Yoshi's Island: Super Mario Advance 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Baby Mario falls from the sky, the big-hearted Yoshis vow to reunite him with his twin brother on the far side of the island. It won't be easy, but you must help them take on a meddling Magikoopa and his entire cast of underhanded underlings. Your journey spans the island's jungles,When Baby Mario falls from the sky, the big-hearted Yoshis vow to reunite him with his twin brother on the far side of the island. It won't be easy, but you must help them take on a meddling Magikoopa and his entire cast of underhanded underlings. Your journey spans the island's jungles, caves, and snowcapped peaks--each area filled with hidden rooms, secret passages, charming minigames, demented bosses, and all-new pals. Sure, Yoshi looks cute, but he packs some pretty amazing firepower--he can throw eggs, hover, stomp, pound the ground, slurp up enemies, and morph into a toy submarine. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Its twisted levels beg to be replayed again and again even if you aren't interested in getting that perfect 100%.
  2. Just another bright and shining jewel on the Miyamoto crown of accomplishments! This often overlooked masterpiece will finely get the time in the lime light it deserves.
  3. 94
    The variety in what Yoshi can do and the diversity in level designs, not to mention the wonderful use of scaling and rotation for the level structures and the incorporation of a half-dozen clever mini-games makes Yoshi's Island the best damn platformer ever.
  4. 90
    A fantastic piece of video gaming entertainment.
  5. Seven huge, trap-filled worlds and many mini-games.
  6. While this isn't the new Mario adventure I am still waiting for on the GBA, it is one heck of a platformer. [Nov 2002, p.150]
  7. The only problem I noticed was a very rare slowdown caused by too many sprites on the screen. While it can be annoying when it happens, the occurrence is so sporadic that it's barely noticeable.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is game of my childhood. And I still think it's masterpiece and in my opinion best 2D platformer ever. The best thing about Yoshi'sThis is game of my childhood. And I still think it's masterpiece and in my opinion best 2D platformer ever. The best thing about Yoshi's island is difficulty. Even though it's game for children secret and extra stages are really challenging (creators got little bit overboard with Endless world of Yoshis) Expand
  2. May 3, 2011
    10
    An excellent port of one of the funnest 2-D platformers to date -- if Super Mario World is the best, then Yoshi's Island is certainly the mostAn excellent port of one of the funnest 2-D platformers to date -- if Super Mario World is the best, then Yoshi's Island is certainly the most innovative. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, and audio; rich, colorful level design; lots of mini-games; Yoshi and Baby Mario are ridiculously charming. Cons: The difficulty is often frustrating, resulting with a lot of Baby Mario cries; multi-player is secondary. Collapse
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    OH MY GOD!!! I've always wanted this game for the Super NES but I've never ever had a chance to own it until now. This was my OH MY GOD!!! I've always wanted this game for the Super NES but I've never ever had a chance to own it until now. This was my favorite game on the SNES and now it's for GBA, THANK YOU NINTENDO!!!!! Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Another great platformer for the GBA. Don´t think it´s easy, because it cute looking with the crayon art style, no no, the later levels andAnother great platformer for the GBA. Don´t think it´s easy, because it cute looking with the crayon art style, no no, the later levels and boss levels are filled for traps just to get Baby Mario for preventing stomped Goombas. Music, Gameplay, Art style,many and great levels, it´s all there! Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game so much. I enjoy how the game play is suited to younger gamers who may think the side scrolling Mario is too fast for them, and Yoshi is a good platforming character and the storyline of saving Baby Luigi from Baby Bowser is a good one. Also, the final battle is epic, and one of my favorite from any game. Really if you have a GBA there's little excuse for you to not have this game already. 10/10 A+ Expand
  6. TomW.
    May 6, 2003
    10
    The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is class. The best game on gba so far.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    Solid platformer and excellent port of the SNES classic, gets repetitive after a while, but still a very fun game to play, especially on theSolid platformer and excellent port of the SNES classic, gets repetitive after a while, but still a very fun game to play, especially on the go.

    Graphics are retained close to its SNES counterpart and the colors are as vibrant as ever, I really praise the art style they used back then and still use now, very waterpainting like.

    Controls are very responsive, much like any Mario game plays.

    Gameplay is your basic run-of-the mill platformer, anyone who ever played a Mario game is right at home with Yoshi in their hands, when you finish the game, you revisit past levels to collect any missed red coin/flower, which in turn opens up bonus levels which keep you coming back for more.

    All in all, Yoshi's Island: Super Mario Advance 3, is a perfect port of the SNES classic, brings everything you loved back and even adds extra sprinkles on top!
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.