User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexS.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I love this game it is so cool even though it can get hard in several parts. And I'm only on A Third Thief Brings Grief Level 4 but it is still awesome.
  2. PurpleWind
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    This game is fantastic. Nowhere else will you find a platformer that makes you think and solve puzzles like this one. the story might no be high-brow, but it's WARIO would you expect a classy or even classic story? It's just Wario in one of his better adventures. The Costumes add to the challenge with each change bringing abilities used to solve puzzles and overcome obstacles. This game is fantastic. Nowhere else will you find a platformer that makes you think and solve puzzles like this one. the story might no be high-brow, but it's WARIO would you expect a classy or even classic story? It's just Wario in one of his better adventures. The Costumes add to the challenge with each change bringing abilities used to solve puzzles and overcome obstacles. Master of Disguise is a great adventure that is worth a look. "The Purple wind, silent but deadly. Smell it!" Expand
  3. ColinC
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Okay, my first 30 minutes with this game, I thought it was awful. Graphics seemed subpar and story seemed stupid. 30 minutes later, I was starting to enjoy myself more. 30 minutes after that, I was hooked. I've been playing games for 25 years and I've never gone from hating to loving a game like this. And having played the game through to the end, I'm amazed at some of the Okay, my first 30 minutes with this game, I thought it was awful. Graphics seemed subpar and story seemed stupid. 30 minutes later, I was starting to enjoy myself more. 30 minutes after that, I was hooked. I've been playing games for 25 years and I've never gone from hating to loving a game like this. And having played the game through to the end, I'm amazed at some of the low critic scores and reviews. It makes me think that maybe they stopped playing it in the first 30 minutes. I found the stylus controls for changing disguises worked wonderfully. Yes, some of the minigames aren't topnotch (and especially start off way too easy, but they do get harder near the end.), but the level design and story really pull you and and keep getting better and better. It was the boss fights that first hooked me, and then as I got more powers and the level design started requiring me to be more inventive about how I used them, I really started digging this game. I don't this this game has sold well (just based on the number of user votes here) and that's a crying shame. I own both a psp and a ds, and this is some of the most fun I've had on a handheld. (Other favorites include every Advanced Wars game, Syphon Filter: Dark Mirror, Papaton, and Zelda The Phantom Hourglass.) Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    This game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are nice for a Nintendo DS game, I can say that as one of the best parts of the game. This game for some reason seems non linear, because I can't figure out what I'm supposed to do in one level and the shapes that you have to draw are way too complex toThis game is okay, i haven't played all the way through it, so don't go by my review of the game if you want to buy it. The graphics are nice for a Nintendo DS game, I can say that as one of the best parts of the game. This game for some reason seems non linear, because I can't figure out what I'm supposed to do in one level and the shapes that you have to draw are way too complex to memorize, so constant looking at the tutorials is necessary. I can't say too much more, I haven't beat this game yet, my rating, so far after at least two chapters is 7.3/10 Expand
  5. ChristofferL
    Jul 28, 2009
    6
    This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx wanting you to solve 3 riddles, that part was annoying) and the system of the crests is kinda pointless, but still fun. The story is not bad or good, there was only one primary goal: collect all 5 pieces of the wishstone and wish for all treasures in the This is the weirdest wario game ever made, and I hardly love it. Only 10 unreplayable episodes, bosses without challenge (except Sprinx wanting you to solve 3 riddles, that part was annoying) and the system of the crests is kinda pointless, but still fun. The story is not bad or good, there was only one primary goal: collect all 5 pieces of the wishstone and wish for all treasures in the world. Some of the disguise symbols are pretty hard for the system to regonize, like almost everytime I'm about to change my self to Cosmic Wario, the game thinks I want to become Arty Wario even if I draw the circle perfect. The game is fun and feels very well to finally solve a problem you find yourself stuck in, but after completing the whole game, theres an little bonus: gather all treasures and complete the 5 extra episodes, NO THANKS, I just wanted to complete the game. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    While I believe that this game is an interesting concept, I did not like it as much as I expected to once I started playing it. The abilities were unique and interesting, but navigating the gameâ
  7. TonyG.
    Mar 13, 2007
    0
    pure poop... touch controls are horrible and boring. nintendo needs to focus more on the game than gimmicky control. horrendous.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Due to a few gameplay hiccups here and there and some rather boring gameplay in other spots Wario doesn’t quite approach greatness. It’s a good fun diversion for those who like the platformer/puzzle/Metroid hybrid but all others can probably skip it. [JPN Import]
  2. There’s a desperate lack of innovation on display here; nondescript levels based around ice caves, pyramids and inevitable Mayan temples. The boring locations exacerbate the sneaking feeling that the levels, which can easily take an hour or longer to finish, are simply too large. [JPN Import; Mar 2007, p.81]
  3. Despite its shortcomings, Master of Disguise managers to deliver a moderately enjoyable platforming romp. [Apr 2007, p.86]