• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshH.
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    Trevor R. states a lot of misinformed opinions on Rune Factory. For example: "Second, I can't keep track of my assets, like my money, and how much lumber i have, unless I visit a shop." Not true. You can check both simply by pressing start to access the menu and then hitting the shoulder buttons and checking the top screen. It's there. And this, "The love system is not present Trevor R. states a lot of misinformed opinions on Rune Factory. For example: "Second, I can't keep track of my assets, like my money, and how much lumber i have, unless I visit a shop." Not true. You can check both simply by pressing start to access the menu and then hitting the shoulder buttons and checking the top screen. It's there. And this, "The love system is not present in this game, instead it is replaced by a terrible, 10 point love system, in a poor attempt, to tie the love aspect to the storyline." I wouldn't say the love system is GONE. Marriage is still an element in-game--so I really don't understand his opinion here either. Same goes for not "labeling" the wood shed, water, and supply bin. What Harvest Moon HAS labeled these? The best you've ever gotten was a little walkthrough by the Mayor. You're not making sense. While I would probably give Trevor's review a 2/10, I'd give Rune Factory a 9/10. It is simply the best Harvest Moon yet, with plenty of things to do and lasts VERY long--like most Harvest Moon--if you devote your time to it. Trevor, please read the game's manual next time. Collapse
  2. SlytailL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    0
    I played it for about an hour, but then I couldn't put it down fast enough. I got the plant/water/sleep cycle down, but then the game just stopped making sense. You'd think you'd be able to go into the sad looking town, visit the blacksmith, and buy a tool... NOOOO, you have to hunt down the right non-related person to speak to, and in the right conditions to get any I played it for about an hour, but then I couldn't put it down fast enough. I got the plant/water/sleep cycle down, but then the game just stopped making sense. You'd think you'd be able to go into the sad looking town, visit the blacksmith, and buy a tool... NOOOO, you have to hunt down the right non-related person to speak to, and in the right conditions to get any particular tool. And don't get me started on the Rune Point idea. Unless you like mindless tedium, go somewhere else to have fun. Expand
  3. TrevorR.
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    The rpg elements of the game are a welcome edition, and the fact that you can forge weapons, and brew potions, make the game stand out, as a great dungeon crawler. The farming aspect works excellently, the new system is great, I can actually plant seeds in the middle square, when I plant them on a 3x3 grid. The graphics are excellent, and the old diary system has returned, where you can The rpg elements of the game are a welcome edition, and the fact that you can forge weapons, and brew potions, make the game stand out, as a great dungeon crawler. The farming aspect works excellently, the new system is great, I can actually plant seeds in the middle square, when I plant them on a 3x3 grid. The graphics are excellent, and the old diary system has returned, where you can only save at the end of the day, but it adds a level of challenge to the game, that hasn't been present for a while. Make sure you don't make any mistakes during the day, or you might have to restart. Keeping monsters is excellent, and extremely fun. The opening scene was excellent, and the occasional voice acting is present. The voiceovers are terrible, but don't hurt the presentation, infact it just proves that the ds can support voice acting. There are only a few complaints I have with the game, and they ruin, what could have been one of the best games of all time. First, nothing in the farm is labled, except for the lumber shed. I know where the shipping bin is, but I'm not entirely sure how to feed my monsters in the monster hut. If everything was labled I wouldn't have to keep guessing where everything is. Second, I can't keep track of my assets, like my money, and how much lumber i have, unless I visit a shop. It makes it more difficult to plan my purchases. And lastly, what could be the worst part ever. I have always found that Harvest moon was about choosing a girl, and falling in love. The love system is not present in this game, instead it is replaced by a terrible, 10 point love system, in a poor attempt, to tie the love aspect to the storyline. I can't give my girl gifts, until I can acquire certain items from a cave. There are no flowers, and no heart events. This ruins the overall presentation, of what should have been an excellent game. Enough said. Expand
  4. SprocketeerS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    This is my first Harvest Moon game. Although the farming and collection components in the game are really fun, there have been too many problems for me to ever enjoy the game for a period of time. Being new to the series, I did not know about many of the series conventions. For example, I was completely stuck on how to remove stumps from my farm for the first year. The game and handbook This is my first Harvest Moon game. Although the farming and collection components in the game are really fun, there have been too many problems for me to ever enjoy the game for a period of time. Being new to the series, I did not know about many of the series conventions. For example, I was completely stuck on how to remove stumps from my farm for the first year. The game and handbook give you very little feedback on how to actually play the game. I needed to refer to internet FAQs many times to learn basic skills. Second, the battle system and cave levels are very annoying. The weapons are slow and take up energy so you have to conserve the amount of times you can use them. At times the caves are too easy, I just breeze through slightly bored and then for no reason I get stuck and will not be able to advance for long periods at a time. Right now, I cannot finish the Moonlight Cave boss. I can wipe out the entire cave without difficulty, but no matter how many strategies I come up with, I keep losing. Some parts of this game turned out to be really fun, like cooking and collecting monsters, but the constant frustrations have made me stop playing. Expand
  5. CS
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    I have had a hard time finding an engaging, in depth game on DS, but this is it! This is the most addictive game that I have ever played on ANY system. It is interesting, the side quests are abundant and the farming aspect is actually extremly enjoyable.
  6. KodaD.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    This game rocks! Seriously, the characters sre gorgeous. And the storyline rocked. I can't wait to see the second game.
  7. RobH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    I have become so enrapt with this game, the variety, the gameplay, the characters, its a very well made game. Admittedly a little slow at first, but once you get a hang of combat and balancing your day, its a rewarding and entrancing game. Its a shame Bioshock is stealing potential Thunder away from Rune Factory. (buy both for the win)
  8. MattR.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    I HATED Harvest Moon DS with a fiery passsion (it was the first game in the series that I played) and it was with great caution that I picked this title up. Then played it for 6 hours straight. So far It's worlds better! Some of the dialogue has actually made me laugh (generally just because of how ridiculous it is), and if I get tired of of prized beet crops I can always go smack I HATED Harvest Moon DS with a fiery passsion (it was the first game in the series that I played) and it was with great caution that I picked this title up. Then played it for 6 hours straight. So far It's worlds better! Some of the dialogue has actually made me laugh (generally just because of how ridiculous it is), and if I get tired of of prized beet crops I can always go smack some monsters with my hoe. Expand
  9. JasonH.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    I'm definitely a harvest moon fan and this game certainly met my expectations. Leveling up, aquiring weapons and taming monsters are all new points to the series, while farming, relationships, fishing, and mining (among others) are still present. The game does get a bit slow at times, and so far as I can tell, the wifi feature isn't anything special, but after advancing through I'm definitely a harvest moon fan and this game certainly met my expectations. Leveling up, aquiring weapons and taming monsters are all new points to the series, while farming, relationships, fishing, and mining (among others) are still present. The game does get a bit slow at times, and so far as I can tell, the wifi feature isn't anything special, but after advancing through the game, so many more things to do open up (cooking, making potions, forging). All in all, graphics are amazing, game play is fun, controls are fluid, and the sound is OK (the voices actually are a bit irritating, and the begining sequence is pretty darn cheesy). Expand
  10. MichaelT.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Awesome game. Very simple to play, yet I can't put it down. I reckon it's even better than the original harvest moon on the snes. Most of the other harvest games have taken steps backwards and have failed to achieve the same feel. IMO This is the only version that outshines the original and that's saying heaps.
  11. AssassinDeathclaw
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Great game though breaks away from the original versions of harvest moon to combine with seiken densetsu which was apparently popular it now has the same gameplay in children of mana 2 things would make this game better, that would be being able to go wi fi with anyone and being able to be a male or female charcter (why are you always a guy?) though another good change would be the title Great game though breaks away from the original versions of harvest moon to combine with seiken densetsu which was apparently popular it now has the same gameplay in children of mana 2 things would make this game better, that would be being able to go wi fi with anyone and being able to be a male or female charcter (why are you always a guy?) though another good change would be the title (though nothing's really wrong with it) which does sound good but I'd rather it be Harvest moon rune factory or a fantasy harvest moon rune factory sticking with the original title of harvest moon. The way which this game is named makes it sound somewhat like a whole new series of games. The great thing about this game is because of the addition of fighting monsters and taming monsters it gives even more gameplay. Being able to break away from original farming to smithing, crafting, and potion mixing adds even more gameplay and ways to make money. Expand
  12. CarajieS.
    Jan 16, 2008
    7
    This game is Extremly fun and I hate to say this but I do have some complaints. First of all in Harvest Moon you only had to buy the house upgrades but now not only must you save up 200,000 gold but get 2,000 peices of wood with it. I also have to add that my monsters *STILL* hate me and its almost been half a year in the game. I have, fed them, brushed them, and used the collecting This game is Extremly fun and I hate to say this but I do have some complaints. First of all in Harvest Moon you only had to buy the house upgrades but now not only must you save up 200,000 gold but get 2,000 peices of wood with it. I also have to add that my monsters *STILL* hate me and its almost been half a year in the game. I have, fed them, brushed them, and used the collecting basket but their friendship points are, still 0. I am happy however that there is no sprite collecting because I have never been able to collect all 60 sprites in Harvest Moon which meant that I never got married in the game. This game was great but I do not think it was the greatest game Natsume has made so far, I will be waiting for their next great game though. Expand
  13. AmbiH.
    May 12, 2008
    7
    I liked the game. It was difficult at first but (mainly because I read walkthroughs online *Thank you Freyashawk*) I got used to it. I have a couple complaints though. The Harvest Moon Part of it is shambles
  14. IkeJ.
    Aug 9, 2008
    8
    This is my first Harvest moon game, and I absolutely loved it. From the start to finish, it was an excellent game, in my opinion. The main gameplay is fun. The characters are decent, a huge variety of gameplay, good amount of weapons, items, good music, and stuff like that. A few of my main complaints are the top screen, which is barely used at all. Also, the person who said that the game This is my first Harvest moon game, and I absolutely loved it. From the start to finish, it was an excellent game, in my opinion. The main gameplay is fun. The characters are decent, a huge variety of gameplay, good amount of weapons, items, good music, and stuff like that. A few of my main complaints are the top screen, which is barely used at all. Also, the person who said that the game didn't explain enough, and couldn't figure out how to remove stumps, the description of the item clearly says "cannot remove stumps". Anyway, the game's visuals look great with the 2D background. I do wish there was more content, and I found the story to be a bit lacking, so I can't give it a higher mark than an 8. Expand
  15. RickD.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Perfect for harvest moon fans and for someone new to the series.
  16. JoeM.
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    This is the first Harvest Moon game I've played. I always thought the idea sounded intriguing, but I wasn't sure if farming was enough to keep a game going. Rune Factory is perfect for it's balance of farming/adventuring. Actually the game goes way beyond farming, there are plenty of trades you can pick up to make money in this game. The graphics are great, the layout is This is the first Harvest Moon game I've played. I always thought the idea sounded intriguing, but I wasn't sure if farming was enough to keep a game going. Rune Factory is perfect for it's balance of farming/adventuring. Actually the game goes way beyond farming, there are plenty of trades you can pick up to make money in this game. The graphics are great, the layout is actually pretty easy once you get used to it and the gameplay is terribly addictive. Harvest Moon fans and RPG fans in general will love this game. Expand
  17. Aug 25, 2010
    8
    Rune Factory: A Fantasy Harvest Moon is a spin-off to the original Harvest Moon series and in my opinion a generally great game. It takes all the elements from Harvest Moon games and RPG games and puts them into one game. Harvest Moon fans will find the game a little bit hard to get used to and many RPG fans will criticise the slow pace but for others, this is a rare gem. The game-play isRune Factory: A Fantasy Harvest Moon is a spin-off to the original Harvest Moon series and in my opinion a generally great game. It takes all the elements from Harvest Moon games and RPG games and puts them into one game. Harvest Moon fans will find the game a little bit hard to get used to and many RPG fans will criticise the slow pace but for others, this is a rare gem. The game-play is that of all the preceding Harvest Moon games and the battle system is similar to that of the Dragon Quest series. There are a few minor flaws however, one being the repetitiveness of the game. You will have to be very patient with this game to fully enjoy it. Another minor flaw is way too much back-tracking. Some dungeons can only be completed by going back to the beginning which can be annoying. This game isn't essential but it is one of the greatest Harvest Moon games to date and you might just truly enjoy this. Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    A lot of the critics reviews suggest that someone new to the Harvest Moon games wouldn't enjoy this game: I must disagree. It was through this game that I got introduced to the HM games, and I absolutely loved it. The concept was amazing, the graphics and the controls lovely and easy to use, and the characters (mostly) interesting. I will admit however that at times I found the gameA lot of the critics reviews suggest that someone new to the Harvest Moon games wouldn't enjoy this game: I must disagree. It was through this game that I got introduced to the HM games, and I absolutely loved it. The concept was amazing, the graphics and the controls lovely and easy to use, and the characters (mostly) interesting. I will admit however that at times I found the game tedious and took breaks from it, but I always came back to it whenever I felt in the mood, which was quite a lot.
    Later on I've discovered that it was the elements closest to the HM games that made this one tedious, and I haven't found a game I've enjoyed near so much as this one by them, and so I will give this game an 8/10 in comparison to the 4/10s I feel the others deserve (e.g. A Tale of Two Towns, etc).
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. A great game with an overwhelming amount of things to do giving you a lot of freedom to explore the little world and follow the main story at your own pace. [JPN Import]
  2. Very fun indeed. [Dec 2007, p.62]
  3. 84
    For Harvest Moon fans, Rune Factory is exactly what you’ve been waiting for. The game balances a classic farming system (with some changes for the better) along with a full dungeon-crawling aspect, monster collection, and all the added goodies you’d expect from the franchise.