User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. happypappy
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    If yu don't like this one chill'en, then yu doesn't know how to have fun.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    It's horrible. Boring, lame stupid. I mean dear god. It's so so stupid.
  3. Gherty
    May 5, 2005
    10
    As fun a time as you can have on a video game console. The combo/scoring system is deep and will have you up all night playing one more game to nail a higher score. The replay is endless, the game is gorgeous, and the controls are intuitive and hella fun.
  4. FergusP.
    Apr 22, 2007
    8
    An absolute triumph. What you need with this sort of game is an easy concept, easily accessible and very fun gameplay. This game is just a quick knock-about but God a quick play has never been so satisfying or rewarding.
  5. WouterB.
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    No flaws, no dull or none-enjoyable moments, innovation, great graphics, good replay value (it's not like 3 hours), good sound and a lot of variation. Buy now.
  6. Supersean
    Mar 13, 2005
    9
    The Length is a little bit of a problem, but the medals are fun to collect because you actually get something for them Unlike Assault. Awesome Graphics, tons of fun, Love those BONGOS!
  7. EdsC.
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    This was a pretty fun game though i've been, overall, disappointed with GC games, this was quite entertaining. The graphis weren't bad and the congos are just cool. Also, there is just so much time you can spend on this game since there are 40 some levels to unlock. Definitely a good game.
  8. MasH.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I think its a fun game it is for people who like action.
  9. PeterM.
    Feb 12, 2005
    9
    An absolute blast from start to finish. Great graphics great fun GREAT GAME. As with most Nintendo games not too tough to initilally clear but quite hard to get all golds on every level. The levels are varied and keep your interest the first game to keep me up past midnight for months.
  10. Sam
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    An entertaining, frustrating, beatiful, and charming little game. It's awesomly entertaining due to its unique play style, although it could be a bit better, but worth a look for fans of nintendo, Donkey Kong, and Donkey Konga and those disappointed by that piece of sh.. Virtua Quest.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    I love donkey kong but this game definiately isnt the greatest dk title. thankfully though its better then konga. So the whole idea of using the bongos for a platformer seems bizarre and, it is really. but it somehow works, it is quite good fun even. Graphics: Not great, could be a lot better, but there are some nice environments even if they were copied and pasted. Sound: Not veryI love donkey kong but this game definiately isnt the greatest dk title. thankfully though its better then konga. So the whole idea of using the bongos for a platformer seems bizarre and, it is really. but it somehow works, it is quite good fun even. Graphics: Not great, could be a lot better, but there are some nice environments even if they were copied and pasted. Sound: Not very memorable, it has its classic dk tunes but lacks what other dk titles have. The sfx and what not are quite nice and fit nicely.
    Story: Its DK so imma leave this.
    Gameplay: It seems a little negative but really its all down to this. Its good fun, the new way to control feels a little odd at first but weirdly becomes natural quickly and really is a breath of fresh air. i have to say though, on multiple occasions i had torn skin off my finger. i was not playing aggresively so i may just have weak skin. this was frustrating tho as it meant i couldnt play for at least another 2 days. The game is short but made me want to complete it and get it over with near the end. this was probably due to not much variety in levels. saying that i think the riding the bull levels were the most fun ive had in platforming since the karts in dkc.

    So the gameplay makes up for its "meh" other categories. So i give it an 8.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 90
    Jungle Beat was never going to be a bad game but the innovative control scheme and the deep combo-mechanic have elevated it to a genuinely excellent one.
  2. A very polished, well made game that breaks new ground in platforming; I highly recommend this game for anyone seeking a change from the traditional platformer or anyone who doesn't have a great interest in video games to begin with.
  3. Jungle Beat may be the only game to make good use of the bongos, but it does one hell of a job.