Mario Party 7 Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You can play more than 80 new minigames in the most recent Mario-themed party game, Mario Party 7. Mario and pals needed some time off, but they forgot to invite Bowser on their cruise. You can battle against an angry Bowser or up to seven of your friends on a single GameCube system. Mario Party 7 includes a few new characters and brings back microphone support from Mario Party 6. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. The game is very challenging, and trying to collect all of the mini-games is rewarding. I will be playing this one even on my Revolution next year.
  2. Adds some nice new features to the tried-and-true formula. [Jan 2006, p.110]
  3. The seventh iteration crams even more mini-games than you care to count, but sadly shies away from offering something truly innovative for loyal Mario fans.
  4. It's not dramatically different from Mario Party 6 or, frankly, any of the other Mario Party games, but as a cheery collection of simple pick-up-and-play minigames that's well suited for younger and more-casual players, it still works.
  5. Basically Mario Party 6, but with less fun and [fewer] new ideas.
  6. 60
    Doesn't offer up anything different here, with the exception of some new minigames and a freshly themed game board.
  7. It's such a shame that Nintendo - the creator of Mario Kart, which is arguably the most fun you can have with platonic friends - just can't seem to sort Mario Party's problems out, even for the seventh instalment in the series. Roll on number eight, eh.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. MelissaT.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  2. 160R
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    One thing some casuals don't understand is why some gamers pick Nintendo's console instead of a playstation. Well, of course one of the main points is the "play with friends support" with a great quantity of games featuring 4 players on 1 screen (Mario Parties, 1080º: Avalanche, Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles, F-Zero GX, Metroid Prime 2, Geist, Harvest Moon: Poem of Happiness, Custom Robo, Legend of Zelda Four Swords, Kururin Squash, Pac-Man VS, Phantasy Star Online Episode III: C.A.R.D. Revolution, Pokemon Colosseum or XD, Kirby Air Ride, Wave Race Blue Storm, Viewtiful Joe Red Hot Rumble, WWE Day of Reckoning 1 or 2, Tube Slider, Wario Ware: Mini Games Inc., Super Smash Bros. Melee, StarFox Assault, Mario Power Tennis, Nintendo Puzzle Collection, Naruto 3 or 4, Mario Kart Double Dash, Donkey Kongas, Mr Driller Drill Land,...) for name some of the exclusive GC 4 player games. Well, Mario Party 7 makes a big step and offers 8 player support in the same screen at same time with only 4 controllers. That's nothing new because it really appeared in Micromachines 64, based on the GameGear's micromachine multiplayer (and I'm sure some other game have used this idea) but it's really worth that the Mario Party saga uses this idea. If Mario Parties were funny with 3 friends, think about 7 friends. If there is something bad in this game isn't the 1 player mode because it's really a multiplayer game. I see 1 player mode just like an addition instead of a game mode. There are some details could be improved like (in my opinion) get Waluigi out of the saga (I hate it), and definitily remove the weird capsule balls that makes the game in boards slower and gives more chances to luck than hability. Board game seems too slow to you? Then play directly to the minigames, of course you can. Collapse
  3. JamesS.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    This is the best in the seris especially with the new 8 player mode!
  4. May 20, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome! The graphics are great for the game's time period, the minigames are very original, and the game board integration is well planes. I also love the 4-team party mode. This is my favorite of all of the Mario Party games! Expand
  5. J.L.Toledo
    Jul 21, 2006
    5
    Waths wrong with nintendo? Are they losing the creativity so thats why they keep repeating the same game with the same things? They are just using Mario so they can win money, the microphone is not fun and you will just usit once. And finally, the game takes forever, its not even a party, i will call i t "Mario wait in the line 7". Expand
  6. JackH
    May 24, 2008
    3
    Unfortunately, this is a sad repeat of a tiresome series. It probably would have been best if Nintendo had stopped with the third Mario Party. But as long as there are new gamers, there will be a new Mario Party, so there will probably be more Mario Party games than Super Bowls by 2030. You know, I'm not even sure why I bought this game in the first place. Why did I expect there to be anything new or interesting about this version? This is truly Mario's low point. Even Mario himself would be baffled as to why there are 7 (SEVEN!!!) games in this series. Don't get me wrong, I like Nintendo, but I think that they need to put an end to this. To those who gave this game a 10, this is your first Mario Party game, isn't it? I for one know that this game is a repeat of an OK game. Even back when I actually liked this series (Mario Party 4), I most certainly would not have given it a 10. An 8, maybe, but not a 10. What's wrong with you all? This whole game is based on LUCK. Basically, that means that the single player is pointless. The only reason to play this game is for the mini games, and 1) you need to play single player to even get the mini games, and 2) not even half of the mini games are any good anyway. The only reason that I would bring out Mario Party 7 now is if I were desperate to entertain company, and I have much better games for that. That is, unless I have an ignorant 4 year old over, which has like a 1 in 1,999,999,999 chance of happening. Plus, what makes this game worse is that there is no final boss battle! The boss battle against Bowser in Mario Party 4 was awesome. It took me a while to finally beat that guy on his evil cube of death. Heck, even Mario Party 5 wasn't that bad. 6 and 7 have been awful, though, and they make me have nightmares at night about a possible Mario Party 50. Man, that gives me the shivers. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.