• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshH.
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    Trevor R. states a lot of misinformed opinions on Rune Factory. For example: "Second, I can't keep track of my assets, like my money, and how much lumber i have, unless I visit a shop." Not true. You can check both simply by pressing start to access the menu and then hitting the shoulder buttons and checking the top screen. It's there. And this, "The love system is not present Trevor R. states a lot of misinformed opinions on Rune Factory. For example: "Second, I can't keep track of my assets, like my money, and how much lumber i have, unless I visit a shop." Not true. You can check both simply by pressing start to access the menu and then hitting the shoulder buttons and checking the top screen. It's there. And this, "The love system is not present in this game, instead it is replaced by a terrible, 10 point love system, in a poor attempt, to tie the love aspect to the storyline." I wouldn't say the love system is GONE. Marriage is still an element in-game--so I really don't understand his opinion here either. Same goes for not "labeling" the wood shed, water, and supply bin. What Harvest Moon HAS labeled these? The best you've ever gotten was a little walkthrough by the Mayor. You're not making sense. While I would probably give Trevor's review a 2/10, I'd give Rune Factory a 9/10. It is simply the best Harvest Moon yet, with plenty of things to do and lasts VERY long--like most Harvest Moon--if you devote your time to it. Trevor, please read the game's manual next time. Expand
  2. CS
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    I have had a hard time finding an engaging, in depth game on DS, but this is it! This is the most addictive game that I have ever played on ANY system. It is interesting, the side quests are abundant and the farming aspect is actually extremly enjoyable.
  3. KodaD.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    This game rocks! Seriously, the characters sre gorgeous. And the storyline rocked. I can't wait to see the second game.
  4. RobH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    I have become so enrapt with this game, the variety, the gameplay, the characters, its a very well made game. Admittedly a little slow at first, but once you get a hang of combat and balancing your day, its a rewarding and entrancing game. Its a shame Bioshock is stealing potential Thunder away from Rune Factory. (buy both for the win)
  5. MattR.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    I HATED Harvest Moon DS with a fiery passsion (it was the first game in the series that I played) and it was with great caution that I picked this title up. Then played it for 6 hours straight. So far It's worlds better! Some of the dialogue has actually made me laugh (generally just because of how ridiculous it is), and if I get tired of of prized beet crops I can always go smack I HATED Harvest Moon DS with a fiery passsion (it was the first game in the series that I played) and it was with great caution that I picked this title up. Then played it for 6 hours straight. So far It's worlds better! Some of the dialogue has actually made me laugh (generally just because of how ridiculous it is), and if I get tired of of prized beet crops I can always go smack some monsters with my hoe. Expand
  6. JasonH.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    I'm definitely a harvest moon fan and this game certainly met my expectations. Leveling up, aquiring weapons and taming monsters are all new points to the series, while farming, relationships, fishing, and mining (among others) are still present. The game does get a bit slow at times, and so far as I can tell, the wifi feature isn't anything special, but after advancing through I'm definitely a harvest moon fan and this game certainly met my expectations. Leveling up, aquiring weapons and taming monsters are all new points to the series, while farming, relationships, fishing, and mining (among others) are still present. The game does get a bit slow at times, and so far as I can tell, the wifi feature isn't anything special, but after advancing through the game, so many more things to do open up (cooking, making potions, forging). All in all, graphics are amazing, game play is fun, controls are fluid, and the sound is OK (the voices actually are a bit irritating, and the begining sequence is pretty darn cheesy). Expand
  7. MichaelT.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Awesome game. Very simple to play, yet I can't put it down. I reckon it's even better than the original harvest moon on the snes. Most of the other harvest games have taken steps backwards and have failed to achieve the same feel. IMO This is the only version that outshines the original and that's saying heaps.
  8. AssassinDeathclaw
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Great game though breaks away from the original versions of harvest moon to combine with seiken densetsu which was apparently popular it now has the same gameplay in children of mana 2 things would make this game better, that would be being able to go wi fi with anyone and being able to be a male or female charcter (why are you always a guy?) though another good change would be the title Great game though breaks away from the original versions of harvest moon to combine with seiken densetsu which was apparently popular it now has the same gameplay in children of mana 2 things would make this game better, that would be being able to go wi fi with anyone and being able to be a male or female charcter (why are you always a guy?) though another good change would be the title (though nothing's really wrong with it) which does sound good but I'd rather it be Harvest moon rune factory or a fantasy harvest moon rune factory sticking with the original title of harvest moon. The way which this game is named makes it sound somewhat like a whole new series of games. The great thing about this game is because of the addition of fighting monsters and taming monsters it gives even more gameplay. Being able to break away from original farming to smithing, crafting, and potion mixing adds even more gameplay and ways to make money. Expand
  9. RickD.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Perfect for harvest moon fans and for someone new to the series.
  10. JoeM.
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    This is the first Harvest Moon game I've played. I always thought the idea sounded intriguing, but I wasn't sure if farming was enough to keep a game going. Rune Factory is perfect for it's balance of farming/adventuring. Actually the game goes way beyond farming, there are plenty of trades you can pick up to make money in this game. The graphics are great, the layout is This is the first Harvest Moon game I've played. I always thought the idea sounded intriguing, but I wasn't sure if farming was enough to keep a game going. Rune Factory is perfect for it's balance of farming/adventuring. Actually the game goes way beyond farming, there are plenty of trades you can pick up to make money in this game. The graphics are great, the layout is actually pretty easy once you get used to it and the gameplay is terribly addictive. Harvest Moon fans and RPG fans in general will love this game. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. A great game with an overwhelming amount of things to do giving you a lot of freedom to explore the little world and follow the main story at your own pace. [JPN Import]
  2. Very fun indeed. [Dec 2007, p.62]
  3. 84
    For Harvest Moon fans, Rune Factory is exactly what you’ve been waiting for. The game balances a classic farming system (with some changes for the better) along with a full dungeon-crawling aspect, monster collection, and all the added goodies you’d expect from the franchise.