The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Return to Middle-earth in a game based on the epic final chapter of the The Lord of the Rings movie trilogy. Developed using the same digital assets as the films, The Return of the King recreates in stunning detail the final events of the War of the Ring. Become the heroes who determine the fate of Middle-earth as you traverse the haunted Paths of the Dead, defend Minas Tirith, and even play co-op multiplayer with a friend as you march against the impenetrable Black Gates of Mordor. The fate of Middle-earth is in your hands. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. While not a dramatic change from its predecessor, Return of the King is a solid action game.
  2. Although item use is complex and battlefield navigation can be a chore, gameplay is solid and production values are high. [Jan 2004, p.161]
  3. Has just enough elements added to keep it interesting. Perhaps the way the game is designed to be played is one of its most important traits. That, being the ability to save anywhere in the game which allows for an installment style of play.
  4. 80
    The GBA sequel doesn't add much beyond the new storyline, additional playable characters, and minor gameplay and graphic tweaks, but it's still a great and recommended design.
  5. A good, solid game, but it doesn’t offer much more than the previous title did. If you’ve played that to death, there isn’t much here that you haven’t already experienced.
  6. A good hack-and-slash RPG that will keep you occupied for hours just building up a character that's useful in all three of the game's separate play modes.
  7. The core gameplay is essentially the same as last year's "Two Towers," though the graphics have been given a minor facelift and the stages are a bit more varied. [Dec 2003, p.236]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. TamaraK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    Mainly, I am posting this as a response to Bob H.'s review. In the options menu, you can adjust the difficulty settings. I believe there is Normal, Hard, and Grueling. I don't think the game is as hard as he makes it sound, unless he has it set on Grueling. Collapse
  2. RobertW.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    This game rocks. Almost exactly like Two towers but it is a solid game with awesome graphics and nice gameplay.
  3. playerjo
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    My favourite game! This is an easy and really pleasant game , with a really lots of adventures and various tricks! The funny thing is that after you finish it you actually go all over the beggining :) Also bonus maps rock! Lots of gold , later xp and great items! This type of games is the best in the world. Expand
  4. YarnV.
    Nov 25, 2003
    9
    Hey Bob...are you sure that you'e not reviewing the CONSOLE version of the game? There are no mid-level checkpoints in the GBA version, and maps that take more than 15 minutes to get through are fairly rare. The difficulty curve you describe also sounds much more in-line with the console game than the handheld version. Please don't do an this game a disservice by spreading misinformation. Expand
  5. BobH.
    Nov 6, 2003
    8
    I have been waiting for this game for months, and bought it today because im a huge fan of LOTR. I have to admit I am disapointed with the difficulty. The difficulty settings are a one-size-fits-all set to impossible. I played this thing for 3 1/2 hours and got past 3 levels...thats right...3 accursed, impossibly hard levels. This is one of the first games that I have not been able to get past the first 2 or 3 levels in one or two tries. The problem with this game is that the checkpoints in the level are few and far between, so when you die, you usualy have to go back halfway, if not all the way to the beginning of the level, and have to gruel through 15 minutes of already played game. On the one hand, people who like a challenge will love this game, but people who want some good Lord of the Rings insider before december will feel exasperated and disapointed. Great graphics & sound pull this game out of a 5 or 6 for me, so I'll give it an 8 because I love Lord of the rings and a challenge is good once in a while. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King's GBA port is actually almost as good as the console version, the graphics are ok for a GBA game, the sound however is a mixture of repetitive music and sound effects, the game is very challenging but that's mostly because of a flawed leveling up system, you can play as several characters from the movie, and all but a few have there own unique stories, while this game does have it's flaws it is still a ok game and i would recommend it for fans of the series Expand
  7. BrandonW.
    Mar 1, 2004
    1
    Boring. Absolutely boring, this is the only game where I came close to dosing off while playing. Muddy graphics. Repetitive gameplay which is BORING. Music is decent. The Characters die way to fast. If you want something like the ps2 or xbox versions of ROTK stay away from here. Absolutely horrible. Expand