Shining Force: Resurrection of the Dark Dragon Game Boy Advance

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewG.
    May 5, 2004
    8
    This seems pretty good so far, though it's kinda hard to play while playing Advance Wars too as they need similar but slightly different tactics and you end up messing it up a lot. Not a fault of the game though, just my brain not being able to keep enough information in it ;) I was also impressed it came out here in the UK before America.
  2. GerardH.
    Jun 19, 2004
    8
    It's a really cool game. The graphics are pretty good and so is the storyline. It was really worth the money.
  3. ScottW.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Beautiful remake. Probably the best out there, in terms of remakes.
  4. MichaelR.
    Mar 30, 2004
    9
    This is a remake of the 1993 classic Shining Force that came out for the Sega Genesis (http://www.allgame.com/cg/agg.dll?p=agg&SQL=GIH||||||211). As a fan of the original, I can't wait to pick this up on the GBA.
  5. TomV.
    May 21, 2004
    9
    Just finished the game! Great remake, better than the original with few new ideas and good graphics. Play it! :)
  6. AlbinW
    May 13, 2004
    10
    This game is going to be totaly bad ass. i am psyked about the remake and i can not wait for this classic game that i have loved for many years to hit the selfs again.
  7. DaveW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    For me, this game is a perfect 10. The original was amazing for the time, and this GBA remake is very faithful to the experience. In the context of the time this was released, there isn't a better SRPG.
  8. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    A polished quest, welcome with open arms to portables. The port features some new gameplay and tweaks, though its re-done artwork unapologetically disposes of Shining Force's signature style.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A true classic. It may not have the admirable depth of "Final Fantasy Tactics Advance" or "Fire Emblem," but it has twice the character - and twice the fun.
  2. 70
    Shining Force is only worth buying for those who like their RPG meals to be served in small helpings and without any fat. Those who are growing tired of the endless pages of stats and infinite battles that are currently in vogue will find a lot to enjoy here.
  3. If you're frustrated by "FFTA," this is strategy with training wheels. [July 2004, p.92]