Smuggler's Run: Warzones GameCube

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Definitely shines in the single player mode with its generous amount of missions and a steady difficulty curve to keep you interested and wanting to play. The game itself just seems to scream fun.
  2. It truly is one of the Gamecube's diamonds in the rough.
  3. 90
    Despite its questionable ethical objectives, Warzones is simply a frantic driver.
  4. The game has enough extras, graphical improvements, and secrets that it does a great job just being itself and not another port.
  5. The massive levels are probably the highlight of the game and they themselves offer hours of fun just driving through enjoying the scenery.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    85
    For children of the 'Cube who've never smuggled, Warzones is a great deal. [Sept 2002, p.162]
  7. 84
    It's fun just to joyride around the huge environments. Anything you see, you can drive to. Of course, there are boundries, but the size of the levels is absolutely impressive.
  8. It really has the biggest environments of any game that I've ever seen.
  9. A solid "racing" game with good entertainment value. It has solid pick-up and play control, wide-open levels, good graphics and multiplayer options, and the return of FMV!
  10. It may be an old idea now and critics will argue that it's simply an updated Playstation 2 game but when it's this much fun it really doesn't matter.
  11. The only real problem with Warzones is one inherent to the series as a whole - you're always driving, and that's it. You never take to the skies or hop in a boat or mix-up the missions at all.
  12. GMR Magazine
    80
    An enhanced version of "Smuggler's Run 2," with new vehicles and an expanded multiplayer mode with support for four players. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  13. All the experience and toil Angel Studios went through for the Playstation 2 has created a thoroughly entertaining piece of work for the Gamecube.
  14. It's a great introduction for first-time smugglers, but those already familiar with the series won't find much new here.
  15. Game Informer
    78
    Compared to the intense and demanding levels in "Stuntman," it's a bit thin. However, accept Warzones for what it is and you'll have a fine time. [Sept 2002, p.84]
  16. GameNow
    75
    All very clear cut stuff, but simplicity is a big part of the game's appeal. [Sept 2002, p.46]
  17. Nintendo Power
    72
    The missions are short. It's perfect if you have a few minutes to kill and want something fun and mindless. [Aug 2002, p.145]
  18. The lack of endearing characters dosen't help the cause either – there is no empathy on your part as your character comes across as an extremely nasty person...a large slice of fun, but nothing special.
  19. 71
    If you've ever played either of the Smuggler's Run games on the PS2, then you've already played this game.
  20. Your all-terrain vehicles come equipped with oil slicks, smoke screens, and acid bombs that are so fun to use that it's hard to tell if it's more fun to use contraband or smuggle it.
  21. netjak
    65
    With some better graphics and sound this could have really been an impressive title.
  22. 60
    I have yet to understand what the big deal about delivering packages is.
  23. But in all honesty, this is a game I'd be embarrassed to own, and I own "WCW Nitro."

Awards & Rankings

38
53
#53 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    From my knowledge of the series, this is a "updated" version of smugglers run 2 on ps2. I think the game is a great upgrade from the second,From my knowledge of the series, this is a "updated" version of smugglers run 2 on ps2. I think the game is a great upgrade from the second, it has more maps more vehicles and harder missions. I have played this game for awhile now and it always seems to grab me and really make me focus it gets really fun and hard to play. Although there is that electric repetitive music and mildly bad graphics (back when it came out i thought its graphics engine was amazing) It is such a fun game and should be bought and played or at least tried by any game cube owner. Overall i think it has lots of potential and is way over looked. Full Review »
  2. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 22, 2002
    6
    All right, now admitedly I'm a large fan of the original game. I pretty much bought this without much research. And it was a clightly All right, now admitedly I'm a large fan of the original game. I pretty much bought this without much research. And it was a clightly regretable purchase. My biggest problem is with the levels. You can be going along at high speeds and all of a sudden you hit an invisible wall. It's the freaking edge of the map, but unlike Smuggler's Run 1 it looks just like normal driveable terrain. It may seem like a minor gripe, but I am having trouble communicating how annoying it can be to be in an intense mission and suddenly come to a dead stop and be arrested because you hit an invisible wall. Another gripe is with the graphics. While everything is very crisp and great looking, objects do pop-up abruptly. It's not a big deal really but worth mentioning. The screenshots flatter the graphics a little. Full Review »
  3. SaintP.
    Sep 10, 2002
    6
    Single player was fun until it crashed and the savedgame file got corrupted. multiplayer is where i had the most fun... until the gameSingle player was fun until it crashed and the savedgame file got corrupted. multiplayer is where i had the most fun... until the game crashed. see the theme? Full Review »