User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. The best Tetris ever made. Enough said.
  2. EvanB.
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic! Honestly, this game has been in my DS more than any other game over the past 2 years, and I have over 25 games in my collection! My wife and I love to play it while we're waiting in the movie theater. It has fantastic multiplayer replay value! Not just a rent - make sure you buy this one!
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  4. JJH.
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    If you want to know how the (probably) best game ever got even better, go check out Tetris DS.
  5. MikeL.
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    A rehash of the best puzzler ever, but an extremely well-done rehash. Could get lost for hours (again) playing this new classic! Highly recommended.
  6. Tmoney
    May 11, 2006
    9
    Just awesome. Touch screen puzzles are fun variation but this is ALL about WIFI... a MUST HAVE for the DS, even if you think tetris is boring. It's not.
  7. CarlosD.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    So what if it's not completely like the original Tetris, with a few tricks to make it easier? This is probably the best Tetris game since the original. Not to mention how much fun it is to play online against real people. This and Meteos are the two of the best puzzle games money can buy right now. I've played Tetris DS an average of an hour a day since I got it for Christmas a So what if it's not completely like the original Tetris, with a few tricks to make it easier? This is probably the best Tetris game since the original. Not to mention how much fun it is to play online against real people. This and Meteos are the two of the best puzzle games money can buy right now. I've played Tetris DS an average of an hour a day since I got it for Christmas a few months ago, but I still never tire of it, even just the classic mode. Expand
  8. tonyg
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    don't even have to play it to know it will be a 10. nintendo publishing a tetris game...you know it will be classic. time is due for a real tetris on a handheld, since the best were tetris gb and tetris dx for gbc like 15 yrs ago. looks very creative and old / new school style will win everyone over. i like that nintendo is keeping 2-d alive with a bunch of new titles like superdon't even have to play it to know it will be a 10. nintendo publishing a tetris game...you know it will be classic. time is due for a real tetris on a handheld, since the best were tetris gb and tetris dx for gbc like 15 yrs ago. looks very creative and old / new school style will win everyone over. i like that nintendo is keeping 2-d alive with a bunch of new titles like super princess peach, tetris, metroid fusion 2 , castlevania dawn sorrow 2, worms, ect... as a huge 2d fan this makes me positive about the future of gaming. most 2d games of today destroy most 3d games of today and the ds is a perfect system for it. lets keep the castlevania's going, bring out new contras, more metroids, super mario bros, super punch out, treasure shooters, side scroll beat em ups, pinball's, puzzle's, bomberman multi, advance wars, odama?!?, and one of my favorite ...super smash bros. these titles will keep the ds system on top. and when the new ds releases, time to put away the psp. so far i think ds kills the psp with original titles. i also like the game card over game disc. todays economy the price diffrence is huge. anyway i grew up with nintendo, and hope to grow old playing nintendo. so if they keep this going, they will have my lifetime support. wink, wink, elbow, elbow, get the hint nintendo, .. i don't beg. hook us up, we hook you up! long live classic 2-d. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 19, 2006
    9
    Tetris DS has everything you expect from a Nintendo-released Tetris. The new modes are novel, but only the Push and Mission modes provide any long-term satisfaction. If the game has two flaws, they're not with the game itself. First, there's no ability to associate records with users (like on the old GBC version). Second, Nintendo priced it at a full $35; Tetris is 20 years old; Tetris DS has everything you expect from a Nintendo-released Tetris. The new modes are novel, but only the Push and Mission modes provide any long-term satisfaction. If the game has two flaws, they're not with the game itself. First, there's no ability to associate records with users (like on the old GBC version). Second, Nintendo priced it at a full $35; Tetris is 20 years old; many still have a NES, SNES, or GB version that still gets an occasional play...$25 is a more appropriate price given the rather limited new content (including online multiplayer). Expand
  10. RobP.
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    This game is great! Especially the wireless online play. Nintendo WFC can get two players matched up fairly quickly, depending on the time of day. The only problem with match ups is when you begin for the first time, you often face opponents that are much better than you, and it is difficult to win. The touch tetris mode is entertaining as well as difficult, as is the other puzzle modes. This game is great! Especially the wireless online play. Nintendo WFC can get two players matched up fairly quickly, depending on the time of day. The only problem with match ups is when you begin for the first time, you often face opponents that are much better than you, and it is difficult to win. The touch tetris mode is entertaining as well as difficult, as is the other puzzle modes. Altogether Tetris DS is a very solid game and should be included in any great gaming library. Expand
  11. JeffC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Loved this game on SNES, as good if not better AND portable!
  12. JonH
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    You can play tetris with no new fancy features or anything that would ruin it and that right there makes it awesome. What makes it better is that you can play many new modes that would easily keep you busy for hours. I just wish that you could choose themes instead of just using the classic NES themed music and backgrounds. Best game ever if you need to kill some time at the dentist You can play tetris with no new fancy features or anything that would ruin it and that right there makes it awesome. What makes it better is that you can play many new modes that would easily keep you busy for hours. I just wish that you could choose themes instead of just using the classic NES themed music and backgrounds. Best game ever if you need to kill some time at the dentist office or on a plane because it is addictive like drugs. Expand
  13. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    With a Nintendo twist on a classic great, Tetris DS has all it needs to re-capture the hearts of old fans and bring new fans to the franchise, comprising of multiple modes, there's much more than just dropping blocks and clearing lines. There are some competitive modes which have you building against another played, with each line cleared adding more blocks to your opponents side.With a Nintendo twist on a classic great, Tetris DS has all it needs to re-capture the hearts of old fans and bring new fans to the franchise, comprising of multiple modes, there's much more than just dropping blocks and clearing lines. There are some competitive modes which have you building against another played, with each line cleared adding more blocks to your opponents side. All-in-all this is a puzzle game well worth getting and can hold your attention for hours at a time, but can also be played in small bursts. Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Tetris DS is basically a DS version of Tetris, except, with additional features to it, like online play, puzzle mode, etc.

    Long before I even played Tetris, (nor Tetris DS), I've always been a fan of puzzle games. Tetris DS especially. It's highly addictive, and if you're able to play online, I don't think you'll stop... Not even to take a break. What's great: It's online play, and
    Tetris DS is basically a DS version of Tetris, except, with additional features to it, like online play, puzzle mode, etc.

    Long before I even played Tetris, (nor Tetris DS), I've always been a fan of puzzle games. Tetris DS especially. It's highly addictive, and if you're able to play online, I don't think you'll stop... Not even to take a break. What's great: It's online play, and gameplay elements.

    What's not so great: Me turning off my DS to grab something to eat...

    Would I recommend this game to a friend?
    Who would I NOT recommend this game to?!
    Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This is the best version of Tetris I have ever played. It is the perfect marriage of a classic game we all know, Tetris, and a plethora of beloved NES characters. It is excellent in both single player and multiplayer mode. If you are a fan this is a must buy.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 90
    You haven't lived until you've played ten player Tetris complete with rotation-freezing lightning bolts and piece-shifting banana peels flying between the systems. And the addition of internet play, while nothing new to PC Netris gamers, is a fantastic option, even if it's just a little minimalist in options.
  2. I can't think of a better way to kill a long plane ride, and I expect lapsed Tetris fans who've migrated to other puzzle games will be making their way back into the fold after playing this excellent reinvention of one of gaming's greatest titles. [Apr 2006, p.134]
  3. A must own title for the Nintendo DS. The combination of classic puzzling, new twists on the Tetris theme, seamless and lag-free online play, and classic Nintendo touches (including a nice collection of remixed NES tunes), makes Tetris DS a keeper.