User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2012
    5
    Kirby and the Amazing Mirror is a Kirby platformer that applies the "Four Swords" formula to its gameplay with four Kirbys in action at once attempting to save the mirror world but you only control the main one. How does this game fare today? Sadly, not very well at all. On the plus side, the game world is a giant labyrinth similar to what you would see in Metroid or Castlevania and quiteKirby and the Amazing Mirror is a Kirby platformer that applies the "Four Swords" formula to its gameplay with four Kirbys in action at once attempting to save the mirror world but you only control the main one. How does this game fare today? Sadly, not very well at all. On the plus side, the game world is a giant labyrinth similar to what you would see in Metroid or Castlevania and quite possibly a direct sequel to "The Great Cave Offensive" that was a part of Kirby Superstar (SNES)/Kirby Superstar Ultra (DS). other good things are minigames, multiplayer support, the great audio and visuals, the abilbity to call the warp star to return you to the lobby or your partners to help out, and finally the large amount of treasures to collect and use. On the negative aspect of things, single player is incredibly bad. A good chunk of areas in the game are tight to navigate and leave you with little to no room for error in avoiding danger and taking damage, You drop your power with only a single hit and with a certain power needed to access certain areas, if you lose it you have to make a tedious trek back to get it again and return to where you needed it without losing it again which gets rather irritating and fast, the respawn rate for enemies in certain areas is kind of absurd and can lead you to getting unfairly sneak attacked or swarmed, the AI partners are completely useless they will either stand by you and do nothing if nothing is on screen, or clumsily chase the nearest enemy in their programmed field of vision taking as much damage from them and terrain hazards as possible in the process, they with rarely ever help you move large boulders by inhaling it with you and they can sometimes push you into traps, terrain hazards, enemies or bottomless holes if you aren't careful or paying enough attention, the large labyrinth-like structure of the levels doesn't lend itself well to a mere six health points per life, even with the large amount of food/lives items and your mostly useless partners you will notice quickly that it does become a noticeable problem especially in more trickier portions of the levels later on. I know I'm probably going to get a lot of hate for this but I honestly don't think this game is that great, there was good intentions and ideas here but some questionable execution of these said ideas lead to just as much benefits as it does problems. There are far better Kirby platforming experiences for portable Nintendo systems out there in my opinion, I'd recommend trying Kirby Superster Ultra and Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland instead of this or try out the brand new Kirby Mass Attack which utilizes the multiple Kirby system in a far more effective and enjoyable manner. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Fun game sadly my cartrage resets the game files so all my progress resets. amazing game. i suggest it if you are a gameboy fan. i love it fillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfiller
  3. May 1, 2011
    7
    When you're not playing a port of Mario or Zelda, try Kirby & the Amazing Mirror, a subtle, but fantastic looking platformer for the GBA. Pros: Excellent visuals and control; the best 2-D platformer starring the pink puff ball; four Kirby formula actually works. Cons: Repetitious backtracking and mini-games; no support for the Wireless Adapter.
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    This is one of the great Kirby games in my opinion.It had tons of playable hours and so many places to explore.A must play for any Kirby fan.Had a decent replay value with unlocking all the areas and getting all the treasure chests.Enough to keep you into the game for awhile.The only downside of the game is the easiness of the bosses.Most of them hardly challenge you.You get more of aThis is one of the great Kirby games in my opinion.It had tons of playable hours and so many places to explore.A must play for any Kirby fan.Had a decent replay value with unlocking all the areas and getting all the treasure chests.Enough to keep you into the game for awhile.The only downside of the game is the easiness of the bosses.Most of them hardly challenge you.You get more of a challenge with the normal areas.A small flaw non the less.The controls are about the same as any other Kirby game and the visuals are bright and colorful.One of my favorite parts is the great soundtracks in the game.It keeps you going through the long time exploring.If you have never played this game before I highly recommend it. Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    This is the best Kirby game on a handheld. It's really long (but not tedious, but it can get tiresome to go back through worlds to get Mirror Shards) and fun. I just wish it was a little bit more challenging and the partner Kirbys AI wasn't so dumb.
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    It's not innovative and it doesn't support the GBA wireless adapter, however, The Amazing Mirror is still fantastic and has tons of power-ups, level designs, and multiplayer value.
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    There a select number of people who don't like this game and I don't understand why. I enjoyed the 'Metroidvania' style of exploration and progression and the controls handle well. The graphics are very colorful too. As far as actual gameplay goes, it plays like most other Kirby games. Though, the ability to play with up to 3 other players allowed for cool new puzzle solving (Wii U VC doesThere a select number of people who don't like this game and I don't understand why. I enjoyed the 'Metroidvania' style of exploration and progression and the controls handle well. The graphics are very colorful too. As far as actual gameplay goes, it plays like most other Kirby games. Though, the ability to play with up to 3 other players allowed for cool new puzzle solving (Wii U VC does not have this feature). Anyway, this game deserves some more attention and love as it is usually overshadowed by other Kirby games, but it's great game nonetheless. 9/10 Expand
  8. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    My second favorite Kirby game!! I give it a 10. The game play is cool and Flagship really did it this time: THEY HAVE OVERLOADED MY SYSTEM WITH GRATITUDE! THIS GAME MAY HAVE YOU CONFUSED AND LOST SOMETIMES, AND THE LAST BOSS MAY BE KIND OF HARD, BUT IT'S AWESOME! BUY IT NOW!
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 9 / 10 / 9 / 8 - 36 platinum [Vol 798; 2 Apr 2004]
  2. Has Kirby on the right track and, for the first time in years, starts to evolve the series. It just doesn't quite live up to its ambitions. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  3. It's no Super Mario World, but compared to its predecessors this game is huge...finally, Kirby has a game he can be proud of. [June 2004, p.122]