Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts Game Boy Advance

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2002
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Not only has the famous slow-down been neatly trimmed back from the SNES, the GBA game features an arranged mode which boasts level selection and all-new levels, some based on the original and arcade games. [Aug 2002, p.75]
  2. Be warned … this game is EXTREMELY fun, but EXTREMELY challenging at the same time, so be prepared for lots of do overs while playing.
  3. netjak
    90
    This may be quite a challenge but it will keep you constantly coming back for more due to the fun factor as well as the extended replay value that’s present even with only 8 levels to progress through due to the strategy needed to be successful, be prepared to die quite frequently.
  4. 85
    I kid you not...this game is the most difficult game ever made. But what's interesting is that as frustrating as it is, the game is still fun to play.
  5. Game Informer
    85
    A faithful reproduction with some welcome enhancements and improvements. [Nov 2002, p.150]
  6. You must realize Ghouls n’ Ghosts is a very hard game and you have to forgive the occasional instant death. Then you will really get addicted to the gameplay with the help of the good graphics and music that Capcom has created.
  7. The difficulty is a bit high if you've never played a Ghosts game before, but the new save feature should help alleviate this problem. I'd say that so far this is far and away the BEST SNES port to reach the GBA yet.
  8. 84
    Whether you're a fan of wacky 2D side-scrolling adventure games or a long-time Super G'n G fan, this well-made port is definitely worth picking up.
  9. When you do finally get through to the end, you’ll be a better gamer because of it… or at least one who’s learnt a whole bunch of new swear words.
  10. While the fundamentals are all great, my caveat emptor is: If you're not willing to fight for every inch in this game, do yourself a favor and concede defeat before you head to the checkout line with the game.
  11. It is easily the hardest videogame ever made, and is likely going to be an exercise in frustration for all but the most expert gamer.
  12. Unlike most ultra-hard games, however, Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts is thoroughly addictive, despite the fact that it does get frustrating.
  13. For older gamers, the save feature means that they may finally get to experience those later levels that they never had the skill or stamina to reach back in the day.
  14. Doesn’t stray from the original. Here is classic 16-bit action at its best, but it’s nothing new to scream about.
  15. A tight game that experiences a few technical difficulties along the way...A straight port of the original along with a few extras thrown in.
  16. 70
    A good, well-crafted action game, but it definitely shows its age. It’s also quite possibly the hardest SNES game ever made, which, by the way, makes it too hard.
  17. Nintendo Power
    68
    The challenge is set on high in a faithful re-creation of the Super NES game. [Nov 2002, p.230]
  18. Pocket Games
    65
    Great in many ways, but the difficulty is too tough. Simply not refined enough for a smooth move toe the GBA. [Winter 2002, p.45]
  19. GameNow
    58
    Feels a bit stale. [Nov 2002, p.68]

Awards & Rankings

#42 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#23 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. RobertA.
    Feb 6, 2004
    9
    Hard. fun and addictive.
  2. SulamanC.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    This is the sweetest game ever!!! I have played this game for many hours and i have never been displeased with it. I have gone to the very This is the sweetest game ever!!! I have played this game for many hours and i have never been displeased with it. I have gone to the very last lvl on ridiculously hard before the boss of the game and i can not beat the monster gaurding the gate at the end of the 2nd to last lvl!! even still this game rocks.....i own it on snes so if its the same then its sweet if not i will be dissapointed, but im pretty sure its the same b/c capcom is the best! Full Review »
  3. DainG.
    Nov 3, 2002
    8
    As close as the GBA could get to a nearly perfect classic port, but we need a full-on sequel next time around (and after ten years of silence As close as the GBA could get to a nearly perfect classic port, but we need a full-on sequel next time around (and after ten years of silence and Mega Man overkill, there sure better be a next time!). However, we most certainly cannot fault this game for not doing a great job as a port with new cut scenes, 4 redone levels and 4 redone bosses from the former games. GBA SGnG garners 1 point less than a 9: only Ghouls'n Ghosts is, and remains the "10" of the series. This score is due to some (although lessened) persistence of slowdown and the fact that certain gameplay balance issues that were left unresolved in the original SNES game still remain (such as some odd arsenal choices that truly never seem to have a proper use other than as a liability, whereas the extraorinarily powerful seeker x-bow is a nigh invincible ghoul-killer). However, the extra levels, save feature and redone cut scenes certainly make up for these slights. In addition, the re-proportioned sprites make the game space seem more concise than in the SNES version. Any true fan (alas there are so few that have persevered up to now) of the series will be satisified with more than enough new experiences (thanks mostly to the new levels) to warrant a purchase. ~Dain Quentin Gore Full Review »