1080: Avalanche Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Danger is the name of the game in 1080- Avalanche. Huge air, massive drop-offs, deep powder, and the nastiest tricks come together in one package. It's a frantic race to the bottom of the mountain, so stick tricks on the way down to increase your rider's speed and power. Keep your eyes peeled for shortcuts, rockslides, natural wildlife, dizzying drops, and sudden weather changes. The successor to the Nintendo 64 version of the game, 1080- Avalanche offers a wide variety of play modes, challenges, and secrets to keep you on your toes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. There's just no way to put it except to say that it's quite possibly the ultimate rush. [Jan 2004, p.58]
  2. 90
    The sensation of speed as you rocket down the mountain will truly rattle your senses, and the exceptional control pays off nicely.
  3. Avalanche imparts the varying depths of snow, anything from sheet ice to knee-deep drifts, much better than its nearest rivals. Crouching for speed, leaping precipices and then absorbing the shock upon landing is a majestic sensation only bettered by the original. [Feb 2004, p.104]
  4. The button configuration allows a fluid, effortless motion to pull of a trick. You don't have to be double jointed to land a simple grab trick.
  5. I polished off the three main Match Race cups, most of the Time Trials (to unlock the better boards), the final Extreme Challenge and most of the Gate Challenges, not to mention completing each Trick Attack course to a decent standard, well within one five-hour sitting.
  6. 70
    It's a good racing game, that's for sure, but bizarrely one that has little replay value and a mediocre multiplayer option.
  7. A short, but decent title for snowboard racing, and not much else. The LAN option is a nice feature and can increase a player’s game value if they plan to take advantage of it. However, the lack of gameplay variety and light content really hurts the overall value of the game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. R.W
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Too many ppl are going on about how 1080 is short and doesnt have enough tricks. there are 15 grabs in total and 4 spins/flips. but when u combine these you get all sorts of combos so it doesnt feel like there's not enough for me at all. the moves are awesome. also, the games length (in terms of beating the match races) doesnt take too long like everyone says BUT that doesnt mean you have finished the game. theres lots of other stuff to do like the trick modes, time trials and unlocking extra boards, and its heaps fun. plus its not like you get bored of each course once you've played it already. 1080 is different to ssx3 but i prefer 1080 more because its a lot more realistic and is what you call a true snowboarding game, unlike ssx3 where you do real unrealistic moves that sorta ruins the snowboarding feel. what makes 1080 special though is the fact that its the sequal to the N64 version of 1080 which was a great game...so if you liked the original, 1080 avalanche will bring back the good old memories from the moment you start it up and choose your character like ricky winterborn. to me ssx3 just feels like a gimicky snowboarding game but 1080 is a solid awesome looking game that shouldnt be missed. in the end, 1080 seems to be the most oringal and unique. ive played many other snowboarding games out there and they dont feel as special. Expand
  2. J.Baker
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    1080 gets 10 all the way. I've played the SSX games and I think they are overly exaggerated. Not a true feel like 1080. Not that SSX isn't a good game but I prefer 1080. Also, everyone keeps calling 1080 a racing game, which is part right but I spend more time doing tricks then anything. I think some might prefer SSX because it's so easy to do the tricks where 1080 takes a little more skill. These are my thoughts, play with what makes you happy. Expand
  3. LisaW.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    I LOVE this game! It is probably the best snow boarding game in the century! It beats SSX by a mile! If your looking for a challenging, action packed game......this is the game for you. The music choice is great, it had me singin' along! The Graphics are fantastic and the details of the game characters made me wonder if these people where real boarders? (Ricky is my favorite). Expand
  4. MarkW.
    Nov 27, 2003
    9
    This is the most exciting snowboarding game around.
  5. RogerG.
    Dec 7, 2003
    9
    Reallly good game! Single Player is fun, but multiplayer is much funnier! Snowboarding game of the year.
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    The game is very fun today in 2012, one of the most special game for GameCube, a good game, with good dificulty and great music tracks, and the multiplayer is very funny :) Expand
  7. KyleW.
    Dec 22, 2003
    0
    Are you losers insane? This game has got to be THE WORST game I have ever played. Worse than Amped, worse than Spyro, worse than sour milk left in the sun for 3 days! The whole game blows, it's just as bad, if not worse than the original! I own 2 of the 3 SSX games, and they completely blow this game out of the water. With superior graphics, sound, controls, replayability, multiplayer, and everything!!! IF you say you want a racing game, stick with the SSX series, you people are always saying that "1080 is for racers", complete bull crap, the day this can be called a racing game is the day I shave my head, and stick little novelty chickens to it with super glue. Yeah, maybe you get a different perception of speed with 1080 because of some blurring effects, but does that really matter? NO! Ssx's racing style is like no other. Great feel of speed WITHOUT cheesy blurr effects, a style that can be combined to fit tricks into it if you want to race. IE tricking to get boost. Uhh.. Where else to hate... The characters... How crappy is this? Have you people even TRIED any of the ssx games? hu? Thats what I thought. Your all stupid for thinking this game is any good. okay, lets compare. SSX - Fully customizable characters. 1080 - Nothing. SSX - Great amount of replayability. 1080 - NOTHING. SSX - Slits the throat of all the other sports games out there. 1080 - Cowers in the corner while SSX goes on it's killing rampage. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews