Scribblenauts DS

Scribblenauts Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The goal is simple - help our Maxwell reach the Starite by solving each challenge - but the mission before you can range from straightforward to downright tricky! To catch the Starite, write any object you can think of and watch as it comes to life. [Warner]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. 100
    Scribblenauts is the video game equivalent of your first kiss: it's awkward, it's sweet and it's utterly memorable.
  2. Nintendo Power
    90
    Amazing...This might be the most creative game I've ever played. [Nov 2009, p.81]
  3. The only thing holding back Scribblenauts is the DS. The reliance on the touchscreen hampers what would otherwise be the best new games franchise this year.
  4. games(TM)
    80
    5th Cell has managed something very difficult: creating a game that's at once simple and also incredibly complex, and doing so with such composure and charm that you'd be doing yourself a great disservice not to give it a go. [Nov 2009, p.104]
  5. It's so unique, revolutionary, and positively delightful that it more than makes up for all its shortcomings. And with a built-in level editor and the ability to share levels with others, the challenges are nearly endless.
  6. 70
    So if you can put up with the weak control scheme, there are some truly inspiring moments that can occur. Scribblenauts had such a huge vision I can't help but love it, and although sometimes it makes me want to throw my DS across the room, I'm still glad I spent the time playing it.
  7. Scribblenauts succeeds in being an incredibly creative game. It just isn’t enjoyable after the effect of its initial charm wears off.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    Though i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansiveThough i didn't spend much time with the game, It is very fun and has some very creative puzzles. I was actually surprised on how expansive the vocabulary was in this game. You can literally put in almost anything that is not inappropriate or overly religious. Again, the puzzles are very creative but i spent most of my time messing around in the main menu just messing with the variety of things that i can create. This is a truly expansive game that i could spend so much time playing. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Most original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get theirMost original game I've played since Tetris. A true breath of fresh air. If you want to buy anyone a game that'll will really get their brain thinking, this is the game.

    A stroke of genius.
    Expand
  3. JordanHill
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your This is an incredible game. It is a million times better than most of the junk being put out for the DS. This game allows you to stretch your imagination beyond what you thought was possible. Controls are a tad annoying at first but you get used to it. The game starts out too easy and some of the final levels are so incredibly difficult that it takes hours to complete them. Overall, this is an amazingly solid and creative game. My favorite to date for the DS. Expand
  4. May 12, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deepThis is one of the best DS games I've ever played. The puzzles are enjoyable and creative yet also challenging but never to the point of deep frustration. Plus, every puzzle has great variety and if you take your time to solve each puzzle the game can last you a good 20+ hours. On the negative side, however, the Level Creator is limited, the controls are stiff and annoying, many puzzles can be solved with a simple 'blow it up' attitude and the AI is, frankly, poor. But all of this is made up for with a cast of fantastic puzzles and some pretty cool unlocks. This is also a belly-achingly funny game, and an essential purchase for any and every DS owner. Period. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    I heard a lot of recommendations for this game, so I decided to give it a try and overall, I have been having a pretty good time with thisI heard a lot of recommendations for this game, so I decided to give it a try and overall, I have been having a pretty good time with this game just solving puzzles and things like that.

    Pros:
    -Creative Puzzles
    -Extensive amount of Words
    -Cool and fun Easter eggs (One of the levels parodied Back to the Future which I thought was very funny!)
    -Definitely a game I kept coming back to, I remember being very addicted to this game when I first bought it.

    Cons:
    -Puzzles can get really repetitive.
    -Level Editor could be better.
    -Replay value may be there, but what it has to offer is not very fun, but just more repetitive puzzles.

    Overall, Scribblenauts is very innovative, but it's not one of the best. I'd still think it's worth picking up if you can find it for cheap.
    Expand
  6. rbee
    Sep 28, 2009
    7
    For gamers buying it for themselves: excellent. For parents: Good but not great. The puzzles can be exceptionally easy or exceptionally For gamers buying it for themselves: excellent. For parents: Good but not great. The puzzles can be exceptionally easy or exceptionally challenging, and hinge on, yes, creativity, but also the kind of lateral thinking that does not come easily to all, and even when it does, the game function does not always work the same way the player wants it to. My son is excellent with maths and science, but this game could not compete with his Pokemon obsession, particularly after he stumbled and could not "get the starite" within ten minutes. I played through and enjoyed it myself, but I also enjoy Picross and brain training, neither of which are "games" my son cares for. Educationally the game is also very limited, as it can be beat through same-object repetition. If you're a parent who puts a daily minute/hour limit on game time, the frustration your child feels about Scribblenauts will more often drive him or her to quick-finish levels than to really enjoy the game. My experience only. Also: I love the game, but have already gone back to older titles with stories and character development. We might find more life in Scribblenauts if we created and exchanged levels on WiFi, but cannot. Expand
  7. GarethG
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. The entire game requires the usage of the touch screen to be played, with the D-Pad not being used for much, except to select menu screens. Which brings us to the negatives of the game. You have to control a character, and aid him using the objects you create. Standard stuff, except you have to manage him using the stylus as well. Tap a spot on the screen to move him there, tap an object to make him interact with it. Sounds cool? It is, but the Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#28 Most Shared DS Game of 2009