Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Pokemon Conquest, players take on the role of a young Warlord who is linked with a Pokemon. Together, they must set out to recruit Warrior allies to strengthen their growing kingdom. Along their journey, players will encounter a variety of Pokemon, as well as Warriors and Warlords inspired by the Japanese feudal era. The game contains nearly 200 Pokemon, including many from the recent Pokemon Black Version and Pokemon White Version games, which have sold more than 4 million copies combined in the United States.

    As the battlefield unfolds in Pokemon Conquest, players must choose the correct Pokemon type to inflict maximum damage on their opponents. In the turn-based skirmishes, players choose different tactics for intense six-on-six battles, and battle conditions can change on every turn, keeping players on their toes in anticipation of what will happen next.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    91
    One of the last "must-have" we'll see on Nintendo DS. It's simply one of the bests and most original SRPGs right now, with many hours of fun waiting for you and very interesting characters to lead us through the plot.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    A breath of fresh air into the somewhat stale Pokemon series. Creating a strategy game that is both accessible for newcomers and deep for veterans is quite a feat, and this game has done just that.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    88
    Pokémon Conquest's replay value is through the roof. After the first campaign is completed many more stories that allow the player to control different warlords open up. These different stories have their own objectives that the player has to complete in order to win. After 33 of these stories are completed, a campaign similar to the first one becomes available. In addition to these, more stories can be downloaded from the Nintendo WFC. All of this, combined with online multiplayer, will leave one with hundreds of hours of Pokémon themed turn based strategy excitement to enjoy.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    As far as Pokemon spin-off games go, this is definitely one of the best offerings on the market, and is worth picking up by any fan of the series.
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    80
    Perhaps the greatest achievement of Pokémon Conquest, however, is that it made us want to go back and play one of Koei's earlier, duller and more convoluted Nobunaga games. And any game that can make us feel that way is worthy of high praise indeed.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    At the end of the day, despite some presentation and interface issues, Pokémon Conquest does a splendid job of combining two seemingly uncombinable franchises.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    50
    It wants to be so many games, and for each of its inspirations, it delivers a different demand. As a logical and unfortunate result, Pokemon Conquest is just too damned demanding.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Much to my surprise, this game was fantastic. The odd pairing of feudal japan and pokemon somehow gels well, and the strategy aspect is simple yet fun. In a way this is a breath of fresh air Pokemon desperately needed. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is a strange game to rate. It's not as complex as the main pokemon games but it's a strategy rpg, meaning not everyone will like it even before turning it on. I for one am thoroughly satisfied by what this game turned out to be. The story is a wash but it's the gameplay and the numerous amount of different things you can do that will keep you coming back for more. Pokemon fans will like since it keeps most of the original games' battle formula (each pokemon has a type that is stronger or weaker to another one) but it can be a bit more complicated since you only can use one move with each pokemon. It really gets you to thinking about how to best prepare yourself for the coming battles. At any rate, this is easily the best pokemon spin off game since Snap on the 64. You'll have a hard time putting it down the moment you start it up and that's the best type of game in my book. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Great game so far. I was one of the skeptics thinking that this would never work, but I am pleasantly surprised! There is so much polish and depth to the gameplay, while being simple and accessible from the beginning. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Pokemon Conquest is the best Pokemon spinoff game created. It is and odd combination of the classic Pokemon game formula and a tactics game like Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem. This new equation works really well and paired with the setting of Feudal Japan it is quite fantastic. The gameplay flows very well having you conquer kingdoms and recruit new warriors and their Pokemon. This added twist of a tactical style of a Pokemon game is crazy addicting and fun! I honestly didn't think I'd ever get hooked on a Pokemon spinoff game but Pokemon Conquest proved me wrong. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I have always thought that pokemon needed a change of venue, and this was a good idea for one. Taking pokemon and puting them on a grid they could move around on and make more in-depth strategies with was perfect, especially for my tastes. I gave it a 9 rather than a 10 because i don't really like how pokemon only have 1 more, rather than 4. I would have been more happy with 2, but i understand how 3+ would make it too complicated. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    This intriguing videogame mash up provides enough change to breathe new life into the Pokemon franchise and a memorable experience for gamers of all ages. That being said, the game isn't without a few minor flaws, including a lack of Pokemon (200/649, really?), and a lack of mission variety. Collapse
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    The AI is horrible and they consistently camp at banners and the AI pretty much cheats, the game is generally pretty bad when the AI is cheating. I would not recommend this game to anyone I know and this game has ruined the pokemon franchise. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews