Time Hollow DS

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2008
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
Buy On
  1. 58
    Time Hollow may be light on gameplay, but the story's competent enough for fans of point-and-tap adventures.
  2. Edge Magazine
    60
    While Time Hollow fills a Phoenix Wright-shaped hole in our lives, we do prefer our chaos theory a little less tidy. [Apr 2009, p.123]
  3. Thankfully, the satisfaction you feel when the pieces start falling into place makes it worth the effort – providing you don’t expect any real action out of the gameplay.
  4. If you enjoy story-based adventure games, you will really enjoy Time Hollow. There are plenty of twists and surprises along the way that you will want to see how it ends. The game is relatively easy but the hand-holding will disappoint the older crowd who will look for a challenge.
  5. Games Master UK
    70
    Everyone loves a nice time paradox, but we'd like more freedom. [Christmas 2008, p.84]
  6. games(TM)
    50
    There is very little challenge. And even when you do start ‘digging’ into the past with the Hollow Pen, this involves simply drawing a circle with the stylus and carrying out an obvious action. [Christmas 2008, p.116]
  7. There's a cool time-bending story to this adventure, but the simplistic gameplay saps much of the fun.
  8. The problem with the game is that it really isn’t a game at all. We’re not just saying it’s too linear – what little (very little) gameplay you’ll find smattered throughout is completely spoon-fed to you.
  9. Time Hollow is a refreshingly different action/adventure game for the DS, and one that's quite worthy of your attention.
  10. Time Hollow clings to mediocrity until the last hollow pen hole, and I can guarantee you won’t be compelled to ever pick it up again upon finishing it.
  11. 70
    Time Hollow is a terrific premise that I would love to see explored further in sequels.
  12. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Entirely a typical adventure game with attractive time shifting. Strong story can fill parts of the game which are somehow …hollow. [Nov 2008]
  13. Nintendo Gamer
    70
    If Phoenix Wright is a TV season boxset, Time Hollow is an HBO miniseries. It all feels quite minor, but it's certainly intriguing while it lasts. [Dec 2008, p.74]
  14. Nintendo Power
    70
    With the ability to alter the past literally at your fingertips, you should be able to solve problems in a myriad of ways, yet the game's mostly linear storytelling rarely lets you use your powers creatively. [Nov 2008, p.102]
  15. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    64
    A very clever concept broken by a game that's so linear, you could use it as a ruler. [Feb 2009, p.82]

Awards & Rankings

#31 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 26, 2016
    7
    I was checking old games until I noticed this old one in the closest: I didn't play it for over 8 years now! Out of curiosity I replayed theI was checking old games until I noticed this old one in the closest: I didn't play it for over 8 years now! Out of curiosity I replayed the whole game, despite remembering being quite disappointed. And I can't say I'm still that impressed.

    The game's story is good but it has hiccups, especially when trying to explain itself. The character is a bore, barely feeling impressed or anything, while the other characters are also quite forgettable. Unfortunately the best characters are Derek and Kori, since a lot of the game is around them. Not even the villain is remarkable.. It's also extremely short: I clocked in less than 4 hours.

    Still, it's alright for itself: give it a try if you find a copy.
    Full Review »
  2. ChrisD
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, despite the lack of challenge. It was refreshing and relaxing but what you could do was surprisingly narrow in I really enjoyed this game, despite the lack of challenge. It was refreshing and relaxing but what you could do was surprisingly narrow in scope to what it had the potential for. Full Review »
  3. Cynthia
    May 10, 2009
    10
    I love it! It was fun to play, beautiful anime style, the soundtrack is awesome, and I wasn't bored at all! If you play adventure games, I love it! It was fun to play, beautiful anime style, the soundtrack is awesome, and I wasn't bored at all! If you play adventure games, like the Phoenix Wright: Ace attorney-series, Hotel Dusk: Room 215 and games like that, you MUST play this game too! And the video at the beginning is just awesome. Full Review »