Radiant Historia DS

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    83
    Historia may not have the panache or cachet of this season's other RPG releases, but behind its humble surface is an engaging role-playing game that deserves a chance.
  2. Feb 26, 2011
    80
    Though the time traveling mechanic can wear thin at times, Radiant Historia is an engrossing JRPG offering that's better than most.
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    Nintendo DS, without a doubt the queen of the RPG genre in recent years, gains another incredibly good addition to its library in Radiant Historia.
  4. Feb 2, 2011
    85
    It's not often that we see a DS RPG with this level of creativity and polish in the story and gameplay departments, and the fantastic music and art only accentuate that. Even if you think you've done the time-travel RPG before, you should still definitely play Radiant Historia.
  5. May 30, 2011
    90
    Radiant Historia might lack the breadth and polish of Dragon Quest IX or the contemporary chutzpah of The World Ends With You, but in its own way, it's every bit as memorable and fully deserves its place alongside them at the top table of DS role-players.
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    88
    Radiant Historia succeeds where those attempts fail; it is an inventive role-playing game that delivers the sensation of playing one of your old favorites for the first time. [March 2011, p.94]
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    75
    While JRPGs continue to flounder on the home consoles, games like this one prove that the genre is alive and well on handhelds.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    88
    While it's main premise isn't something entirely new and there is a lot of comparisons to be drawn from other titles of the past - both by Atlus or other companies - Radiant Historia is an experience I enjoyed greatly and it was a nice departure from many of the recent RPG titles of the current generation.
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    85
    As complicated as the ideas and premises may be, Radiant Historia is simply a good game. Players who are into Japanese RPGs or simply miss the golden age of the Super NES definitely owe it to themselves to give Radiant Historia a try.
  10. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    Keeping on top of the ever-evolving demands of Radiant Historia's combat makes for one of the most engaging and rewarding battle systems since Final Fantasy XIII and renders any flaws in the narrative design an unfortunate but ultimately innocuous sideshow.
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    75
    The time-traveling mechanic at the epicenter of this adventure can be as burdensome as it is intriguing, but most of Radiant Historia's faults are easily forgiven. In a genre often plagued by clich├ęs and cutout characters, Radiant Historia's empathic characters and strong themes are surprisingly invigorating.
  12. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    Unique time-travel mechanics and a creative combat system make this RPG a refreshing change.
  13. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    While the dialog in Radiant Historia can become longwinded, the gameplay, music and graphics make up for it and then some. The gameplay potential posed by time travel is fully exploited and the game weighs in at well over 30 hours.
  14. Mar 30, 2011
    100
    An almost flawless game, Radiant Historia is everything I hope for in a modern-day portable RPG. Atlus and Index Corporation have potentially created a rival for Chrono Trigger in terms of story telling and quality.
  15. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    This stellar combination is a must play that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you strive to unfold the true history of Vainqueur.
  16. Feb 17, 2011
    85
    While the story can drag at times, and reliving certain moments over and over can be tiring, it is ultimately a wonderful game that all RPG enthusiasts should make it a point to check out.
  17. May 1, 2011
    90
    Engaging story, smart battles, beautiful soundtrack and lengthy campaign. A great rpg that needs to be released in Europe.
  18. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    Radiant Historia delivers a compelling story coupled with entertaining gameplay that create a great package.
  19. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    It's just a shame Radiant Historia did not get an EU release, this new effort by Atlus is not just one of the best videogames available on Nintendo DS but also one of the best JRPGs in the last few years.
  20. Nintendo Gamer
    Apr 23, 2011
    82
    Fun story and great combat. [Apr 2011, p.73]
  21. Nintendo Power
    Feb 26, 2011
    85
    Overall, however, Radiant Historia is an excellent game. [March 2011, p.88]
  22. 90
    Radiant Historia is a fantastic game. As an RPG it tells a distinct and occasionally stirring story, from a unique (and non-linear) perspective.
  23. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 11, 2011
    84
    Radiant Historia's take on time traveling is a bit of a letdown, but it's nevertheless a strong and addicting JRPG. [Oct 2011]
  24. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    And since I've already given this review some special treatment, rather than end with a flowery or poetic conclusion, I'll simply reiterate that Radiant Historia is one of the best Japanese RPGs I've played in years. Atlus has given us a winner.
  25. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    When even hunting for the solution to an idiot NPC's propensity to stay in an area that will soon be a battlefield is tantalizing enough to warrant going back in time, the game has clearly done a lot right.
  26. May 18, 2011
    90
    Radiant Historia is a Japanese-style role-playing game developed by Atlus. The excellent graphics, the gripping soundtrack and exciting history make it one of the last must-have titles for the Nintendo DS.
  27. Aug 18, 2011
    85
    Radiant History is a great game, mainly due to the serious plot and the mature characters.
  28. Feb 28, 2011
    91
    Radiant Historia isn't the first game to use time-hopping as a mechanic, but it uses it very well, and has no major weaknesses to bring it down. It's another great JRPG title in Atlus' ever-growing library.
  29. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    With Radiant Historia, Atlus has created the perfect blend of innovation and tradition.
  30. Mar 2, 2011
    93
    A fantastic game. The story is great and the combat has plenty of depth for any fan of RPG's. I can't recommend this game enough.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's
    "If Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy Tactics had a baby, Radiant Historia would be it."

    I can't remember what critic wrote that, but It's pretty spot-on. Radiant Historia is a fantastic game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Radiant Historia is a brilliant game that uses time travel to progress the game. I have put 20 plus hours into the game, and I'm only onRadiant Historia is a brilliant game that uses time travel to progress the game. I have put 20 plus hours into the game, and I'm only on chapter 4. I love the game so much it doesn't even feel like I have spent that much time playing it. If you can find yourself a copy(since by my knowledge atlas is done manufacturing any more copies of the game) please grab it, and enjoy one of the best DS games I have played. Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Radiant Historia is the best RPG I've played in ages. Being a huge fan of PS1 and SNES RPGs, this game is a true embodiment of what an RPGRadiant Historia is the best RPG I've played in ages. Being a huge fan of PS1 and SNES RPGs, this game is a true embodiment of what an RPG should have: engrossing story, complex characters, fun battle system and a gripping ambiance. The story involves some familiar elements, such as time traveling to save the world, but it does a lot to stand on its own. You not only have to travel time to prevent the end of the world, you have to balance two alternate timelines (due to the meddling of an evil third party) because events in one impact the other. Each choice you make could lead to a sudden end, in which case you have to go back to a key point and figure out the correct path. Don't worry, it's not at all confusing or tedious because you're given a detailed record of events and you can skip nearly any event or cut-scene to avoid repetition. To bring it all together, a varied and complex cast provides unique personalities and nuances to the story. The grid based combat, which allows you to move enemies around and combine them into slots to build combos and damage multiple enemies at once, provides a simple, fast, deep and incredibly fun battle system. The visuals are very vibrant and artistically marvelous, though the character animations are a bit limited. The music is simply amazing. It's probably one of the most beautiful soundtracks ever (listen to "Memories of the World", "Blue Radiance", and "And Earnest Desire of Grey" on YouTube). I've played all the great RPGs of the past decade... the Final Fantasies, Mass Effects, Fallout 3, Oblivion, Kingdom Hearts. But sometimes I don't care about the latest technological advancements facial animations, complex decision making systems that can change the whole universe, finding dirty water in demolished buildings, exploring huge lands or Disney/Square-Enix fan service. Sometimes, I just want a simple, absorbing RPG and that is what Radiant Historia is. Atlus deserves a standing ovation for not only taking a risk, but also for creating one of the best RPGs of all time. Full Review »