Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Stands out in the action-adventure genre by providing well devised combat and level design meshed with a great Buffy story. If you're not familiar with the TV show, you can still have a hell of a good time dusting vampires and kicking demon ass.
  2. 85
    Not just a way to make a quick buck off of diehard Buffy fans, it's a game that is as deep and fun to play as anything else on the system.
  3. While the A.I. could’ve been stronger and there could’ve been more with the playable characters, Chaos Bleeds does a great job of appealing to fans and newcomers to the show alike. Adventure fans should look at sinking their teeth into this game.
  4. Not only does the game look better than its predecessor but it outperforms it in nearly every way: the puzzles are even more intelligent..., the fighting is on par and benefits from multiple characters, the difficulty scale has been skillfully balanced. [Sept 2003, p.70]
  5. 83
    The puzzles are more interesting, the learning curve isn't as steep, and the opportunity to take control of all of Buffy's pals mixes up gameplay nicely. [Oct 2003, p.50]
  6. An excellent, well-put-together action adventure game that most fans of the genre should be able to enjoy and any Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan will love.
  7. The puzzles are basic lock-and-key challenges, but the action is lots of fun and the dialogue is spot-on Buffy. [Nov 2003, p.149]
  8. 80
    On the whole, the puzzle construction is logical and rewarding, but it has major lapses of logic that prove maddening. The multiplayer mode is where Chaos Bleeds really shines.
  9. Splintered wooden furniture doubles as vampire vaporizing shivs to expand on your already wide variety of exterminating capabilities.
  10. Obviously there is a definite audience ready to lap up the action herein and they will enjoy the chance to explore various areas of Sunnydale, all of which have been recreated perfectly.
  11. If you’re looking for a well executed third-person game that doesn’t involve shoot-dodges or bullet-time, then Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds is worth checking out. For all Buffy worshippers, Chaos Bleeds should be on your must-play list.
  12. 77
    As fun as the original Buffy game on Xbox, but not quite as tight. The AI is a bit too forgiving at times turning the game into more of a button-masher than it needs to be.
  13. Devilishly fun for the first couple hours. Hours three through ten, however, tend to drag on.
  14. This game has an extremely solid foundation, but there's not a whole lot to it.
  15. Unfortunately, overall I found the game to be frustrating more often than fun. The problems were just too much to overcome.
  16. Like a mediocre Buffy episode: Decent plot, predictable Scooby-gang hijinks, and lots of fighting action and bad vampire puns... It also throws in...the iffy graphics engine that produces lifeless character movement and collision issues. [Oct 2003, p.134]
  17. It's simply not as good as the first Buffy game and suffers from loose control and repetitive gameplay. I guess hot chicks and vampires don't automatically make things awesome.
  18. When you reach a dead end, it's usually just a case of retrieving a generic puzzle item from a conveniently inconvenient hiding place before continuing. Cue several minutes of primitive platforming and beating up the undead with a functional combat system before the next 'mash the Triangle button until you find something interactive' session begins. [Nov 2003, p.126]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best video games i have ever played- because I'm like the most major buffy fans in the world this game appealed to me- the game play is superb its a little scary in places but not horrific like silent hill etc. It's wonderful game 10/10 Full Review »
  2. SamD.
    Oct 12, 2005
    8
    Some levels get repetetive but overall a good game.
  3. LaurenT.
    Aug 15, 2004
    10
    This is a great game!!! It kept me entertained for hours on end. And it took me quite a while to complete. There are great fighting moves and combos! Over 200 in fact!!! And the characters even talk while you fight! There are great weapons like a stake (of course) spikes, shovels, hellfire guns, Holy water soakers, crossbows, axes and many more! This game is not just for Buffy fans, I recomend it to other people aswell. I loved this game and I think its the best game I have ever played in my life!!! If you have'nt got it you need to go out and buy it right NOW!!! Your missing out on loads if you don't!!! Full Review »