Resident Evil: Deadly Silence DS

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
Buy On
  1. While the game may feel a little dated, and the graphic quality is not necessarily all the Nintendo DS can offer, it is a worthy addition to anyone’s Nintendo DS library, even if this may be the fifth time you find yourself buying the 1996 original.
  2. The creatures are definitely fodder for nightmares and the ambient music will assure that you don't play this game alone in the dark - instead, play it with four people alone in the dark.
  3. Nintendo Power
    85
    It may not be the all-new title some were hoping for, but it's a great game worthy of bearing the Resident Evil name. [Apr 2006, p.82]
  4. RE DS doesn’t score many originality points, but it doesn’t have to. RE was, and still is, a classic, and having it available in the palm of your hand is nothing to complain about.
  5. The ten year old puzzles are still there, graphics are the same mostly, and you still have to use ribbons to save. On the other hand door and cutscenes can be skipped, loading in between areas is almost instantaneous, and DS frills are fun. [JPN Import]
  6. As the umpteenth port it can’t score as highly as original and exclusive DS titles, but as a handheld survival/horror game it is everything I wanted.
  7. 80
    Nothing is more impressive than seeing good 3D graphics on a system considered "underpowered" in that area (see also: "Panzer Dragoon" on the Sega Saturn), and you get the whole package with Deadly Silence.
  8. 80
    This could be due to the age of the game, the fact that we've played it before or because the screen is so tiny, but the game isn't nearly as frightening as it used to be.
  9. Even with the control and dialog problems, and the item-toting frustrations, Resident Evil: Deadly Silence is still as good as the original was, and more so because of the addition of Rebirth mode and the touch screen mechanics.
  10. While we've obviously got reservations about the exhumation of a decade-old game, the fact that Resi can still provide tension and enjoyment in equal measure is testament to its quality.
  11. Play Magazine
    80
    It's fun to relive the experience we had years ago on a tiny handheld, and given the nature of the DS, you can forgive more of the rougher edges. [Apr 2006, p.69]
  12. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    Basically the old PSOne Resident Evil. The atmosphere is still there and the game is very addictive. On the other hand, old problems like small inventory are also there. The dual screen has been used very sparingly, some lacklustre touch screen knife battles and puzzle elements here and there, nothing more. [April 2006]
  13. The PlayStation action adventure classic makes an unlikely appearance on the Nintendo DS, complete with some surprising new twists and all the gory scares that made the original so memorable.
  14. Game Informer
    78
    While a 180-degree turn and permanently mapped knife button are nice additions, as a fan this edition is almost most worthwhile for what has been kept, even if unnecessary. [Mar 2006, p.115]
  15. Overall, REDS delivers and fills fans’ hearts with hope for an even better sequel for the DS.
  16. Deadly Silence manages to exhume possibly some of the most memorable aspects of the series, while fine-tuning the experience with some intriguing DS-capabilities. However, its control method and outdated visuals can prove frustrating at the best of times for newcomers to the series.

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed DS Game of 2006
#13 Most Shared DS Game of 2006
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    For what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfersFor what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfers over to the DS extremely well. Even if it's corny by today's standards, I think they were sort of trying to model it off of a B-movie seeing it sort of starts with a cheesy live action forest sequence and the lead-in to the main menu is yet another cheesy live-action sequence of a guy getting attacked by some unseen force. The game's mystery still works today and the fact that you actually have to think about everything you do instead of running into the action and just blasting the monsters away and running through the game in a matter of minutes is great. You actually have to think about what you pick up and what you can actually carry (you have very limited amount of inventory space). Sometimes you have to sacrifice ammo, which is essential to surviving, just to carry more items - like key items used to progress in the game. This can be very annoying, but at the same time it sort of keeps the game interesting. Sure this game has flaws, but most are for those who aren't patient. The only flaw that still annoys me to this day and always will, is the fact that you have to use an ink ribbon for each save. Ink ribbons aren't necessarily difficult to find, but they take up space in your inventory (but on the bright side, they're stackable). Full Review »
  2. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    I hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible.I hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible. We have all heard it before, this game is a port with added features of the PS1 game Resident Evil for the Nintendo DS. What would you expect from a port? It has the same controls as the original and the game was made to celebrate the series 1st decade. This port of the game has some nice features that make playing the game so much easier. Like the knife button, now thats a handy tool so you always have one on you and it doesnt take up a space. Than there is the 180 degree turn that wasnt in the original and the live reload from RE4. These all make the game better and it doesnt take away from the nostalgia that the game delivers. Included is a new mode called Rebirth mode with new puzzles, more enemies, more ammo, and new knife battle sequences. A pretty good addition if i do say so. If your a fan of survival horror, and you understand what the game is about and how you are supposed to play it (control scheme and all) or if you played the original Resident Evil and liked it than take it with you on the DS. For those of you who dont well oh well, just dont play it. Full Review »
  3. ChrisD
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true to the original in some of the worst ways. The controls are just as awkward (even more so if you have to cut zombies with your stylus every now and again) the graphics and sound are dated and lacking even for the DS, etc. You won't use some of the added features like the multiplayer mode so don't get excited. If you're new to RE give it a shot, it's a wonderful series, but if you've been playing RE for a decade now I'd recommend reliving your nostalgia on a different system. Full Review »