Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 11 out of 11
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    25
    The fact that it looks and sounds pretty good doesn't change the basic fact that the game is, overall, a poor conception of a storied franchise. The design is basic and outmoded, and while in some games that can lend itself to a cool retro feel, it doesn't feel that way here.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    35
    I had high hopes for Thundercats, but those were dashed within the three hours I spent playing. It's too short, too tedious, and I would have liked to see better use of the other Thundercats, not just as assists. You can replay prior stages to unlock more cards, but why would you want to?
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    25
    Overall, Thundercats on the Nintendo DS is definitely a dud. I've not played a more lackluster licensed action game in quite a while, and it sort of breaks my heart to see one of my classic kid cartoon franchises get treated with such little care. This is little more than a quick cash grab on a recognizable name, and you'd do well to avoid this at all costs.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    35
    In a world where development houses like Vanillaware, Wayforward and ska Studios are giving us exceptional examples of the platformer action genre, there is no excuse for this to exist. Stay far away from Thundercats, and let's hope that we can get this right again in yet another couple of decades.
  5. 30
    I had initially hoped ThunderCats was going to be one of my last great outings on the DS. Instead I got a game which was far more aggravating than enjoyable. The semi-enjoyable strategy elements needed for boss battles could not make up for the unpolished gameplay and confusing plot. Even though ThunderCats seems to have been a long time coming, the final project wasn't quite worth it.
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, the ThunderCats game we finally got is an incredibly simple side-scrolling romp through boring levels populated by similar looking enemies.
  7. Nov 10, 2012
    44
    The battles became a chore after a while of playing, as no enemy after the second level presented anything new to deal with, and my options were limited in what I could actually do during battle.
  8. Nov 10, 2012
    30
    This one belongs in the litterbox.
  9. Nov 6, 2012
    5
    Thundercats looks bad, it plays bad and it drags a fantastic cartoon reboot's name through the mud.
  10. Nov 6, 2012
    20
    Thundercats is a poor example of almost every facet. The license is abused, the nostalgia just isn't there and the game is downright terrible functionality-wise. I simply cannot recommend this game for anyone. It is short, poorly designed and just not any fun. Someday I truly hope to see Lion-O and the gang return to form, but this game is certainly not the start of something special.
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    A truly disgusting DS game.
User Score
0.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 2 out of 2
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    0
    Its way to short and to easy. Honestly get really boring to plat after the first few levels. I would never recommend this as a good DS game. IIts way to short and to easy. Honestly get really boring to plat after the first few levels. I would never recommend this as a good DS game. I wish the Cats themselves would have had a bigger role. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    1
    I have to agree with the other reviewers and say that the game fell short of all my expectations. it's too short, the visuals aren't veryI have to agree with the other reviewers and say that the game fell short of all my expectations. it's too short, the visuals aren't very good, the controls are awkward and boring, and overall it makes the Thundercats concept look silly and not gaming compatible, which they obviously are. Full Review »