• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    100
    An almost flawless game, Radiant Historia is everything I hope for in a modern-day portable RPG. Atlus and Index Corporation have potentially created a rival for Chrono Trigger in terms of story telling and quality.
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    93
    A fantastic game. The story is great and the combat has plenty of depth for any fan of RPG's. I can't recommend this game enough.
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    91
    Radiant Historia isn't the first game to use time-hopping as a mechanic, but it uses it very well, and has no major weaknesses to bring it down. It's another great JRPG title in Atlus' ever-growing library.
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    And since I've already given this review some special treatment, rather than end with a flowery or poetic conclusion, I'll simply reiterate that Radiant Historia is one of the best Japanese RPGs I've played in years. Atlus has given us a winner.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    Nintendo DS, without a doubt the queen of the RPG genre in recent years, gains another incredibly good addition to its library in Radiant Historia.
  6. May 30, 2011
    90
    Radiant Historia might lack the breadth and polish of Dragon Quest IX or the contemporary chutzpah of The World Ends With You, but in its own way, it's every bit as memorable and fully deserves its place alongside them at the top table of DS role-players.
  7. May 18, 2011
    90
    Radiant Historia is a Japanese-style role-playing game developed by Atlus. The excellent graphics, the gripping soundtrack and exciting history make it one of the last must-have titles for the Nintendo DS.
  8. May 1, 2011
    90
    Engaging story, smart battles, beautiful soundtrack and lengthy campaign. A great rpg that needs to be released in Europe.
  9. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    It's just a shame Radiant Historia did not get an EU release, this new effort by Atlus is not just one of the best videogames available on Nintendo DS but also one of the best JRPGs in the last few years.
  10. 90
    Radiant Historia is a fantastic game. As an RPG it tells a distinct and occasionally stirring story, from a unique (and non-linear) perspective.
  11. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    With Radiant Historia, Atlus has created the perfect blend of innovation and tradition.
  12. Mar 14, 2011
    88
    While it's main premise isn't something entirely new and there is a lot of comparisons to be drawn from other titles of the past - both by Atlus or other companies - Radiant Historia is an experience I enjoyed greatly and it was a nice departure from many of the recent RPG titles of the current generation.
  13. Feb 18, 2011
    88
    Radiant Historia succeeds where those attempts fail; it is an inventive role-playing game that delivers the sensation of playing one of your old favorites for the first time. [March 2011, p.94]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's
    pretty spot-on. Radiant Historia is a fantastic game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Radiant Historia is a brilliant game that uses time travel to progress the game. I have put 20 plus hours into the game, and I'm only on chapter 4. I love the game so much it doesn't even feel like I have spent that much time playing it. If you can find yourself a copy(since by my knowledge atlas is done manufacturing any more copies of the game) please grab it, and enjoy one of the best DS games I have played. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    When i first saw this game on the shelf, i thought, "why not give it a shot, it looks like my kind of game." After i got home, I WAS HOOKED! The storyline grabbed me, the combat was genius, and even though there is one flaw in the "time-line crossing", just ignore it and you continue to love it. P.S.: the flaw is that if you save a man in one timeline, that would mean in order to be safe in the other timeline, he would have to cross timelines. He does however say "haven't i seen you before?" That kind of makes up for it, but in reality, it doesn't matter. Hope you love it!!!! Full Review »