Metroid Fusion Game Boy Advance
Metroid Fusion Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While lending mission support on planet SR388, interstellar bounty hunter Samus Aran is attacked by an X parasite, an organism with the ability to mimic the abilities of any creature it infects. Near death, Samus is saved by a vaccin made from the DNA of the last Metroid--the X parasite's only natural predator. When the X spread to a research station in orbit around SR388, a weakened Samurs is forced to exterminate them all...or die trying. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    Easily THE Game of 2002 in my book.
  2. Take everything you loved about "Metroid" and "Super Metroid" and imagine them magnified, modified, and improved upon. [Dec 2002, p.92]
  3. 96
    One thing that sets Metroid Fusion apart from its predecessors is a clearly stated and well-developed storyline, including, for the first time, occasional monologues by Samus herself.
  4. Hardcore Metroid fanatics may be turned off by the way the navigation computer holds your hand through most of the game, but all others will find an expertly crafted adventure title.
  5. While the gameplay is faster, and more responsive than ever before, MF manages to feel even more claustophobic than in the past. That's a good thing. [Feb 2003, p.75]
  6. Despite my complaints about the sound and music, and my half-hearted desire for a less linear style of play, Metroid Fusion is a great game that should be checked out by anyone who owns a GBA.
  7. It may be nearly devoid of the exploration aspects that older fans appreciate, but it is still a game that all GBA owners can cherish.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    If you're a fan of the Metroid series as well as a game hobbyist, this is a fine addition to any collection. With the large map exploration and item hunting people have come to expect of the series, you will have many fun hours to come with this game. Collapse
  2. May 27, 2013
    10
    Metroid Fusion is a near perfect 2D adventure game. The controls are pinpoint precise, the music and sound design are excellent and the famous atmosphere of the Metroid series has been carried over exactly. The difficulty is just about right too. There are some challenging bosses to be dealt with (namely the SA-X chase sequence and Nightmare) but nothing feels over-the-top unlike Metroid Prime 2. the level design is fantastic too. Due to the game's more plot heavy nature, you've always got an objective to take care of. This makes the game more accessible than previous Metroid games. That said, the game still gives you more than enough exploration to do and parts like the AQA labyrinth will have you scratching your head and begging for a guide! Basically speaking, I love Metroid Fusion. It's one of my favorite 2D games of all time and a worthy successor to legendary Super Metroid. Expand
  3. May 22, 2013
    10
    Metroid Fusion is a great game. The graphics, controls and music are excellent in the game and these are things that I have come to expect in the Metroid series. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    So fun...but so much more linear than the other games of this style that I've been enjoying since Super Metroid and Castlevania:SotN. But a bit of linearity isn't necessarily an awful thing...it certainly help you avoid those huge blocks of time spent lost and wondering what you were supposed to get to next. But in my latest play-through of this game (after it was released as part of the 3DS ambassador program), I played through the game in a little over three hours. That's not a lot of gameplay...though I'm sure part of the problem was that I'd played through the game 4-5 times before (although I don't think the last time was within the past five years or so). Anyhow, I love this game style, I enjoyed the game, I want more metroid/castlevania games like this. C'mon developers, hook us up. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    It is like Megaman and Castlevania in a cool scifi setting with evil space parasites!
    Best Metroid on GBA because it looks and plays better
    than Zero Mission. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Excellent game faithful to the SNES title. Too bad Nintendo stoped making theese. It would accompany well enough on DS and 3DS parallell 2D games to the franchise. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    3
    I don't play Metroid games to be told what to do. If you like the exploration and independence of the other games, avoid Fusion. It is absolutely linear, plodding, and just plain wearying to play. Then there's the art. A lot has been said about how good the game looks, and I won't lie: it's pretty good. However, they try to throw so much on screen at times, it's hard to even tell what's foreground or background, what you need to be paying attention to and what you should ignore. It just ends up looking messy. Oh, and this is the game that introduced the Adam Malkovich albatross that culminated in the fiasco that is Other M.

    This isn't the worst game in the series, but it DEFINITELY doesn't deserve the 100/100s that you see over on the critic side or the 10/10s on the user side. If you want a "return to form" GBA Metroid, play Zero Mission. The Prime games are also good examples of how to do Metroid gameplay (Hint: it's about the exploration).
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews