User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2014
    4
    THE WORST GAME OF THE ENTIRE SERIES!
    The story was a mess, the controls were tedious, ALL of the multiple endings sucked, AND the multiplayer didn't even last a month.
    The story was a disaster and completely forgettable. What I hated the most was that the developers were trying to add this terrible tragic love story between Fox and Krystal which seemed to go all over the place due to
    THE WORST GAME OF THE ENTIRE SERIES!
    The story was a mess, the controls were tedious, ALL of the multiple endings sucked, AND the multiplayer didn't even last a month.

    The story was a disaster and completely forgettable. What I hated the most was that the developers were trying to add this terrible tragic love story between Fox and Krystal which seemed to go all over the place due to it's terrible multiple endings.

    One of the most annoying things were the characters voices, who all talked in this high pitched gibberish that was just terrible.

    The gameplay was 50/50 in my opinion. After going from Star Fox: Assault, a game that had tons of different gameplay mechanics, we go back to the arwing, and the controls were so terrible, that I never had any kind of fun when playing this game. Not to mention the missions were all REALLY repetitive.

    Star Fox: Command was a disappointment filled with repetitive gameplay, terrible story, and just filled with bad choices. If you're a Star Fox 64 fan, you might find more enjoyment out of this one. If not, STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM IT!
    Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    pretty good game im kinda familiar with the other star fox experiences and i cant see why everyone dislikes this game.......the only i think i might complain about os the dwonload play but thats not to shabby or oorly designed however its better with more people.....and the story mpde is a fairly good challenge and i enjoy it...........and the graphics are fairly good to...overall therespretty good game im kinda familiar with the other star fox experiences and i cant see why everyone dislikes this game.......the only i think i might complain about os the dwonload play but thats not to shabby or oorly designed however its better with more people.....and the story mpde is a fairly good challenge and i enjoy it...........and the graphics are fairly good to...overall theres no major dent abou this game.....i recomend this gam to people that like strategic games like fire emblen Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, not a bad game. I liked the gameplay, although it should be more on-rails, rather than sandbox. It has multiple endings, all were a good idea, but the plot and the dialogue was extremely bad. The strategy part worked, I think, but I can see some hating it. It is confusing. The controls are just perfect, I reckon. It does sound flimsy, but it just works. The graphics lookNot a bad game, not a bad game. I liked the gameplay, although it should be more on-rails, rather than sandbox. It has multiple endings, all were a good idea, but the plot and the dialogue was extremely bad. The strategy part worked, I think, but I can see some hating it. It is confusing. The controls are just perfect, I reckon. It does sound flimsy, but it just works. The graphics look good for a DS game. But please, don't pick the next Starfox game off from this. It needs to be non-canon, as the characters make REALLY stupid mistakes in the game, throughout. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    Finally, Nintendo sticks with the Arwing. The use of the pen and controls aren't too shaby for a portable. But what killed this game is the plot in general. Having alternative ending to a game really left me puzzling as to how all this connects (even though i know that none of the endings really occur to the original timeline). So I feel this game could have been something for like theFinally, Nintendo sticks with the Arwing. The use of the pen and controls aren't too shaby for a portable. But what killed this game is the plot in general. Having alternative ending to a game really left me puzzling as to how all this connects (even though i know that none of the endings really occur to the original timeline). So I feel this game could have been something for like the iTouch or something, as opposed to a console. Expand
  5. deshonj
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    loved the gme but was disappointed in the endings. whats so hard to understand about it fox & krystal ARE the perfect couple
  6. [anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    Gimped mechanics bring this space shooter into a complete stall; rather than maintaining the tried-and-true (not to mention fantastic) gameplay of the SNES and N64 Star Fox outings, this game tries to break away. Flying on its lonesome it is easily destroyed. The graphics are great, but the gameplay and online battle modes are extremely flawed. This shouldn't have the title "Star Fox".
  7. Bob
    Jul 21, 2008
    6
    It's an okay game but what happend to going through an auto dirceted level. There is only all range mode levels, and the star fox crew goes solo when attacking. Great control and multiplay but what happend to the main game?
  8. DJT
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    It's a tough one! But it's fun. I love how Nintendo loves to make you come back to the game to keep unlocking stuff! In this case, you'll be coming back to see all the endings. And let me say... it's HARD! The strategy aspect with the touch screen is fun. Get this one!
  9. FoxM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    An awesome game. Tonnes of fun to play and the strategy aspect of it makes it different. Great graphics and music. The only thing I didn't like are the sappy parts of the story that revolve around 'love'. It gets really corny at parts and annoying. Especially some of the stuff Slippy says "Krystal just wants to be with you Fox, forever and ever!" Like Slippy knows An awesome game. Tonnes of fun to play and the strategy aspect of it makes it different. Great graphics and music. The only thing I didn't like are the sappy parts of the story that revolve around 'love'. It gets really corny at parts and annoying. Especially some of the stuff Slippy says "Krystal just wants to be with you Fox, forever and ever!" Like Slippy knows anything...he's just an ugly frog with an ugly frog girlfriend. The fact that the story has all this talk about relationships makes it seem like they're all horny or some crap....would have been better without it and if they just focused on beating the bad guys. You really get tired of it. Actually it's just Slippy and Amanda that are annoying cause they're the ones that say the sappy crap. Panther's romance has a sense of humour to it which I don't mind and Fox & Krystal don't say anything straight out much. All up this is why Falco's the best cause he doesn't talk about all that stuff...he's focused on the missions. Expand
  10. JosephE.
    Jun 24, 2007
    2
    The game dosn't work. Period. I slide my stylus left and my plane spins and nosedives, to meet it's end in a fiary explosion. I wanted a jump into the action shooter but got some stupid strategy game where it took me 20 minutes just to get to some lame action, and by then the bus ride was over! And I couldnt even save the stupid game so next time I played I had to do it ALL OVER The game dosn't work. Period. I slide my stylus left and my plane spins and nosedives, to meet it's end in a fiary explosion. I wanted a jump into the action shooter but got some stupid strategy game where it took me 20 minutes just to get to some lame action, and by then the bus ride was over! And I couldnt even save the stupid game so next time I played I had to do it ALL OVER AGAIN!!! Expand
  11. AaronC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    Star Fox Command is overall one of the best DS games I have. Not the perfect game but it is high on my list. It has good graphics for a handheld, the controls are GREAT!, and the gameplay is just fun the stratigy part gives it something new, the timed part makes it exciting. The story is kind of corny and the ending is worse. But overall it is a GOOD game.
  12. EricE.
    Dec 28, 2006
    4
    This game had some good things going for it. a new interface, a back to the roots label, a new chance to mystify the gamers. but what do they do. they shit all over the story line. Falco leaving, ok i get this he likes to see action and fox cant find any. Slippy leaving, this didn't make sense but hey he left if only for a little while, thats something to be happy about. kristal left This game had some good things going for it. a new interface, a back to the roots label, a new chance to mystify the gamers. but what do they do. they shit all over the story line. Falco leaving, ok i get this he likes to see action and fox cant find any. Slippy leaving, this didn't make sense but hey he left if only for a little while, thats something to be happy about. kristal left and fox told her to ... umm thats messed up... fox is a leader not a divider. pepper is dieing. and peppy is the new general, this is crap enough but to destroy the great fox and make it look like a dead bug, what the hell. oh but they didn't stop there all the ships are different. this alone made he not want to play but i did.... and ugg I hope they make this one a dream in the next starfox. other then the storyline being crapped on the game feels purity good, but the controls are a little slugish on the spinning. also they could of at least put 1 track mission in. they did say it was going back to its roots and its roots on the snes invlove all track missions. well what im trying to say is Q games somebody is going to eat your babies for this. Expand
  13. SimonY.
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    The steering is perfect, the strategy elements are great. I think it is one of the best DS games, a lot better than Animal Crossing and on the same level of Metroid Hunters
  14. RobP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    7
    Overall, it's nice to have a Star Fox game for the DS. However, I do not like how the options to change settings are not very flexible. It's really difficult to steer and aim with the stylus and look at the top screen. Why couldn't it be like Metroid Prime Hunters, where you point directly on the screen where you want to shoot? It makes it hard to be as accurate. Also, I Overall, it's nice to have a Star Fox game for the DS. However, I do not like how the options to change settings are not very flexible. It's really difficult to steer and aim with the stylus and look at the top screen. Why couldn't it be like Metroid Prime Hunters, where you point directly on the screen where you want to shoot? It makes it hard to be as accurate. Also, I would like to have the option to control the ship with the d-pad and buttons. I do like how the bombs are used though, by dragging them onto the radar. Haven't gotten to play it online yet, because I wasn't patient enough to wait for people to join (it took awhile!). Expand
  15. JoshH.
    Sep 15, 2006
    7
    Definitely an improvement over Star Fox Adventures and Star Fox ASSault..ahem.. It has the classic tunes remixed from SF64 and SF SNES, storyline has improved somewhat (aside from the boring romance they keep trying to push in SF), controls are pretty nice, aside from rolling, which I find a little difficult at times. I love the way motherships are destroyed and when you first see it for Definitely an improvement over Star Fox Adventures and Star Fox ASSault..ahem.. It has the classic tunes remixed from SF64 and SF SNES, storyline has improved somewhat (aside from the boring romance they keep trying to push in SF), controls are pretty nice, aside from rolling, which I find a little difficult at times. I love the way motherships are destroyed and when you first see it for yourself you will realize how CLOSE they reached the greatness of SF64. Overall the tactical interface was boring and straight-forward and did not serve much of a purpose other than to engage enemies and pick up power ups. In other words, don't expect FF:Tactics out of this--it's SF64 veiled in strategy. Multiple endings up the replay value quite a bit (something which was missing in SF: Adv and SF ASSault). The character design have once again gone to the crapper--nothing truly innovative or interesting looking since SF Adv. Overall, I found the game enjoyable, but nowhere close to the quality of Star Fox 64. I see hope in the future, however. Expand
  16. AnrewR.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Loved the multple game endings. It brings new insite on the rest of the series, which is a good thing.
  17. Konron
    Sep 4, 2006
    8
    A solid, if somewhat lacking, DS title. The controls are responsive and tight even though having to lift the stylus to do loops, adjust speed, and shoot bombs can get cumbersome in a middle of a firefight, and it makes you kind of wish you could use the d-pad instead. Sadly, there are no linear rail-shooting levels here, replaced instead with a map where you trace your pilots' flight A solid, if somewhat lacking, DS title. The controls are responsive and tight even though having to lift the stylus to do loops, adjust speed, and shoot bombs can get cumbersome in a middle of a firefight, and it makes you kind of wish you could use the d-pad instead. Sadly, there are no linear rail-shooting levels here, replaced instead with a map where you trace your pilots' flight routes in an attempt to clear the area before your turns and your time run out. If you're expecting Starfox 64, prepare to be disappointed. However, the strategic element is interesting, and while the single-player is too short, there are multiple endings to unlock. The multiplayer is sparse, much like the Starfox 64 version except the DS version only has one game mode. Starfox Command is good in its own right, but when compared to the SNES and N64 versions, it leaves a lot for improvement. Here's to hoping we see a meatier sequel from Nintendo. Expand
  18. TJM.
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    Among the DS games that make use of the stylus, this one controls smoother than the rest. The first half hour of gameplay is a bit clumsy while you get used to it, but everything else -graphics, plot, level design - falls into place seamlessly. Pick it up before the winter DS rush starts!
  19. M.Ous
    Sep 2, 2006
    3
    Do you like wiggling the pen to make the Arwing roll and try to control it at the same time? Do you like all-or-nothing levels where you screw up and that's it? No health? Do you like arbitrary time limits in place of good game design? Do you like cut scene after cut scene you have to tap to skip? Did you hate the controls of the original classic? Please, someone, bring us a remake Do you like wiggling the pen to make the Arwing roll and try to control it at the same time? Do you like all-or-nothing levels where you screw up and that's it? No health? Do you like arbitrary time limits in place of good game design? Do you like cut scene after cut scene you have to tap to skip? Did you hate the controls of the original classic? Please, someone, bring us a remake of the original Star Fox and throw the last three abominations in the garbage. Expand
  20. MichaelA.
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    A fun Star Fox game with a combination of upclose combat and a well use of strategy in each mission. Only a couple of downsides. 1)Story mode: too short. My brother beat it less than a week after he got it. 2)Multiplayer/Wi-Fi: Not very fun. You only fly around shooting your opponents and you steal their stars (kind of like Super Mario 64 DS's multiplayer). Not much innovation. A fun Star Fox game with a combination of upclose combat and a well use of strategy in each mission. Only a couple of downsides. 1)Story mode: too short. My brother beat it less than a week after he got it. 2)Multiplayer/Wi-Fi: Not very fun. You only fly around shooting your opponents and you steal their stars (kind of like Super Mario 64 DS's multiplayer). Not much innovation. There's no other multiplayer games. It's only good if you're playing with quite a few people (at least 3 or 4 others). If you're just buying it for Wi-Fi, don't buy it! Although the controls are good, the strategic parts of the game are fun, and the story is very intersting. It's not as good as the other Wi-Fi games such as Mario Kart DS and Metroid Prime: Hunters, but it's still a good game. Good enough to get at least a 7. Anything lower, I would find to be wrong. Expand
  21. [Anonymous]
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    This title is truely refreshing! Finally, Fox and friends are back on a fantastic game with action and strategy. The controls took getting used to, but when you've got them down they feel very natural. This is my favorite DS game right now.
  22. Wari0Ware
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    This is one of the best DS games to date. A great handheld experience! After a couple of so-so GCN appearances, Fox McCloud is BACK BABY!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. A great looking, fast paced action shooter if not for the strategy element in between but, in my opinion its always good to have something new and the maps offer a little challenge when you first play them. [JPN Import]
  2. The combination of classic and new elements makes it the most wholly satisfying Star Fox game yet. [Oct. 2006, p.88]
  3. The Star Fox fighter squadron returns in this solid flight combat game, which distinguishes itself with its strategic elements and well-designed touch-screen controls.