Spyro: Shadow Legacy DS

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 8 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I have played most spyro games and although this one didn't have the little portals or whatever to go different places, I actually really liked it. It had a different feel, the music and environment was engaging, there were even a lot of repeat characters from the older games (some of the elders (eg Thomas, Red), Emerald, Nanny, the fairies, Moneybags (of course--douche), Hunter, Bianca,I have played most spyro games and although this one didn't have the little portals or whatever to go different places, I actually really liked it. It had a different feel, the music and environment was engaging, there were even a lot of repeat characters from the older games (some of the elders (eg Thomas, Red), Emerald, Nanny, the fairies, Moneybags (of course--douche), Hunter, Bianca, etc) which made it sort of fun for those who have played the older ones. At the same time you get introduced to new characters as well and even learn a bit more about the older ones. There are the typical quests like fetching things or collecting things, defeating enemies but in addition to your typical arsenal of attacks, you get to further your abilities by learning from the elders... not only breath, jumps, and ram attacks but you get to learn magic to teleport and dragon kata. The bosses are challenging and make you use your new skills and you get to explore basically two worlds in one. It seems to be a game you either like or don't with not much in between but I thought it was a good more connected feeling game than some of the other spyros in the series. Not to mention, Ripto isn't the main boss finally! Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2011
    4
    I love Spyro games.... well, I *used* to love them when Insomniac made them. This version was my first DS game that I played... and with a mix of confusing controls, confusing environments, confusing sense of depth, and a mediocre story, I just couldn't give support for this game... it left me very much confused in the end.
  3. LaurenW.
    Jun 10, 2007
    2
    Awful. Don't buy it, even hardcore Spyro fans such as myself will find it unbelievably boring and uninspiring.
  4. BoboliS.
    Jun 14, 2006
    3
    This Game is not how a spyro game should be. It is confusing, repetitive, has bad graphics, and glitchy. It is sort of fun if you can figure out what you are doing but I would not Reccommend it.
  5. LLloyd
    Nov 5, 2005
    4
    Not the Spyro games we are used to at all... controls get confusing when same key is used for several different commands, instructions are given only once and are not repeated at all and do not give you any idea what you can do, leveling up and having to keep "teleporting" to get new "attacks" gets tiring, as does the switching back and forth between "phases"... We want the old Spyro Not the Spyro games we are used to at all... controls get confusing when same key is used for several different commands, instructions are given only once and are not repeated at all and do not give you any idea what you can do, leveling up and having to keep "teleporting" to get new "attacks" gets tiring, as does the switching back and forth between "phases"... We want the old Spyro back... this one is not impressive. Expand
  6. Anonymous
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    It's a fun game, adding RPG elements to Spyro. However, the graphics are not quite up to the DS' capabilities except during boss battles. The controls are a bit annoying because Spyro was designed for joysticks, not directional pads. The lack of voices is a disappointment, as voices have been possible since the GBA. Otherwise, it's a fun and challenging game. They just It's a fun game, adding RPG elements to Spyro. However, the graphics are not quite up to the DS' capabilities except during boss battles. The controls are a bit annoying because Spyro was designed for joysticks, not directional pads. The lack of voices is a disappointment, as voices have been possible since the GBA. Otherwise, it's a fun and challenging game. They just could've done better on the graphics, added voices instead of using text, and made the controls easier. The touchpen capabilities are nice. You have the whole options menu on the touchscreen while you move around on the topscreen. Collapse
  7. Jul 22, 2016
    4
    VU did make one decent spyro game but that is 1 and it is not this one for sure! Shadow Legacy takes what you like from spyro games and mashes up into something complex.

Awards & Rankings

#34 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. 40
    The horrible production values are Spyro: Shadow Legacy's real killer.
  2. Nintendo Power
    65
    It does mark a departure, adding light RPG elements to the isometric-adventure style seen on the GBA. [Dec 2005, p.112]
  3. Spyro would score a 5 were it to work properly - smack bang in the middle of middlyness, doing nothing well, and utterly without imagination (for goodness sakes, travelling back and forth between two versions of reality - where did they get that idea from?!).