours. I do wish they would have expanded on the number of linkable Pokemon and on the main storyline. If they decide to release another, I feel like simply playing Final Fantasy Tactics or Advanced Wars can teach them some things. Expand
  11. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    This intriguing videogame mash up provides enough change to breathe new life into the Pokemon franchise and a memorable experience for gamers of all ages. That being said, the game isn't without a few minor flaws, including a lack of Pokemon (200/649, really?), and a lack of mission variety.
  12. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    When I first heard about this game I honestly thought it was a joke, but, after seeing that it was getting good reviews I picked it up, and much to my surprise the game is really enjoyable. Don't get me wrong, just because your a fan of Pokemon doesn't mean you should get this game. You must also enjoy strategy games, like Fire Emblem, Advance Wars or Final Fantasy Tactics. But if your a fan of the strategy genre and you like Pokemon, get this game now, you won't regret it. Expand
  13. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    HoMM for kids. This game has everything one needs to make a perfect tactic RPG game... for a mobile phone. One-dimensional, dull gameplay (check number one), simplistic graphics (check two), utterly forgettable plot and soundtrack (check three), unintuitive interface (check f... wait no, that's unacceptable even in mobile games!) - you name it, you have it. However, the game is very addictive when played in short periods (yet another distinctive trait of mobile games), which is why I'm giving it 6. Kids might find it interesting, but the older audience should save their time and money for the next Fire Emblem. Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    The AI is horrible and they consistently camp at banners and the AI pretty much cheats, the game is generally pretty bad when the AI is cheating. I would not recommend this game to anyone I know and this game has ruined the pokemon franchise.
  15. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    It's a pretty standard, little tactics-style RPG. The action is neither groundbreaking nor offensively bad. It's got the standard pokemon table of effectiveness, as well as abilities and items and such. Instead of catching pokemon, warriors bond with them, and one of the more things in the game is trying to find the perfect matches for each warrior. Each pokemon only has one move in combat, which makes for the interesting tactical choice of what order you want to attack in or where you want your pokemon to be so that they won't hit each other with attacks that do a lot of collateral damage. Much to my surprise, I actually ended up liking that feature of only having one attack, which forced some more team composition than just putting a super-powerful moveset into play and sweeping the field. Much to my dismay, though, there are only so many pokemon within the game. Th artwork is actually quite stunning, which just makes it more painful not to see most of my favourite pokemon. Fans of tactics games will probably find the game short, simple, and dull, and feel that the game has resources that it didn't fully realize. People who are new to tactics games, younger gamers, and pokemon fans, however, will probably have some fun with it. Expand
  16. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I'm giving pokemon conquest this rating because it has in game tutorials, legendary pokemon, even a password system that make hard to acquire pokemon a lot easier to discover. Also I think that they could have added more pokemon from generation two but to be honest having articuno from gen one more than makes up for missing the three dogs, the raindow pokemon, the ruler of the sea and the time travel pokemon. But you know having articuno, mewtwo, registeel, groudon, rayquaza, dialga, arceus, terrakion, reshiram and zekrom is more than good enough for me. Collapse
  17. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This Pokemon/ Nobunagas Ambition fusion might be the best out there for the DS.

    Realeased at the end of the systems life, while the 3DS had already been around, it helped both DS and 3DS owners with a great game when the 3DS was just starting to pick up its greatness.

    This game is a strategy game that uses the principles of the Pokemon games along with the Nobunaga gameplay. It is
    extremely addicting. As a matter of fact so addicting I stopped playing it because it took up all the time in my life.
    There is always something to do, and once you have completed one thing, there will be something new, whether it is evolving a pokemon, finding a certain item, recruiting a warrior or finding and catching a pokemon to create a perfect link wit a trainer.

    The only downside is probably that sometimes, all the things you have to do each round can become to much.

    Even with that it is a great game for every strategical RPG fan, and especially for Pokemon fans.
    If you are new to the genre I recommend it as well as it is extremely well made.

    Perfect 10 out of 10!
    Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    An incredible game, don't listen to anyone talking **** about this game because they are flat out crazy. The AI is great, the collecting is great, the gameplay is great... The game is almost perfect other than the fact it doesn't include the Pokemon from X and Y and since that would be literally impossible the game is a perfect strategy title.

    boom 10/10
  19. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    A huge leap for Pokemon, Nintendo has tried something new with the series, placing it into a, while still turn-based but more Final Fantasy Tactics-esque role playing game. The player is given the ability to take over several kingdoms and starts out with one, in the setting of feudal Japan, namely the Sengoku era. An interesting take on the Pokemon series, the game does not stray too far from its turn-based roots, while still offering a much different take on how Pokemon games usually play out, aside from the Ranger and Dungeon series.
    Overall, its worth its cost as a DS title, and possibly a good pick-up for those who enjoy strategic turn-based games and Pokemon fans.
    Expand
  20. LHy
    Sep 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first I was not too interested in this game but after months, I decided to buy it, and let me tell you, It was a really nice experience, I loved the gameplay, and the fact that you can storm kingdoms and take over, good game in general Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    This game is just amazing.
    I'm understating with a 10, this deserves a 12 at least. I freaking love this game so much. Since the day I bought it, I never sold it back.
    Characters: The Warlords aren't just lame cut-paste, the warriors however are, but they're all different in a way. My favorite warlords are probably Hanbei, Hideyoshi, and Nobunaga. Oh yeah, I forgot; this is a
    spin-off of Nobunaga's ambition and Pokemon. Somehow though, it works.
    I looked at the reviews and I saw negitaves. I thought this. "Why!? Why did this even happen!"
    Story: he player starts off in the nation of Aurora with their partner Eevee , after being named the most recent Warlord . Then they meet up with Mitsunari , Kiyomasa , and Masanori , who taunt the player, stating that they are not ready to be a Warlord. At this point, two warriors from the neighboring nation of Ignis challenge the player to battle. Oichi joins in the battle to support the player.
    I can't spoil more. You need to play it yourself.
    Gameplay: Oooooh the gameplay. It's a typical JRPG strategy game, but it's easy for everybody to understand. No long explanations!
    Overall Rating: This may not just be the best Pokemon Spin-off ever, but my #1 Favorite game.
    Expand
  22. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I'm giving pokemon conquest this rating because it has in game tutorials, legendary pokemon, even a password system that make hard to acquire pokemon a lot easier to discover. Also I think that they could have added more pokemon from generation two but to be honest having articuno from gen one more than makes up for missing the three dogs, the raindow pokemon, the ruler of the sea and the time travel pokemon. But you know having articuno, mewtwo, registeel, groudon, rayquaza, dialga, arceus, terrakion, reshiram and zekrom is more than good enough for me. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    The strategy aspect in itself is quite entertaining, and manages to draw a fine line between being a real challenge and a breeze. Some confusion does arise thanks to poor explaining and bad layout, but this is overall a very solid first step into the strategy genre for the popular Pokémons.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    91
    One of the last "must-have" we'll see on Nintendo DS. It's simply one of the bests and most original SRPGs right now, with many hours of fun waiting for you and very interesting characters to lead us through the plot.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    82
    Pokémon Conquest is a better game than the idea of fusing Pokemon with Nobunaga's Ambition originally sounded like. Although the difficulty level is set low enough for kids to manage, even grown ups can enjoy Conquest's take on tactical battles and Pokemon training. [Sept 2012]