Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this pair of action-packed adventures, players journey as actual Pokemon through a fantastic land untouched by humans. Before the game starts, players take a test to help them figure out which of 16 Pokemon best represents their personalities. Players then experience their adventure through the eyes of a Pokemon as they explore the land and embark on an epic journey through time and darkness. They talk and team up with other Pokemon to set out on an epic voyage while navigating an endless array of randomly generated dungeons. More than 490 Pokemon populate these new games, guaranteeing strategic, intense battles and infinite possibilities, no matter which Pokemon players become. To widen their circle of Pokemon friends, Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection lets users engage in wireless rescue operations and send alerts to their friends via e-mail or mobile text message. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. 80
    If you've wanted to play Rogue-like games in the past, but found them to be a bit too unforgiving, this is an exceedingly good alternative to look into.
  2. The strength of the first "Pokemon Mystery Dungeon" was its in-depth story, and that's true of the second pair of titles as well. [June 2008, p.86]
  3. If you've already played Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue/Red Rescue Team, the improved Wi-Fi functionality is the sole reason that it might be worth playing Explorers of Time/Darkness.
  4. As innovation free as we've come to expect from the 'mon, but quietyly enjoyable stuff. [Aug 2008, p.64]
  5. Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers is more of the same, and that won't disturb those who appreciate the franchise.
  6. The newest Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games are perfect for players that adore Pokemon, love the grinding gameplay of dungeon crawling games, but would prefer a watered down version.
  7. This recurrent rehash is branding to serve the genre, and of little benefit to Poke-fans. [Sept 2008, p.96]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This is possibly the most underrated game in modern history, it's the freaking genre of mystery dungeon and they did it DAMN WELL.

    I mean
    pinball games get rated on pinball games and get a good score if done right, right? Yes

    FPS get a good score if they're done right, right? Yes

    Pokemon mystery dungeon 2 is the best mystery dungeon game but nope, sorry it deserves a bad score because BITTER critics.
    Expand
  2. GeorgeS.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    A superb game. The one point deducted is because the game isn't as good as pokemon diamond or pearl.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This game really is enjoyable. Although the dungeons do get repetitive at times, and the AI can be weird with your partners, I find it's not so much the mechanics of dungeons that make this game what it is, it's the story. The animation and sprites are nicely designed for this type of game, and the characters are interesting. The music is also pleasant to listen to. And of course, just the whole idea of becoming a Pokemon in this game is enough to have many people hooked. If you like games with a lot of story content, dynamic characters, and exciting music, you'll probably like this. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    *sigh* All right. How do I compare this with the sequel, Gates to Infinity? You might know I wrote an earlier review on it, saying it was my favorite game ever? I might have been hyping it a bit there, but it still ranks VERY high. Anyway back to Darkness/Time. Essentially, I see them as the same game. And a very good game, at that. But let's start with the negatives.

    First off, the graphics. Really, Nintendo? Three shades of brown for a dungeon floor? Yeah, the graphics could have been a bit more varied. Also, post-story, you have to face FIVE 99-floor dungeons! FIVE! I mean, this is optional, but I tried one, just for the heck of it, and I only got to Floor 57. Keep in mind that I was Level 100, with eight Reviver Seeds. Yeah. The game trolls you with them. And the addition of hunger does not help with the game's already high difficulty.

    Now, the positives. Some of the visuals are stunning (I said some, not all), like the beach and Fogbound Lake. The music is stunning as well, such as Temporal Tower/Spire. And the ending is WAY more of a tear-jerker than the first one, yet heavily outclassed by the third. Also, the scenario is very nice, with you trying to deter the PLANET'S PARALYSIS! Jeez! That is a heavy load on your shoulders!
    The game play is also very similar to the first game, but nowhere near repetitive yet.

    Overall, this game is very fun and entertaining. If you're a Pokemon fan, like dungeon-crawlers, or both, I highly recommend picking this up. Rating: 9.25/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    It's better than the first because the story is more fascinating and emotional. However the problems are the same: repetitive, interminable dungeons that you have to restart if you die. You could have to go through a 99 floor dungeon (argh!) twice (ARGH!) to recruit a legendary pokemon. Anyway, the atmosphere of some dungeons and the setting and scenery in general is charming and inspired. Expand
  6. JoeS.
    May 11, 2008
    4
    This is a very poor game with the Pokemon name slapped on it to sell it. The game play is very repetitive, the environments consist of boxes that come in three different shades of brown, and there are only a handful of animations for the moves/attacks. The moves are completely unbalanced, the items do virtually nothing, and all too often you will lose everything anyway. Avoid this Pokemon game, because its not Pokemon. Collapse