• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Nov 10, 2002
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Hm, while not as great as other entries, this game is still worthwhile. Not the best RE by any means, but certaily better than most of them.
    Graphics look good, sounds good. It's a good game.
  2. May 28, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. Another great resident evil game.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved it. Fantastic graphics. Great new creature designs, and some of the best leads the series has had together at the same time. Billy and Rebecca work very well together and the new partner system was fun to play with. Many fans didn't really like the partner swapping system, but I though it breathed some fresh air into the series. Overall: One of my favorites of the series and it is a real shame just how under appreciated this games is. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Billy's character was so one-dimensional to me. Rebecca on the other hand, was quite impressive in the way that she was so fragile and naive (keeping in mind that she's only about 18 in the game). The controls are awful for the whole partner system. I'd love to see this re-released as a 2-Player game.
  5. May 20, 2013
    10
    Resident Evil 0 is one of the best games that has been released for the Nintendo GameCube. In terms of graphics, I would put Resident Evil in top 25 best games for GameCube and it should be played at night to see how excellent the graphics are. The controls, music and story are good but I like unlocking the revolver by playing the minigame Leech Hunters.
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    I only have a couple of problem with this game.But apart from that, it's solid. You no longer have to shoot a zombie 8 times with a pistol to kill it. The puzzles are good, and it portrays the gloomy nature very well. The 2 character aspect was pretty cool. But I have some problems. The inventory is too small, and WHY THE HELL DID THEY GET RID OF THE ITEM BOXES? But one big problem I have is it feels like a copy paste of the remake of the original. But it's still a great game. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    The same old formula make this game brilliant G4TV, with great graphics, sounds, gameplay and with the possibility to control two characters at the same time makes the game more difficult and better.
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I always felt this was a game that didn't need to be made,the story was convoluted,I didn't like the drop and swap item mechanic or swapping between characters at times,the visuals were good but there was a blandness about it,everything seemed brownish yellow.IMO it would have been better if the game just stared Billy,trying to tie in Bravo team just has you asking more questions,in fact im surprised there wasn't a scene at the end of RE0 where Rebecca losses her memory as she never talks about the events of Zero ever again´╗┐ Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Visually speaking, Resident Evil 0 is the best-looking game in the series to date. Players can expect photo-realistic environments, smoothly animated characters and creepy lighting effects.
  2. This one is actually a brand new game, with significant changes. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  3. Where it scores above other games is simply the emotions it inspires.