Pokemon Channel GameCube

Pokemon Channel Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For those who have always wished for more Pokémon programming on TV, here's a game that gives the Pokémon their own channel. Pokémon Channel lets you spend some quality time with Pikachu watching loads of Pokémon-style shows, including a never-before-seenFor those who have always wished for more Pokémon programming on TV, here's a game that gives the Pokémon their own channel. Pokémon Channel lets you spend some quality time with Pikachu watching loads of Pokémon-style shows, including a never-before-seen DVD-quality animated feature starring the popular Pichu Bros. Identify Pokémon on Quiz Wobbuffet, exercise in Smoochum's Shape-up, and get the latest news from Psyduck and Meowth on Pokémon News Flash. Pokémon Channel also features collectible Nice Cards. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. 85
    The channels may not be exciting, but in a child’s eyes, they will be quite entrancing.
  2. Nintendo Power
    72
    Hours of fun for Pokemon fans. [Feb 2004, p.150]
  3. It's fairly short, the graphics aren't too flashy, but it has an irresistible charm. And it comes with a full length cartoon. You'll keep coming back to see what the next bizarre channel will be.
  4. netjak
    59
    A game that already has a limited target audience and it is further restricted by its one-dimensional gameplay.
  5. While there are some interesting elements to the game, it's ultimately undone by poor execution that ends up bringing down the whole experience. So, if you ever thought it would be cool to hang out with Pikachu, think again.
  6. 50
    Makes watching TV boring. I can hardly find enough compelling gameplay to call this a game. It's far too passive an experience to keep my interest for more than a few minutes.
  7. 20
    A hollow, stripped-down experience.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 30, 2014
    10
    Only reason to play is for Jirachi. I got 5, was worth it
    #yoloswag #Jirachilife #10fromIGN #10/10IGN #MakinWishes #TV #TViii
    Only reason to play is for Jirachi. I got 5, was worth it
    #yoloswag #Jirachilife #10fromIGN #10/10IGN #MakinWishes #TV #TViii
    §§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This game might look simplistic and childish at first, but when you start to appreciate it for what it is (a kids game), you begin to see howThis game might look simplistic and childish at first, but when you start to appreciate it for what it is (a kids game), you begin to see how fun it can be. The Pichu Bros. Short is a welcome bonus for those who like the animé. There's plenty of fan service here, from the infamous quizzes to legendary Pokémon cameos (Celebi and Jirachi, anyone?). For the kids, an outstandingly fun game. Adults, please do something better with your time. Expand
  3. May 16, 2014
    7
    Even though when I look at this game now, I don't really think of it as a game... But because this is supposed to be a kids game, I think itsEven though when I look at this game now, I don't really think of it as a game... But because this is supposed to be a kids game, I think its good for what it is! When I was a kid, I used to love this, it used to always keep me entertained, so for what its supposed to be, it does the trick MOST of the time. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    Definitely aimed at the young Pokemon fan base. It includes an exclusive Pichu Bros. episode (broken up into 5 parts) and several other shows,Definitely aimed at the young Pokemon fan base. It includes an exclusive Pichu Bros. episode (broken up into 5 parts) and several other shows, like a game show, news channel, and a shopping channel that you get to watch with Pikachu. However very few of these shows will you actually want to watch more than once. The game also encourages light collecting, and extremely light exploring. By exploring the different areas you get to meet other Pokemon and answer questions they ask you so you can get nice cards (one of the games collectibles). All in all it's not the most exciting thing ever, but younger Pokemaniacs will love this and it will provide countless hours of enjoyment for them, as for older Pokemaniacs it's worth a rental just to play through it and see what it has to offer. Collapse
  5. Jul 28, 2016
    7
    In metascore I would give this a 71. The game is boring but it is relaxing and if your REALLY bored this game maybe good and plus the game isIn metascore I would give this a 71. The game is boring but it is relaxing and if your REALLY bored this game maybe good and plus the game is cute. Yea. Expand
  6. RyanM.
    Dec 30, 2003
    7
    Very unique, but face it. Pokemon needs to stop riding a dead horse. This game is interesting, but probably just too weird for people.
  7. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    Wow, this is a disappointment. This is not a game. All you do is just watch TV on one stupid video game. And the clouds are always on theWow, this is a disappointment. This is not a game. All you do is just watch TV on one stupid video game. And the clouds are always on the screen, making hard to see the videos. Don't buy! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#41 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#32 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003