Metroid Fusion

Game Boy Advance
Metroid Fusion Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While lending mission support on planet SR388, interstellar bounty hunter Samus Aran is attacked by an X parasite, an organism with the ability to mimic the abilities of any creature it infects. Near death, Samus is saved by a vaccin made from the DNA of the last Metroid--the X parasite'sWhile lending mission support on planet SR388, interstellar bounty hunter Samus Aran is attacked by an X parasite, an organism with the ability to mimic the abilities of any creature it infects. Near death, Samus is saved by a vaccin made from the DNA of the last Metroid--the X parasite's only natural predator. When the X spread to a research station in orbit around SR388, a weakened Samurs is forced to exterminate them all...or die trying. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    Easily THE Game of 2002 in my book.
  2. Play Magazine
    100
    Take everything you loved about "Metroid" and "Super Metroid" and imagine them magnified, modified, and improved upon. [Dec 2002, p.92]
  3. netjak
    96
    One thing that sets Metroid Fusion apart from its predecessors is a clearly stated and well-developed storyline, including, for the first time, occasional monologues by Samus herself.
  4. Hardcore Metroid fanatics may be turned off by the way the navigation computer holds your hand through most of the game, but all others will find an expertly crafted adventure title.
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    While the gameplay is faster, and more responsive than ever before, MF manages to feel even more claustophobic than in the past. That's a good thing. [Feb 2003, p.75]
  6. Despite my complaints about the sound and music, and my half-hearted desire for a less linear style of play, Metroid Fusion is a great game that should be checked out by anyone who owns a GBA.
  7. It may be nearly devoid of the exploration aspects that older fans appreciate, but it is still a game that all GBA owners can cherish.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    If you're a fan of the Metroid series as well as a game hobbyist, this is a fine addition to any collection. With the large map explorationIf you're a fan of the Metroid series as well as a game hobbyist, this is a fine addition to any collection. With the large map exploration and item hunting people have come to expect of the series, you will have many fun hours to come with this game. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2017
    10
    I've recently completed this game on the Wii U...what a masterpiece!!! It is the best Metroid game I have played so far (Super Metroid 1994,I've recently completed this game on the Wii U...what a masterpiece!!! It is the best Metroid game I have played so far (Super Metroid 1994, Fusion 2002 and Zero Mission 2004). It had everything I like in a game besides the hidden items...simply cannot find them sometimes...I had to look on the internet. Expand
  3. Sourgorilla
    Aug 17, 2003
    10
    Great gam but can't get past sector five, no way out.
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    My first Metroid and it was a great experience! Such great mix of exploring, adventure and action in 2D that was just amazing for that time.My first Metroid and it was a great experience! Such great mix of exploring, adventure and action in 2D that was just amazing for that time. The bosses were really unique and challenging. That is for sure a must-buy. Collapse
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    So fun...but so much more linear than the other games of this style that I've been enjoying since Super Metroid and Castlevania:SotN. But aSo fun...but so much more linear than the other games of this style that I've been enjoying since Super Metroid and Castlevania:SotN. But a bit of linearity isn't necessarily an awful thing...it certainly help you avoid those huge blocks of time spent lost and wondering what you were supposed to get to next. But in my latest play-through of this game (after it was released as part of the 3DS ambassador program), I played through the game in a little over three hours. That's not a lot of gameplay...though I'm sure part of the problem was that I'd played through the game 4-5 times before (although I don't think the last time was within the past five years or so). Anyhow, I love this game style, I enjoyed the game, I want more metroid/castlevania games like this. C'mon developers, hook us up. Expand
  6. CoreyS.
    May 25, 2006
    9
    The first and best Metroid game I have ever played and also one of the only ones I've finished. It is a bit short but it is still a great game.
  7. IanW.
    Oct 4, 2003
    1
    Linear, predictable, main enemies far too easy, bosses too hard. Poor show.

See all 57 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
2
#2 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002