Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
0.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated high-action series claws its way onto the Nintendo DS. Become Lion-O and battle Mumm-Ra and his evil forces as you run, jump, and slash your way through action ripped straight from the new animated series. Wield the incredible power of the Sword of Omens in this side-scrollingThe animated high-action series claws its way onto the Nintendo DS. Become Lion-O and battle Mumm-Ra and his evil forces as you run, jump, and slash your way through action ripped straight from the new animated series. Wield the incredible power of the Sword of Omens in this side-scrolling adventure. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 11 out of 11
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    44
    The battles became a chore after a while of playing, as no enemy after the second level presented anything new to deal with, and my options were limited in what I could actually do during battle.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, the ThunderCats game we finally got is an incredibly simple side-scrolling romp through boring levels populated by similar looking enemies.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    35
    I had high hopes for Thundercats, but those were dashed within the three hours I spent playing. It's too short, too tedious, and I would have liked to see better use of the other Thundercats, not just as assists. You can replay prior stages to unlock more cards, but why would you want to?
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    30
    This one belongs in the litterbox.
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    25
    The fact that it looks and sounds pretty good doesn't change the basic fact that the game is, overall, a poor conception of a storied franchise. The design is basic and outmoded, and while in some games that can lend itself to a cool retro feel, it doesn't feel that way here.
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    25
    Overall, Thundercats on the Nintendo DS is definitely a dud. I've not played a more lackluster licensed action game in quite a while, and it sort of breaks my heart to see one of my classic kid cartoon franchises get treated with such little care. This is little more than a quick cash grab on a recognizable name, and you'd do well to avoid this at all costs.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    5
    Thundercats looks bad, it plays bad and it drags a fantastic cartoon reboot's name through the mud.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 2 out of 2
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    1
    I have to agree with the other reviewers and say that the game fell short of all my expectations. it's too short, the visuals aren't veryI have to agree with the other reviewers and say that the game fell short of all my expectations. it's too short, the visuals aren't very good, the controls are awkward and boring, and overall it makes the Thundercats concept look silly and not gaming compatible, which they obviously are. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    0
    Its way to short and to easy. Honestly get really boring to plat after the first few levels. I would never recommend this as a good DS game. IIts way to short and to easy. Honestly get really boring to plat after the first few levels. I would never recommend this as a good DS game. I wish the Cats themselves would have had a bigger role. Collapse

Trailers