Donkey Kong Jungle Beat Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Feel the beat of an all-new Donkey Kong adventure as you drum your way through wild jungle kingdoms. In Donkey Kong Jungle Beat, you must use the DK Bongo Controller to guide the ape through dangerous environments rife with enemies and obstacles. Donkey Kong's actions, which include walking, jumping, and attacking, depend on where you hit both bongo drums. Use your hands to battle beasts, collect bananas, put together combo strings, box with rivals, and even ride animals. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. It's so intuitive, it's like your brain is moving the big ape directly. [May 2005, p.88]
  2. A new style of platforming that may catch on, but since it is so short I would suggest a rental only for this one.
  3. It is a charming romp through dazzling jungle environments via glistening ice chambers, volcanic caverns and aquatic wonderlands. But sadly, many players will complete Jungle Beat in just a few hours.
  4. Game designers talk of emphasising character through dialogue or animation, but his may be the first incidence of a game emphasising it through a control method. Its immediacy means you'll share every inch of his swaggering, gleeful, unstoppable violence. [Feb 2005, p.78]
  5. 80
    Pass the bongos back and forth between stages and have a blast drumming Donkey Kong on his journey.
  6. The game lacks depth, and is just too short to be enjoyed.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. MasH.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I think its a fun game it is for people who like action.
  2. Gherty
    May 5, 2005
    10
    As fun a time as you can have on a video game console. The combo/scoring system is deep and will have you up all night playing one more game to nail a higher score. The replay is endless, the game is gorgeous, and the controls are intuitive and hella fun. Expand
  3. happypappy
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    If yu don't like this one chill'en, then yu doesn't know how to have fun.
  4. PeterM.
    Feb 12, 2005
    9
    An absolute blast from start to finish. Great graphics great fun GREAT GAME. As with most Nintendo games not too tough to initilally clear but quite hard to get all golds on every level. The levels are varied and keep your interest the first game to keep me up past midnight for months. Expand
  5. Supersean
    Mar 13, 2005
    9
    The Length is a little bit of a problem, but the medals are fun to collect because you actually get something for them Unlike Assault. Awesome Graphics, tons of fun, Love those BONGOS! Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    I love donkey kong but this game definiately isnt the greatest dk title. thankfully though its better then konga. So the whole idea of using the bongos for a platformer seems bizarre and, it is really. but it somehow works, it is quite good fun even. Graphics: Not great, could be a lot better, but there are some nice environments even if they were copied and pasted. Sound: Not very memorable, it has its classic dk tunes but lacks what other dk titles have. The sfx and what not are quite nice and fit nicely.
    Story: Its DK so imma leave this.
    Gameplay: It seems a little negative but really its all down to this. Its good fun, the new way to control feels a little odd at first but weirdly becomes natural quickly and really is a breath of fresh air. i have to say though, on multiple occasions i had torn skin off my finger. i was not playing aggresively so i may just have weak skin. this was frustrating tho as it meant i couldnt play for at least another 2 days. The game is short but made me want to complete it and get it over with near the end. this was probably due to not much variety in levels. saying that i think the riding the bull levels were the most fun ive had in platforming since the karts in dkc.

    So the gameplay makes up for its "meh" other categories. So i give it an 8.
    Collapse
  7. [Anonymous]
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    It's horrible. Boring, lame stupid. I mean dear god. It's so so stupid.

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.