Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to theAn evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to the witch's castle. Guide this unlikely bunch through an abundance of minigames such as Border Jump and Mystery Carts. Combine the powers of Mario and Luigi to pull off special tag-team moves. Immerse yourself in this bright, cartoonish, and humorous world, complete with hit music featured in previous Mario games. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  2. What will keep you playing through all that time is not just all the neat moves or the excellent graphics but the well-crafted and humorous story.
  3. A rarity in the gaming world; a game that brings a smile to your face by not taking itself seriously, and at the same time keep you on your toes gameplay-wise.
  4. A real surprise - if you liked "Paper Mario" on N64 you'll love this. It's funny, enjoyable and capable of eating up hours on end. [GamesMaster]
  5. One of those games you cherish playing - and avoid completing because you just don't want it to end. [Jan 2003, p.93]
  6. Everything your typical RPG is not - fast-paced, action-oriented, colorful and lighthearted - yet it's the best game the genre has seen on the GBA. [Jan 2004, p.162]
  7. On the whole, Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga's got a solid Zelda vibe: it's polished, it flows nicely without being too restrictive, and it offers a distinct style of gameplay, all presented with a lot of charm and a laidback sense of humor that doesn't try too hard.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. PeterO.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    I have not beaten this game, but am well into it. It's great. The game is just like Super Mario RPG and Paper Mario, two of the funnest I have not beaten this game, but am well into it. It's great. The game is just like Super Mario RPG and Paper Mario, two of the funnest RPG's around. Anyone who felt bad for Luigi being left behind all the time in Paper Mario can rejoice; our green 'stached hero gets star billing. However, he is still made fun of, nobody remembers his name, and Nintendo gave him some very flamboyant mannerisms. Collapse
  2. ArmadilloBuddha
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting myself out here... oh well. =) Even if you hate RPG's, buy this game anyways. I can't say enough good things about it. I'll be pissed if this gets anything under a 95, because it's better than THPS2 and maybe even Zelda. (mainly because Zelda was just a SNES port with a multiplayer game I had no use for, and this is an entirely new game...) I never played Paper Mario, but I'd like to hear from the people who did, and how this compares to it. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapableIncredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible. Expand
  4. ThomasM.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Talk about Fun! If your looking for a good mario and luigi combo system then nothing beats mario and luigi superstar saga!
  5. BobF.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Exellent! I like the way mario turns small and luigi turns into a mole!!! VERY TRICKY!
  6. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing. One of nintendos best. Super cute and ridiculous in a good way.
  7. JeffF.
    Jan 26, 2004
    2
    This game is dull, boring, and nowhere near as good as everone claims. I had it for a week then sold it on e-bay.

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.