• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Boktai: The Sun Is in Your Hand Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.6

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Boktai: The Sun Is in Your Hand is the first Game Boy Advance game that uses sunlight to influence gameplay. In the game, you'll follow the adventures of Django, a young vampire hunter on a quest to rid the world of evil. As Django, you must overcome traps, defeat enemies, and fight through the deepest parts of dungeons. Watch out for the amount of sunlight--Django is stronger by day, while the vampires are stronger by night. The game features a solar sensor on the cartridge and a real-time clock system. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    Boktai couldn't have been done on any other system; it is uniquely Game Boy Advance, yet not at all like any of its other titles. A paradox, a conundrum, and creativity incarnate.
  2. 91
    If you like your games with a crazy twist, then you'll totally get into this one. [Oct 2003, p.52]
  3. You won't be disappointed with a purchase of this game unless you live underground or in a perpetually overcast environment like England or Vancouver in the winter.
  4. 83
    At its core, this is a first-rate action adventure game that features a good story, challenging puzzles, memorable battles, and some of the finest graphics and sound, to date, on the Game Boy Advance.
  5. We can't help but be wary of the fact that the game requires direct sunlight in certain situations, as it restricts when and where you can play. However, a skilful player can negotiate much of the game without the need for sunlight so we can't be too negative. [Nov 2003, p.115]
  6. 75
    While Boktai is a solid game in its own right, the game itself has been done before and whole sun thing (read: "The Point") undermines the game experience more than it enhances it.
  7. 50
    This innovative concept proves to be very frustrating in real life. [Oct 2003, p.142]

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    This game is original and fun. You will fall in love with the characters and the story. This is my favorite GBA game and the series is now one of my favorites as well. Expand
  2. SeanT.
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    Gimmicky and yet astoundingly innovative! A unique title that not only wins over people with concept alone, but furthers the idea with their first taste of gameplay. It's a little weird, but the fun doesn't stop! Collapse
  3. Hazwin
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    I love it ! Yeah !
  4. KrisN.
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    The solar sensor gimmick is mildly amusing, but what truly makes this game shine is the gameplay aesthetic. Kojima's MG games have always been polished to a shimmer and this, his first widely-exposed outing beyond the MG franchise, is so excellent I feel cheated he hasn't tried his hand at Zeldism before. More than action/adventure/RPG standard fare, this game contains a great deal of innovation and actually introduces gameplay mechanics unlike any I've ever seen before (and I've seen 'em all). Don't make the mistake I did of importing the Japanese version, because you really need to understand what you're being instructed on to succeed in this game. One point deducted for lousy name... with the success of Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh-Ma-Pan-Pan-Fat-Dance-Dance-Revorution-Happy-Yay etc etc, they're not even going to bother anglicizing titles any more. *groan* Expand
  5. TomG.
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    Definitely kickin'....I love this game and its' concept. I hope we see a Boktai 2.
  6. BenR.
    Feb 24, 2004
    9
    It is a great game and the solar sensor works really well but i find the puzzles go from really easy to incredibly frustrating. but still this game is an essential for any gba owner. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    Almost Perfect. This game has everything most games could hope for: smooth, addictive gameplay, eye-popping graphics, crisp sound, good length, and a good story. The only complaint is that sometimes, one is forced to stop playing because it is nighttime and one needs sunlight for any one of many reasons. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews