User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 227

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    Get this one instead of Black version. The bonus feature is a forest that works seasonally, while the bonus feature in Black is a city tht works depending on how fast you beat the game. If you're ike me, you spend a lot of time really building a team and beat Pokemon games pretty slowly, and Black loses the bonus feature almost entirely if you're like that. Still can only give it a 6. ReadGet this one instead of Black version. The bonus feature is a forest that works seasonally, while the bonus feature in Black is a city tht works depending on how fast you beat the game. If you're ike me, you spend a lot of time really building a team and beat Pokemon games pretty slowly, and Black loses the bonus feature almost entirely if you're like that. Still can only give it a 6. Read my review for Black version for all of the details on that. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    I have played Pokemon for a very long time. I told myself that this game would be no different to the ones that came before it. I can't believe I ever thought that. This game is new and fun and full of surprises! I can't wait to get my 3DS in the mail and pop this into it, that will be the first thing I do. This game has replay value out the back and I can't wait to buy my second copy.I have played Pokemon for a very long time. I told myself that this game would be no different to the ones that came before it. I can't believe I ever thought that. This game is new and fun and full of surprises! I can't wait to get my 3DS in the mail and pop this into it, that will be the first thing I do. This game has replay value out the back and I can't wait to buy my second copy. Well done Nintendo. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    Why GameFreak, why? Why, after the excellent HG/SS versions, you had to come out with this... thing? The best bet I have is that the team that worked on this abomination is NOT the same that worked on HG and SS. But anyway. The entire franchise got so dumbed down with Black and White it's not even funny. Poison not working outside of battle? Region being linear as crap? Gym leaders onlyWhy GameFreak, why? Why, after the excellent HG/SS versions, you had to come out with this... thing? The best bet I have is that the team that worked on this abomination is NOT the same that worked on HG and SS. But anyway. The entire franchise got so dumbed down with Black and White it's not even funny. Poison not working outside of battle? Region being linear as crap? Gym leaders only ever having 3 Pokemon max? Audinos and Lucky Egg making the game lose ANY traces of challenge it ever had? And that's only scratching the top of a mountain of problems this game has. Truth to be told, the game has some improvements. Mostly minor, and/or completely irrelevant to the franchise as a whole (like a plot) but there are still there. Still, the game left me with a really bad aftertaste (esp. with what they did to the multiplayer...) and that pushed me, a lifelong fan of the franchise, to rate this game with such an average score. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    So close to perfect. The gameplay mechanics have been tweaked beautifully and the world to explore is vast and fresh, triple battles add a whole lot more strategy to the game and the graphics are gorgeously simplistic (nice to see the return of pixelated close-up sprites, blast from the past from Pokemon Yellow right there). It's just a shame that a few of the new pokemon feel rushed and weak.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Looking back on the Pokemon series, its easy to claim that Gamefreak hasn't made very many changes. That was never more apparent than in Pokemon Diamond/Pearl. It was disappointing and over all, the game felt stale, with hardly any new pokemon worth caring about. Thankfully, Black and White have solved all of these problems. The game is longer, the pokemon are better, and everythingLooking back on the Pokemon series, its easy to claim that Gamefreak hasn't made very many changes. That was never more apparent than in Pokemon Diamond/Pearl. It was disappointing and over all, the game felt stale, with hardly any new pokemon worth caring about. Thankfully, Black and White have solved all of these problems. The game is longer, the pokemon are better, and everything looks and feels new and exciting. It seems like its been years since I've cared about pokemon and this game has pulled me right back in. Of course, its a very similar game as you still move from town to town, defeating trainer after trainer and gym after gym. However, now with new pokemon and a bigger emphasis on exploration rather than HM moves, it all feels much better. Even if you're a jaded game, Pokemon Black/White does a lot to pull you back in. Expand
  6. May 8, 2011
    6
    OK game, not much has changed, better graphics, cool new pokemon. Great game, although once you complete the game and start over, it's quite boring. It's not a game you can play over and over and over. I would like to see something different in the pokemon games, such as "customizing your character", "choosing your own path" instead of following the same routine like in all the otherOK game, not much has changed, better graphics, cool new pokemon. Great game, although once you complete the game and start over, it's quite boring. It's not a game you can play over and over and over. I would like to see something different in the pokemon games, such as "customizing your character", "choosing your own path" instead of following the same routine like in all the other games.
    I would recommend this game to someone.

    Overall great game. I'd just like to see something different.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Dear pokemon creaters if I could speak to one. Take pokemon and make it a LEGIT RPG! Its that easy and kids will even love it. Make a more unique leveling up system, make each pokemon capable of being unique. People who play pokemon like there pokemon and want them to be around for a long time instead of starting all over each time we turn a new game on. Go to console, create a newDear pokemon creaters if I could speak to one. Take pokemon and make it a LEGIT RPG! Its that easy and kids will even love it. Make a more unique leveling up system, make each pokemon capable of being unique. People who play pokemon like there pokemon and want them to be around for a long time instead of starting all over each time we turn a new game on. Go to console, create a new universe, and become pairable with the haindheld scene. It would blow up and that's what y'all want right, to make money? Expand
  8. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Pokemon Black and White is the most original and refreshing entry in the series since Pokemon's first inception. Over ten years have passed since I was first exposed to my Blue version, and the series is still going strong. Game Freak is a truly amazing developer, with their uncanny ability to rejuvenate what is essentially a bunch of rock-paper-scissors battle. Pokemon is still one of thePokemon Black and White is the most original and refreshing entry in the series since Pokemon's first inception. Over ten years have passed since I was first exposed to my Blue version, and the series is still going strong. Game Freak is a truly amazing developer, with their uncanny ability to rejuvenate what is essentially a bunch of rock-paper-scissors battle. Pokemon is still one of the most enriching and addicting RPGs out there. Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    I posted a review of Black and so I thought I would post a similar one for White since I have both but instead of copying my other one I am going to cover some of the features on this one I did not on my review of Black.. I really liked how they added triple battles and rotation battles but tri type pokemon would have been nice. Another thing that would have been nice is a dragonI posted a review of Black and so I thought I would post a similar one for White since I have both but instead of copying my other one I am going to cover some of the features on this one I did not on my review of Black.. I really liked how they added triple battles and rotation battles but tri type pokemon would have been nice. Another thing that would have been nice is a dragon Evveeloution but it is forgivable. The camera has some cool angles but it is a little overhyped. Zekrom and Reshiram are cool but the elemental legendaries which have those weird names one is which is a fire tpye is pretty weird. As for graphics they were improved but not earth shattering. Full 3d like in Battle Revolution would be nice. As well as Pokemon appearing in the over world with no need to walk through grass but you cannot have it all. The sound is good but not as classic or as awesome as HG/SS but it is still a worthy effort and a great rethinking of the series that comes a little short of perfection. I give both versions a 9/10 Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    This is the first REAL Pokemon game I have played and I knew it wasn't going to disappoint and it didn't.. But there really is nothing else to do after beating the Elite Four and it is very easy, and it's only the first time of played. Still very good though.
  11. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Pokemon White manages to bring some much needed freshness into the series, although not enough to fully satisfy. The usual journey of catching/training pokemon and battling other trainers is still fun and a world populated solely with new monsters is a nice change. What is disappointing is the reluctance of this series to stray too far from its comfort zone. Also, the region exclusive toPokemon White manages to bring some much needed freshness into the series, although not enough to fully satisfy. The usual journey of catching/training pokemon and battling other trainers is still fun and a world populated solely with new monsters is a nice change. What is disappointing is the reluctance of this series to stray too far from its comfort zone. Also, the region exclusive to White version is a big letdown. Even so, both newcomers and veterans will lap this up as it manages to recapture part of what made millions fall in love with Pokemon. Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Not only are black and white the best of the series, but they are some of the greatest games ever created for the Nintendo DS. They are true masterpieces because of improved graphics, area, battle system, amount of creatures, and even small editions such as triple battles and c-gear.
  13. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    Bah. I hated this game. I have hated Pokemon since they made crappy remakes of Gold and Silver. If you asked me I would put Pokemon Blue and Pokemon Silver somewhere on my top 10 list of favourite games ever. This would barely make my 1000th.
    First, they made the controls even harder by adding even MORE touchscreen stuff.
    Second, it is EXACTLY THE SAME AS SOULSILVER WAS!!!!!!!!!!!! Pokemon
    Bah. I hated this game. I have hated Pokemon since they made crappy remakes of Gold and Silver. If you asked me I would put Pokemon Blue and Pokemon Silver somewhere on my top 10 list of favourite games ever. This would barely make my 1000th.
    First, they made the controls even harder by adding even MORE touchscreen stuff.
    Second, it is EXACTLY THE SAME AS SOULSILVER WAS!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Pokemon was better when it was NOT THE SAME GAME EVERY TIME!!!!!!!!!!
    Yes, Red and Blue are practically the same as Crystal, but they were actually original.

    The END!!!!
    Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Creatures Inc. and Pokemon Corp. should think of a newer spin off than the serie with the same plot. I am disgusted by the black and white pokemons they were ridiculously not memorable. They are like trashes that came along to the series.
  15. May 7, 2012
    0
    If you've played the previous Pokemon games in the GBA or GBC, then you'd know that this game is not the best in the series. The Pokemon series is going downhill because of the lack of creativity. My all time favorite will be Emerald Version. The Pokemon series is going downhill and now the games are starting too. I'd say, Gamefreak should just create a Pokemon game where you can travel inIf you've played the previous Pokemon games in the GBA or GBC, then you'd know that this game is not the best in the series. The Pokemon series is going downhill because of the lack of creativity. My all time favorite will be Emerald Version. The Pokemon series is going downhill and now the games are starting too. I'd say, Gamefreak should just create a Pokemon game where you can travel in Kanto, Johto and Hoenn in a new story. Maybe Sinnoh. Since its got a lot of cool Pokemon and is the LAST best. Expand
  16. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game, Pokemon has always been my favorite video game franchise, and White was the first game I ever preordered and rushed to the store on launch day for, and I am not at all disapointed with the final product. The graphics are similar to previous DS installments, but are given new life with cool camera angles and full animations for every single Pokemon, whitch made all 156 newI love this game, Pokemon has always been my favorite video game franchise, and White was the first game I ever preordered and rushed to the store on launch day for, and I am not at all disapointed with the final product. The graphics are similar to previous DS installments, but are given new life with cool camera angles and full animations for every single Pokemon, whitch made all 156 new ones look great and gives the previous 493 a new life. Gameplay is the same, but there was never anything wrong with it in the first place. To sum it up, if you own a DS, or even just bought a new 3DS, this is the game to get. Expand
  17. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I've had more fun and enjoyment with this game than Dragon Age II for the PC. My introductory to Pokemon was Blue for the Game Boy when I was a kid. As an adult now, I tried White and it made me reminiscent the fond memories and good times of Blue. As one reviewer has truthfully stated, this game does have the reply value and you'd instantaneously be addicted easily. Nothing reallyI've had more fun and enjoyment with this game than Dragon Age II for the PC. My introductory to Pokemon was Blue for the Game Boy when I was a kid. As an adult now, I tried White and it made me reminiscent the fond memories and good times of Blue. As one reviewer has truthfully stated, this game does have the reply value and you'd instantaneously be addicted easily. Nothing really more needs to be said as the three reviewers below my review have said it nicely and an accurate spot on. I'm a gamer who feels Pokemon exceeds to all ages and not kids, This is a solid rpg with strategy elements on the handheld. White and Black are definitely a DS title to pick up and you'd get your money's worth. Recommended to everyone. Expand
  18. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Easily the best pokemon games to date. The pokemon are the most original pokemon we've seen since generation 2. I would also say these are the most difficult pokemon games, although they're still easy. I didn't like the attempt to incorporate a story more so than the other pokemon games did, but that's not why I play these games. Also the new graphics are nice but again, nobody playsEasily the best pokemon games to date. The pokemon are the most original pokemon we've seen since generation 2. I would also say these are the most difficult pokemon games, although they're still easy. I didn't like the attempt to incorporate a story more so than the other pokemon games did, but that's not why I play these games. Also the new graphics are nice but again, nobody plays pokemon for the graphics. The core reasons to play a pokemon game are all there, such as new pokemon, new world to explore, new secret areas / secrets to find, new legendary pokemon to seek out in interesting ways, new gym leaders and battles, etc. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    This game is the bomb. all 556 pokemon In the game the new poke transfer is awsome its almost as good as heartgold and soulsilver but ive been playing pokemon since fire red and this is the third best. First soulsilve secend ruby third black and white
  20. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Pokemon White is a great game. The story is actually a story, and the best of the series so far. The villains, Team Plasma, actually have some character, in that they are fighting FOR pokemon, to free them from captivity. The graphics are great for the DS, and good for any platform, even though many of us resent that Oshawott shows up so clearly. The new pokemon for the most part arePokemon White is a great game. The story is actually a story, and the best of the series so far. The villains, Team Plasma, actually have some character, in that they are fighting FOR pokemon, to free them from captivity. The graphics are great for the DS, and good for any platform, even though many of us resent that Oshawott shows up so clearly. The new pokemon for the most part are great, though many are awkward in shape, appearance, or both. (Trubbish) However, after you spend some time with these aforementioned "ugly" pokemon, you get used to them, and they aren't really that ugly anymore. (Except for Trubbish, there's no saving him) the gameplay is Pokemon, that hasn't changed. There are now two rivals, so one you will have an advantage over, while the other still has the advantage over you. It is a nice touch to have the rivals as the characters friends, building upon that found in Ruby/Saphire/Emerald. there are a few new moves that you'll have to familiarize yourself with, as well as some new type combinations. The new pokemon are cool, and even the hideous ones are okay after a while. The new region is fun to explore, and the story is the best of the series. (Except Coliseum, but that's a console) And the new pokemon are great. Basically, pokemon lovers and children up to the age of 14, get this game! Expand
  21. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Pokemon is the best rpg type games of all time.Pokemon White really is a improvement from all the other Pokemon games.With new never before seen Pokemon just makes the game better.There is a few Pokemon that are more like animals than real Pokemon but the rest are normal Pokemon.
  22. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    For someone who's played every generation since Red and Blue, I was certainly someone who was looking forward to a bit of change to the old formula after so many years, which to honest Black and White don't really give. What they do give is a great continuation of the series, and surprised so many including myself that the game's formula still has a lot of aces up its sleeve that were toFor someone who's played every generation since Red and Blue, I was certainly someone who was looking forward to a bit of change to the old formula after so many years, which to honest Black and White don't really give. What they do give is a great continuation of the series, and surprised so many including myself that the game's formula still has a lot of aces up its sleeve that were to be added! To be fair some of the new Pokemon designs were a bit... meh but the gameplay was as solid as ever - polished and tweaked to make it what it is. It's not going to turn the Poke-hater into the Poke-lover but it's without a doubt the best Pokemon around. Only question is where do Nintendo go from here? Expand
  23. May 23, 2011
    8
    Pokemon Black and White aren't the best in the series. However, they still retain the same addictive gameplay from their predecessors, yet build onto the overall "look" and "feel" of the game, resulting in another Poke-adventure worth taking! Pros: The use of 2-D sprites in a 3-D overworld is stunning, but the depth in level design is just mind-blowing; variety of Pokemon to catch, itemsPokemon Black and White aren't the best in the series. However, they still retain the same addictive gameplay from their predecessors, yet build onto the overall "look" and "feel" of the game, resulting in another Poke-adventure worth taking! Pros: The use of 2-D sprites in a 3-D overworld is stunning, but the depth in level design is just mind-blowing; variety of Pokemon to catch, items to find, and moves to learn; lots of extras/secrets; fantastic multiplayer value. Cons: Formulaic gameplay; some ridiculous dialogue; some of the Pokemon designs are uglier than ever. Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is by far the greatest Pokemon game yet. Nintendo has improved absolutely everything. From story to Wi-Fi to the amount of Pokemon storage. Other then a couple new Pokemon that seem a little stupid this game is great. Go buy it now.
  25. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Very good pokemon game, with probably the deepest storyline to date. The playthrough take s a while to get used to, since some core aspects of the game have been changed. For instance, the pokemon you get to face in the beginning are all exclusive to this generation. The dual rival system is also a bit weird. Its most noteworthy addition, however, is very shallow and wears out very fast.Very good pokemon game, with probably the deepest storyline to date. The playthrough take s a while to get used to, since some core aspects of the game have been changed. For instance, the pokemon you get to face in the beginning are all exclusive to this generation. The dual rival system is also a bit weird. Its most noteworthy addition, however, is very shallow and wears out very fast. The Dream World is simply boring, feeling almost like a chore. I say that, because to enjoy the game fully, you need to capture some Dream World exclusives. Expand
  26. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    This is actually my first experience with Pokemon after my nephew coerced me in to the purchase to play with him. It's an interesting RPG with a depth I didn't expect from the long-running Pokemon series. It often draws me back in to finding pokemon that I haven't captured yet, and the story is interesting enough to where I've wanted to complete it to see how things come together. TheThis is actually my first experience with Pokemon after my nephew coerced me in to the purchase to play with him. It's an interesting RPG with a depth I didn't expect from the long-running Pokemon series. It often draws me back in to finding pokemon that I haven't captured yet, and the story is interesting enough to where I've wanted to complete it to see how things come together. The problem is I've reached an area about halfway through after obtaining 4 badges and dozens of pokemon where the general combat and exploration is getting pretty monotonous. This might just be a game I never completely finish, but even only playing it halfway through, it was worth the purchase for me to enjoy trading with the nephew and finally seeing what the games are like for myself. Expand
  27. May 26, 2011
    8
    I love this game and all, but what exactly do you do after you catch all the new Pokemon? The same formula in the Pokemon franchise gets awfully repetitive.
  28. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Normally, I'm not a huge Pokemon fan, and this is the first game I've played since Red Version and I'm pleased to say that I'm very impressed. In a way this is an entirely new introduction to Pokemon because of the lack of previously known/used Pokemon, and therefore it feels newer and more original instead of the supposed same old battle and level up crap. This has a story that makes moreNormally, I'm not a huge Pokemon fan, and this is the first game I've played since Red Version and I'm pleased to say that I'm very impressed. In a way this is an entirely new introduction to Pokemon because of the lack of previously known/used Pokemon, and therefore it feels newer and more original instead of the supposed same old battle and level up crap. This has a story that makes more sense to me than the show ever did, and now I'm more interested in the games and will hunt down previous versions just to see if they live up to this surprise from a game that sparked a cartoon series and trading card game that I despised. This really is a good game and the mixture of 2D characters and 3D environments works extremely well visually and the pacing is quick enough to keep my interest with little to no irksome breaks in action. If you have a DS, this is certainly worth getting. Expand
  29. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best pokemon games i have played in a long time. This game has a lot of new features and new pokemon. Plus all the pokemon there are new pokemon which give a new sense of adventure.
  30. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    An excellent game like its many predecessors and it brings some interesting new concepts to the series. However, the exclusive area, "White Forest" and in this game's counterpart, "Black City" were big disappointments. But I still enjoyed this game immensely.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    92
    Learning from the past without ever taking his eyes off the present, this is the pinnacle of the series to date and proof that sometimes you don't need a revolution to give new life to a franchise.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    One of the best generations of Pokemon titles to date, Black & White take almost all of the best elements from the series and then carefully craft it into something truly wonderful; recreating that same sense of adventure from the very first titles.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Almost a franchise reboot, Pokémon Black & White is your ultimate Pokémon experience. Overall better than previous generations by any means, this new installment manages to inspire on veteran players a sense of wonder and awe gone missing years ago. The new adventure flows better and is much more intriguing and challenging but of course you are not going to change your mind if you hate Pikachu and friends.