Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. 76
    Flaws considered, this is still the best Batman videogame to come out in two generations and there's a lot for both the comic book and movie fans to enjoy.
  2. Unfortunately, the gameplay feels too much like a mishmash of several other well-known gaming franchises and ends up overly simplistic.
  3. The Batmobile levels alone will keep you well entertained and the game captures the film's dark mood well enough. This one certainly deserves a weekend rental for sure.
  4. It stays true to the movie but at the expense of repetition and a convoluted storyline that tries to tie in all the filler. It's still a good game for anyone looking for an interactive movie that doesn't require much practice or skill.
  5. Is it great? Heck no. Does it offer little substance, but an enjoyable handful of thrills? It does, more often than not. [Aug 2005, p.97]
  6. 60
    It features some excellent graphics and audio production, as well as some of the best voiceover work to date. However, this can't make up for the frustrating gameplay, which tries to focus on stealth, combat, and platforming, yet doesn't manage to do any of these particularly well.
  7. 80
    The training levels are a little tedious, but serves it purpose to have you naturally thinking and reacting as if you're Batman by the heart of the game.
  8. If you are a fan of the Batman, you should play this game in some form, as it is one of the better representations of the comic hero in quite some time.
  9. Although its blend of stealth and action is clever, it's also derivative and boring.
  10. 65
    The stealth fails, however, in at least two significant ways. The first is a near-total lack of choice: there's almost always one prescribed way to navigate a given situation, and player improvisations are promptly curtailed by unsustainable gunfire.
  11. With extremely linear gameplay, a relatively flawed fear mechanic and basic combat system, Batman really isn't breaking a sweat in this title.
  12. 60
    A reasonably engaging, yet perfectly average experience--much like most summer blockbusters.
  13. Where the game really succeeds, however, beyond providing a robust and solid, if unassuming model of explorative stealth and attack, is in fulfilling that old and oft-forgotten criterion - putting the gamer inside the movie. [Aug 2005, p.95]
  14. In the end or in the beginning if you like, Batman Begins is a good game, just falling short of great due to the linearity.
  15. The decision to go stealth was a good one and even though scripted and prompted, the gameplay hits the broad mark.
  16. It's too simplistic. While the game gives the illusion of Splinter Cell-style freedom in how you want to take out your enemies, Batman only really ever has one course of action: knock something over, scare the bad guys into dropping their guns, then come in punching and kicking.
  17. If you enjoyed the newest Batman movie and want to "play" it in game form, Batman Begins will satisfy your inner batty desires.
  18. Requiring only five to seven hours to finish, and having virtually no replay value, only the most dedicated fans should own Batman Begins.
  19. We're crossing our fingers that the next Batman title lets us play the comic book hero like we really want to. [Aug 2005, p.80]
  20. A game that has a great set of concepts, but inevitably falls short once you realize there's not much to it, and that you're essentially traveling along a linear path and repeating the same process over and over again until you reach the end, with your only occasional relief being the driving sessions.
  21. A run of the mill stealth title, borrowing gameplay elements from other titles in the genre, and it does nothing to expand or deepen them. The extra features such as fear and Batmobile action stages are automated when they should be intuitively controllable by the player.
  22. You've basically got a barely interactive "Splinter Cell for Dummies." [Sept 2005, p.91]
  23. With all of the risks developers have been willing to take lately on properties like "Psychonauts" and "Killer 7," it's really painful when a product comes along and unabashedly cribs from other people's notes. Batman Begins doesn't have a genuine bone in its body.
  24. Batman Begins feels more like work than fun. Look at Spider-Man 2 to see how superhero games should be done. [NGC]
  25. 70
    Not the best game ever, but one of the better movie based games and easily one of the better Batman games in recent history.
  26. The production values are outstanding.
  27. The game is repetitive, easy, short, and offers nothing new to the genre besides the introduction of the fear meter. But even that is misused as you can only put fear into enemies by doing what the games tells you to do, not what you want to do.
  28. 75
    They've almost got the formula, the look and style of the game was perfect for the Dark Knight, but they seem to have forgotten that Batman is a detective. I don't need to be lead through the game by my hand, let me try to figure out my environment on my own, that would have been more Batman's style.
  29. Unless you are a true comic fan and know nothing about games, avoid this title like avoiding the Scarecrow's neurotoxin. Instead, save your money from the rental and see the movie, which far exceeds what this game presents.
  30. While this rises above its predecessors, its true potential is hampered by restricted game mechanics.
  31. Batman Begins isn't just a good game, it's two great games that play great together. When you're the caped crusader, it's an action game in the mold of "Splinter Cell"... Then, when you're driving the Batmobile, the game morphs into "Burnout," with you knocking cars off the road as you careen through traffic.
  32. 100
    Longtime Bat-gamers can consider Batman Begins the cave-engineered antidote to the Bat-crap that's been dropping on consoles in recent years.
  33. Compromised because you've pretty much seen and played the game before. Fans will see the adventure through, but many players will find their attention wandering.
  34. The sound is just as good as the visuals, mainly because the actors from the film lend their voices to the game.
  35. While the storytelling is poor, the game does an excellent job of evoking the film's ambience, with striking visuals even better than those in the movie. The game's use of light as it streams through broken boards into a dark room is reminiscent of the wonderful art direction of the first "Splinter Cell" game.
  36. At least it's easy on the eyes and ears: Batman Begins looks remarkably good, from twilight environments that make for a spooky Gotham City to some surprisingly impressive character models.
  37. EA is only good at making games if it incorporates some type of ball, and the movies are still far better than the games.
  38. Despite its limitations Batman Begins is an okay-ish action/adventure game, which has excellent production values. The voice acting is excellent and helps to make the game feel and sound very authentic compared to the movie. This game certainly is no "Catwoman"! [July 2005, p.59]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I used to play this all the time as a kid and I just recently dusted it off again. It is amazing how much higher my expectations are forI used to play this all the time as a kid and I just recently dusted it off again. It is amazing how much higher my expectations are for graphics these days. I remember playing this nearly a decade ago and being amazed by it.
    The graphics do still stand up, but there are some odd moments. This game really shines by making you feel like you are Batman. The levels are very vey linear and by that I mean you have one and only one way to play through each level there isn't even a detour you can make through a level. You have to get rid of all the enemies in the same fashion.
    I think this game doesn't get enough credit. I really firmly believe that this game was a the great starting point for the Arkham video games. There are a lot of similarities between them.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    It's a slow progressive game that defines a mixed taste , while Batman ( in that time) didn't had a fantastic moment in the gaming industry .It's a slow progressive game that defines a mixed taste , while Batman ( in that time) didn't had a fantastic moment in the gaming industry . Batman Begins , begins a good reputation to the grim hero . Full Review »
  3. BlueFalcon
    Jul 30, 2005
    4
    The graphics and presentation are nice, but the gameplay is seriously dumb. But I could see someone who hasn't played many games getting The graphics and presentation are nice, but the gameplay is seriously dumb. But I could see someone who hasn't played many games getting some enjoyment. Full Review »