Shadow the Hedgehog GameCube

Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation toThe world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation to combat your foes. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    An enjoyable, high-octane adventure. Naysayers be damned. [Jan 2006, p.111]
  2. At its worst, Shadow is a solid platformer with enough fun to keep hardcore Sonic fans in one place for a few days. At its best, it's an engaging gameplay experience that isn't jaded by its otherwise glaring storyline-related setbacks.
  3. The choice of speed and rehashed gameplay are what drag the game down. Shadow the Hedgehog is still a fun game for Sonic fans, but is too average to be really interesting to casual gamers.
  4. The action is also largely mindless, with a poor targeting system and a game camera that never quite follows the action the way you want it to.
  5. Shadow the Hedgehog fails to live up to its pedigree due to terrible controls, an uncooperative camera, and an overall lack of effort.
  6. AceGamez
    40
    The poor controls, tricky camera and an irritation-filled gaming experience is unfortunately what Shadow the Hedgehog is presented as, and this doesn't deserve to be found under too many Christmas tree's this year.
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 56
  2. Negative: 13 out of 56
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    I played this game when it first came and, and I was astounded by the stunning gameplay, and overall feel of the game. It allowed you to feelI played this game when it first came and, and I was astounded by the stunning gameplay, and overall feel of the game. It allowed you to feel the power that Shadow the Hedgehog had under his control, and it shifted the camera from Sonic, to the darker Shadow. As you can see, this is a very new review, and I just played it again for Nostalgia. It has held up to everything I remembered. Giving you a choice for each level, along with so many endings, and final levels. Shadow the Hedgehog, back when it first came out, left me longing for another game centered on Shadow, and when I replayed it, it gave me the same feeling. Why wasn't a sequel made for this game? Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may have lost their sense of. This is to all those who scraped or otherwise brutaliated this game. Get a life. Expand
  3. SamuelC.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    I understand that it's sometimes hard to control Shadow because of the controls, but this is a problem that can easily be forgotten due I understand that it's sometimes hard to control Shadow because of the controls, but this is a problem that can easily be forgotten due to great level design and the originality of finding the character's personality. Yes the game has guns and has nothing to do with the other Sonic games, but this is another type of game by Sega. Try it. You'll be happy. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    DECENT, It felt good, but not for the single player mode that once made me sick for being in stages too long, but I wish the multiplayer modeDECENT, It felt good, but not for the single player mode that once made me sick for being in stages too long, but I wish the multiplayer mode was online, considering the GameCube wasn't capable of it, hopefully it gets a sequel with online multiplayer! Expand
  5. May 6, 2011
    5
    Like the Sonic series itself in the mid 2000's, Shadow the Hedgehog flails under its amount of flaws. Pros: Fantastic visuals; excellent levelLike the Sonic series itself in the mid 2000's, Shadow the Hedgehog flails under its amount of flaws. Pros: Fantastic visuals; excellent level design; great FMVs; lots of extras/secrets to unlock. Cons: Terrible control and camera; disappointing graphics; lacks any kind of speed; horrendous multiplayer. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    It's okay I guess. But I had two major problems with it and no one of them is not the controls even though they were pretty bad. My main twoIt's okay I guess. But I had two major problems with it and no one of them is not the controls even though they were pretty bad. My main two problems with this game are Shadow and guns. The two really don't work out together right? My problem with Shadow is he swears frequently, but isn't this game rated E10+. Well apparently it shouldn't, because Shadow swears nearly every single time he gets hit and trust me you will get hit a lot. Now problem with the guns is basically self explanatory. Their guns what the heck are they doing in a Sonic/Shadow game I mean the ultimate life form needs guns to fight.
    Overall it's okay, but don't let kids play this
    Expand
  7. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    0
    The worst story of all time, forgettable music (In a Sonic game? Oh no...), terrible graphics that shame the 8-Bit systems, mission basedThe worst story of all time, forgettable music (In a Sonic game? Oh no...), terrible graphics that shame the 8-Bit systems, mission based structures that bore me, and the worst controls in a Sonic game, this game doesn't deserve the number of defenders it gets. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005