• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 30, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 182

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Probably the best survival horror game ever made.
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    I am a huge fan of the old-school resident evil series (1-3) and this gaI really believe this game should be the benchmark and starndard for all horror games. Even a simple zombie stalking the corridors would give you the chills as regardless of how much weapons you have available to you, you still feel so much underpowered and it has never been so good to feel that way in a game these days. From start to finish i dreaded every corner I turned and every door I opened. If you are the gamer that enjoyed Resident Evil 1 released in the 90's then you are in for a shock. All in all I would recommend this game to everyone who isn't easily frightened and strongly hope this is the standard Capcom will reach to regarding the Resident Evil series life after Shinji Mikami. Expand
  3. May 4, 2013
    9
    Best remake ever. All of the additions are of essence. Graphics hold up really nice even today (11 years after release). Brings back all of the chills of the original and even adds a really great sidestory.

    Controls feel clunky these days and the voice acting is from a B movie (although better than the original). Still best in the series... probably.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. The atmosphere is so great, and it terrified me as a child. The characters are truly dynamic but cliche at the same time. I like that they give Jill lots of extra skills to make up for her lesser strength and stamina. Also, the puzzles were so challenging the first time I played it, but it just made the game that much more enjoyable once I actually figured out the gist of all the puzzles. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    This is by far one of the scariest games that i have ever played. When i bought it i was expecting nothing was going to be change just a graphics boost but boy i was wrong (well some things were sort of the same from my previous play through on the PS1) there were some new puzzles which i liked and new zombies which scare the crap out of me this game. To make the review short i would recommend this title to any horror fan out there give it a shot. :) Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    A fantastic remake. To be honest, I think this is better than the original in every regard, graphics, voice acting, combat, atmosphere, etc. pretty much everything. Most importantly it generally stays true to the original, with few minor alteration. New elements are just an improvement. The Zombie shark is just AWESOME!! Overall: Just utterly brilliant. I love this game, I wish all remakes would be given this kind of care and attention. Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    One of my personal favorites. Its a simple but engaging story filled with choices and goals that could change the fate and outcome of the characters( to my knowledge this is the ONLY RE game that does this). If you like the tank controls and classic camera angles then you'll like the game play. I've played most RE games but this one is no doubt the scariest. This game is tough, but its compelling and truly makes you feel the need to survive. And finally, the graphics....they are stylized beautifully. They truly make the game atmospheric and creepy and they are what EVERY horror game should look like.

    This game is fantastic, if you like horror, you must play it.
    Expand
  8. ewm
    Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Rebirth resident evil -super riddle and graphics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Best resident evil from all !!!!!!Must buy all fans on GAMECUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Just played this game today. This is a true RE game, Not RE5-6. The fixed cameras which boosted the overall atmosphere. Moody and beautiful soundtrack. The infamous controls. Very limited items. The puzzles. Zombies that could turn into crimson heads if you didn't burned them/decapitate them or blew out their knee caps. Increased random Zombie encouters on harder difficulties. Real Survival & Invincible enemies. This was i.m.o. the best Resident Evil. Resident Evil devs today must buy a Gamecube with this game and Zero, play the crap out of it and then make a new RE game. We want to go through hell again! At least I want to after DS2 Hard Core difficulty :D Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil is a real non-linear, full of sharp and scary moments.Eta masterpiece. Plus many endings and punch atmosphere terror.Game one in a billion!
  11. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Loved this game. This might be the best game ive played.i love all the horror,puzzles,and mysteries in this game. That is what makes resident evil...resident evil.i think its the best resident evil
  12. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This game, even by todays standards, is still amazing. The graphics are still some of the best i have ever seen and the over scare factor is great. This isnt just a remake, its a reimagining. There are so many differences to the original, and so much added in. The game is just great. You have to burn zombies or decap them or they'll come back as crimson heads and they are tough. The new defensive items are a big help to escape getting hurt and the game is still just so good looking its impressive. Why cant they make all games look like this? The atmosphere is fantastic and the controls ( though most people dont like them) are great because thats how this game is meant to be played. I really suggest this game to anyone whos a fan of survival horror just cause of how great it really is. Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    This along side RE4 are the ultimate Resident Evil games with Resident Evil 2 not to far behind. This full on Remake updates everything from the original, whilst adding tons of new features and areas. The results is that REmake improves over the original in every single way. Amazing visuals and updated acting/cutscenes. This game is a classic within a classic.
  14. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This is, in my opinion, a shining example of a remake done right. It stays almost completely parallel to the original except with updated graphics, cinematics, and voice acting. None more was really needed, as the original resident evil's core was just fine and didn't need to change... with the exception of the bad gameplay mechanics.
  15. May 27, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece. When I think of Resident Evil, this is the game I think of. The epitome of Resident Evil. This game is still masterful today and one of the best if not the best survival horror game. I daydream about this game so much. One of the best experience ever that will stick with you for a lifetime.
  16. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Best RE game, hands down. Excellent atmosphere, great visuals, tight controls. Kept me on the edge of my seat all the time, and still do reruns from time to time. Amazing, one of Capcom's last great games.
  17. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    By today's standards this is by far not a perfect game... the controls need getting used to... the writing is sometimes worse than in old Norris movies... but this is an oldy in trendy clothes... and despite all of its archaic shortcomings this is a great game - if you like the Resident Evil games, that is. After playing only Resident Evil 5 I really wanted to expierience the older games, the origins... and I got what I wanted. This is of course a completly diffrent expierience than the newer games. It is more about building a suspensefull atmosphere, where even one random zombie encounter could be your last. The music supports this almost on every occasion (the exeption is the horrible shark fight score)!
    The biggest issue I had, was the terrible inventory... not enough slots... which cqused endless needless backtracking, the same is to say about saving the game... those limited saves are a real pain. But in the end you get an interesting and suspensfull origins story on characters you care... couse if you don't care for them... move along... this might not be the right game for you.
    Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I am a huge Resident Evil fan. I've been playing the game since it first came out on the Playstation back in 1996. When I heard that they were remaking the first game, I first thought that it would be horrible. Remakes usually are. However when I played this game, I got an enormous rush of fun and fear that I had not felt since the first time I played the original. This game is pretty much flawless. The story is still great, and the little expansions to the story they added between this and the original were great as well. The graphics blew me away, considering it is coming from the Gamecube. The sound is great and the music is perfect. Everything comes together smoothly and creates one of the scariest and best games I've ever played. The only flaw I saw was the controls. The controls do retain the stationary camera scheme and the controls do take getting used too. As a Resident Evil fan though, the controls didn't bother me, and instead gave me a feeling of deja vu from my days on the original game. I do sympathize though with people who do criticize the controls, because I too think it is time to move on to a better control scheme with moving and shooting. I rarely give a 10 in my reviews, but I will not hesitate with this game. This game definitely deserves a 10 and Capcom has proven that remakes are not always a bad idea. Expand
  19. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    The overall ambiance of this game is astounding! Though the camera angles can get annoying sometimes, this game is definitely one of the best survival-horror titles I have EVER played. The plot, music and visual effects are some of the best I've ever seen on the GameCube.
  20. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    I loved this game and was one of the most compelling reasons to buy a Gamecube and if you own a Wii now you should try this game out. The graphics aged well because at the time they were simply incredible.
  21. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing remake. Has the 180 turn, lightning effects, redesigned cutscenes/.graphics. Okay, the bad voice acting was what made RE1 good but revamped it's just better. Literally, as a GC exclusive it's owrth getting one just for this game. I have played all of the other Resident Evils and this is definitely the best. Jill
  22. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I love how they redid resident evil 1 but, I felt like the game was a real challenge wear the zombies come back to life if you didn't head shot them or burn them on fire. Also trying to find ammo was very difficult but, overall i loved the game and the whole resident evil story. Resident evil 5 is a joke. Love most resident evil games obviously :P
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. This remake could almost be described as a new game. But is it really Resident Evil without the laughably bad voice acting? [Feb 2003, p.96]
  2. An incredibly impressive re-imagining of a gaming classic.
  3. The graphics are some of the best we have ever witnessed in a game to date, the storyline has been refined giving you more information about Umbrella and STARS, the game itself is pure genius.