Resident Evil: Deadly Silence DS

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    For what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfers over to the DS extremely well. Even if it's corny by today's standards, I think they were sort of trying to model it off of a B-movie seeing it sort of starts with a cheesy live action forest sequence and the lead-in to the main menu is yet anotherFor what has come out for the original DS, I think it's one of the better games. The original Resident Evil was a classic and it transfers over to the DS extremely well. Even if it's corny by today's standards, I think they were sort of trying to model it off of a B-movie seeing it sort of starts with a cheesy live action forest sequence and the lead-in to the main menu is yet another cheesy live-action sequence of a guy getting attacked by some unseen force. The game's mystery still works today and the fact that you actually have to think about everything you do instead of running into the action and just blasting the monsters away and running through the game in a matter of minutes is great. You actually have to think about what you pick up and what you can actually carry (you have very limited amount of inventory space). Sometimes you have to sacrifice ammo, which is essential to surviving, just to carry more items - like key items used to progress in the game. This can be very annoying, but at the same time it sort of keeps the game interesting. Sure this game has flaws, but most are for those who aren't patient. The only flaw that still annoys me to this day and always will, is the fact that you have to use an ink ribbon for each save. Ink ribbons aren't necessarily difficult to find, but they take up space in your inventory (but on the bright side, they're stackable). Expand
  2. JinF.
    Feb 6, 2006
    2
    i don't know the graphix are awefull, controls too... and alot of cheesiness is packed in package... this game was supposed to be so much better.
  3. BenG.
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    Wow! Brilliant game and its even more brilliant on Ds!
  4. robogomo
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    Considering that this is game is over 10 years old...it still has a lot good play! The added features with the touch screen really bring it to an all new level...and it's just great fun. It's great to have a classic like this on the DS! And I agree with others who had posted--that the reviewer from other publications were just too harsh on this game. Don't believe the Considering that this is game is over 10 years old...it still has a lot good play! The added features with the touch screen really bring it to an all new level...and it's just great fun. It's great to have a classic like this on the DS! And I agree with others who had posted--that the reviewer from other publications were just too harsh on this game. Don't believe the hype...this is a terrific game. Expand
  5. n
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    One thing can be said about this port: It's solid. The control improvements are welcomed and the utilization of the touchscreen in certain parts of the game is pretty neat. Quick reload, "quick knife" that doesn't take up an inventory slot, soft reset, 180 turn... they felt like there should be there in the first place. Graphics are updated: Models look a lot better with sharper One thing can be said about this port: It's solid. The control improvements are welcomed and the utilization of the touchscreen in certain parts of the game is pretty neat. Quick reload, "quick knife" that doesn't take up an inventory slot, soft reset, 180 turn... they felt like there should be there in the first place. Graphics are updated: Models look a lot better with sharper textures and smoother movement. Don't worry RE purists. The same cheesy lines and the same horrible actors are still there. The Rebirth mode is a nice touch - more enemies, more puzzles and utilization of DS features.It's still the same plot and the same scenario, but still it makes a new harder challenge. I still didn't try the multiplayer but the fact that it was put in is a good idea. Survival horrors are more fun when your friends join in. Overally it's NOT perfect, but it's a fine solid port. If you need a good horror game for a camping trip, this should be your pick. Expand
  6. oneresolve
    Feb 11, 2006
    8
    Allow me to start this review by saying i love the RE games and just about every survival horror game. It rules playing the original RE on a handheld system preserved in its original state. The ds version features everything from the directors cut and packs it into a DS cart. The 2 key features for this game are the rebirth mode and multiplayer. rebirth mode adds several new features, Allow me to start this review by saying i love the RE games and just about every survival horror game. It rules playing the original RE on a handheld system preserved in its original state. The ds version features everything from the directors cut and packs it into a DS cart. The 2 key features for this game are the rebirth mode and multiplayer. rebirth mode adds several new features, such as a touch screen knifing game that pops up here and there and touch puzzles. the knife game is rather annoying, it doesnt work as well as you'd like. i have yet to try multiplayer and i doubt i ever will (doesnt sound too good anyway.) the game also features classic mode which sticks to the directors cut of the game. all modes feature some of the more improved features of the RE games such as the 180 turn and being able to hold on to the knife and use it at any given moment, while not taking up an inventory slot. theres even quick reload which means you dont have to go to the inventory to reload like in older RE games. i love this game more than ever, but you may want to pass it up if you have the directors cut for playstation (the game is $35 after all.) if you want to play the game that started it all, nows your chance! go out and buy it! Expand
  7. EvadN.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! Scared the crap out of me! Although, the graphics are a little off, but the storyline is AWESOME!
  8. ChrisR.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    An AWESOME game to have on your DS. Don't listen to the bad reviews. If you are a fan of the RE games then I guarantee you'll love this game. If you are new to RE, then you might find it a bit hard to adapt since it's essentially a 10 yr old game. Definitely worth biuying though. Although it's basically a port, added content and features makes it worth buying, even if An AWESOME game to have on your DS. Don't listen to the bad reviews. If you are a fan of the RE games then I guarantee you'll love this game. If you are new to RE, then you might find it a bit hard to adapt since it's essentially a 10 yr old game. Definitely worth biuying though. Although it's basically a port, added content and features makes it worth buying, even if you already have RE. Also, the graphics are a defnite improvement over the PS1 version. Character models are much smoother and nicer looking. I have all the RE games on Gamecube and even if this DS version is no match for REmake, it's still awesome to have it on a handheld. The RE games are seriously the only games that I can never get bored of replaying. So hurry up and get this game! I managed to score it for only AU$20! Expand
  9. DrewF.
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    Great game, especially for nostalgia. Seeing 3d Graphics on a portable system STILL hasn't gotten old. Alot of professional reviews above are being unkindly harsh to the game, claiming that the flaws from the original are still there. That isn't really the issue here. "Resident Evil" was a landmark in gaming, and it's nice to be able to revisit it in all of it's cheesy Great game, especially for nostalgia. Seeing 3d Graphics on a portable system STILL hasn't gotten old. Alot of professional reviews above are being unkindly harsh to the game, claiming that the flaws from the original are still there. That isn't really the issue here. "Resident Evil" was a landmark in gaming, and it's nice to be able to revisit it in all of it's cheesy glory. Love those FMV CUTSCENES! Expand
  10. ConspiracyTheorist
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    Great game.
  11. RobertoM.
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    its a good game, but the control have some mistakes.
  12. ChrisD
    Sep 22, 2009
    4
    I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true to the original in some of the worst ways. The controls are just as awkward (even more so if you have to cut zombies with your stylus every now and again) the graphics and sound are dated and lacking even for the DS, etc. You won't use some of I love the RE series. I have a DS. I thought it would be nice to revisit the original... with some new twists! I feel let down. It was true to the original in some of the worst ways. The controls are just as awkward (even more so if you have to cut zombies with your stylus every now and again) the graphics and sound are dated and lacking even for the DS, etc. You won't use some of the added features like the multiplayer mode so don't get excited. If you're new to RE give it a shot, it's a wonderful series, but if you've been playing RE for a decade now I'd recommend reliving your nostalgia on a different system. Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    I hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible. We have all heard it before, this game is a port with added features of the PS1 game Resident Evil for the Nintendo DS. What would you expect from a port? It has the same controls as the original and the game was made to celebrate the series 1stI hate when people complain about this game, that the controls suck, that the graphics are terrible, that the voice acting is beyond terrible. We have all heard it before, this game is a port with added features of the PS1 game Resident Evil for the Nintendo DS. What would you expect from a port? It has the same controls as the original and the game was made to celebrate the series 1st decade. This port of the game has some nice features that make playing the game so much easier. Like the knife button, now thats a handy tool so you always have one on you and it doesnt take up a space. Than there is the 180 degree turn that wasnt in the original and the live reload from RE4. These all make the game better and it doesnt take away from the nostalgia that the game delivers. Included is a new mode called Rebirth mode with new puzzles, more enemies, more ammo, and new knife battle sequences. A pretty good addition if i do say so. If your a fan of survival horror, and you understand what the game is about and how you are supposed to play it (control scheme and all) or if you played the original Resident Evil and liked it than take it with you on the DS. For those of you who dont well oh well, just dont play it. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. The ten year old puzzles are still there, graphics are the same mostly, and you still have to use ribbons to save. On the other hand door and cutscenes can be skipped, loading in between areas is almost instantaneous, and DS frills are fun. [JPN Import]
  2. 80
    Nothing is more impressive than seeing good 3D graphics on a system considered "underpowered" in that area (see also: "Panzer Dragoon" on the Sega Saturn), and you get the whole package with Deadly Silence.
  3. The PlayStation action adventure classic makes an unlikely appearance on the Nintendo DS, complete with some surprising new twists and all the gory scares that made the original so memorable.