Rayman DS DS


Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
Buy On
  1. The game’s plot keeps it interesting and the huge worlds keep player sucked in. The sloppy camera and tight controls can sometimes get you frustrated but the feeling will pass.
  2. Nintendo Power
    "Super Mario 64 DS" set a high bar for DS-ified N64 classics; sadly, Rayman DS doesn't alter the gameplay, include new worlds, or throw in any surprises. [May 2005, p.90]
  3. Play Magazine
    As always, the Rayman universe is endlessly entertaining and the gameplay model diverse and bursting with creativity. [May 2005, p.72]
  4. A great game at its core that lost a little in translation from the home console version of the game.
  5. Combine the lack of utilization of the DS’ unique capabilities and any improvements over the original with sloppy graphics, horrid controls, and a dreadful save feature, and the Rayman name begins a steady decline into mediocrity with this title.
  6. 65
    This once fantastic platformer title has been struck down into a very sluggish and amateurish conversion and leaves us here at PALGN questioning what exactly happened?
  7. If you've played Rayman 2 before, there's really no good reason to pick this title up. If you haven't played it before, then I strongly suggest you find a copy for the N64, Sega Dreamcast, or PS2.
  8. 60
    A not-all-that-great port of a fantastic platformer, losing a ton in the translation of what made Rayman 2 so great in the first place. Sub-standard control and muddy graphics muck up the original's tight gameplay and vivid imagery.
  9. Dogged by a number of graphical issues that often interfere with gameplay.
  10. Game Informer
    Compared to "Super Mario 64 DS," this is a shoddy port that doesn't scratch the surface of the DS's potential. [May 2005, p.134]
  11. The developers made little effort to adapt Rayman 2 for the handheld, transforming a brilliant game into a mushy blur.
  12. 60
    A fun game with great characters and level design, and plenty of gameplay. While the graphics aren’t as good as they should be, this port comes from a solid pedigree that manages to shine through.
  13. The game is a complete port of a much better game (Rayman 2) already in circulation on the Dreamcast, PlayStation, Nintendo 64, and PlayStation 2. If you’re dying to play this game you’re better off playing it on one of those consoles (that you probably already own).
  14. 55
    The absence of the thumb stick perhaps dampens game play the most. Like we saw with "Mario DS," 3D platformers are heavily reliant on analog control, and the DS touch screen makes for a very poor analog stick indeed.
  15. There's still a very small part of us that can't help but still be slightly impressed by the appearance of a 3D platformer on a handheld, but given the control issues it's not a happy marriage.
  16. Cheat Code Central
    Being a Rayman fans it's frustrating to play a game that's so close to the original but yet so far away. Since it doesn't use the touch screen in any innovative ways it really doesn't make much sense for this game to be on this system.
  17. If you’re a die-hard Rayman fan (they exist, believe me), then even you will probably be a little disappointed with Rayman DS. The game as a whole doesn’t even come close to the high points of the series.
  18. 40
    The first time I played the game, I thought that the speakers on my DS had blown out. Background noises that were supposed to sound like running water instead sounded like a harsh mix of radio static and feedback.
  19. 40
    It almost feels like a debug copy of the game, with some parts unfinished and others glitchy.
  20. It's hard to imagine anyone splashing their moolah on Ninty's new handheld and being happy to entertain themselves with pedestrian ports of antique titles such as Rayman DS.

Awards & Rankings

#29 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
#28 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mr.GameReviewer
    Apr 14, 2007
    Ignore the reviews, this game is still the same awesome game that came out 10 years ago. Rayman 2 is still the best Rayman in the series and Ignore the reviews, this game is still the same awesome game that came out 10 years ago. Rayman 2 is still the best Rayman in the series and it's great it be able to play it on the DS. Due to the DS having no texture filtering, the game doesn't look as good as it should but it still looks great IMO. I always loved the environment, music and sound in Rayman 2 and it's all still here which is great. The controls using the touch screen, while taking some time to get used to, will eventually feel normal and if you've played Super Mario 64 DS, the controls are almost identical, but will take a bit of time to adjust. I had Rayman 3 before but found it absolutely..um how can I put it....crap? It was boring, the characters stupid english spoken American accents (no offence intended) ruined the whole magical, fantasy atmosphere of Rayman 2 where they spoke a jibberish language. Also, it was dead set boring, tried to be too different to Rayman 2 and I did not find it fun at all. You may think that both Rayman 2 and 3 are still Rayman so how can they both be so different? I'm not sure really, but Rayman 2's environment, characters and story are just so much better so I'm happy that I can play Rayman 2 on the DS cause it's still the same awesome game that it was back in the days! 10/10! Full Review »
  2. MichealL.
    Apr 21, 2005
    The best game of the year for DS.
  3. May 20, 2012
    Rayman Ds is a lush and wonderful port of Rayman 2: TGE!

    The controls work perfectly, the graphics are updated, and the charm is still here
    Rayman Ds is a lush and wonderful port of Rayman 2: TGE!

    The controls work perfectly, the graphics are updated, and the charm is still here in this port.

    On nintendo life, this got a 4.


    I say no reason. Don't forget; this game came in 2004. Do you like this? Do you have a dsi? Buy Rayman for dsiware.
    Full Review »