Sonic Adventure DX Director's Cut GameCube

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2003
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 140
  2. Negative: 11 out of 140
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VideoGameCritic
    Jun 26, 2003
    8
    A much more creative game than it's sequal, with cool levels, etc. Very few improvements were made from the Dreamcast version, making it seem rediculously obvious that SonicTeam only really released this to make profit after seeing sales skyrocket for Battle. It's an awesome game, and some improvements (REAL IMPROVEMENTS) from the Dreamcast version would make this game a 10.
  2. May 20, 2011
    6
    Sonic Adventure DX doesn't fix any of the original's problems, but overall, Sonic fans of all ages will enjoy having the best-selling DC game on their GCN. Pros: Fast, fun, and 3-D gameplay; fantastic visuals; glossy soundtrack; variety of Game Gear games to play. Cons: Doesn't have many improvements at all; frequent framerate issues; poor camera; too many cheap deaths; some annoying characters.
  3. RyanM.
    Jun 3, 2004
    6
    the actual game isn't as bad as all the amount of glitches i fell into. I got stuck into the environment, i fell through solid floors, and the lagging is ridiculous. We have a good remake here, but it's a shame the game doesn't work...
  4. HonestyIsthebestpolicy...T
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    Ok. This game was not perfection. However, it was not terrible. The chao garden was ok, and the missions were ok. But Big? I understand your want to have diverse levels, but no fishing. It was just insanely boring. Now, voice overs could have been worse, but just try harder. I actually confused the moving mouths of the characters with early mouth speak animations. It was a good game, but Ok. This game was not perfection. However, it was not terrible. The chao garden was ok, and the missions were ok. But Big? I understand your want to have diverse levels, but no fishing. It was just insanely boring. Now, voice overs could have been worse, but just try harder. I actually confused the moving mouths of the characters with early mouth speak animations. It was a good game, but it was just a bit boring to me. But hey, thats just my opinion. Also, they should have tried to update the graphics. That would have bumped up my score. Expand
  5. AshR
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    Mmm.... This game strays far from the 2-D games which is unfortunate. It is a little faster than Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, and the graphics are smoother, but it is missing something. This may be due to the lacking story and replay value. True the story has something to it, but it seems just like another recycled excuse to look for the Chaos Emeralds. Once you go through the game, there is Mmm.... This game strays far from the 2-D games which is unfortunate. It is a little faster than Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, and the graphics are smoother, but it is missing something. This may be due to the lacking story and replay value. True the story has something to it, but it seems just like another recycled excuse to look for the Chaos Emeralds. Once you go through the game, there is nothing much left to do but play mission mode or chao garden. Both of which don't provoke much excitement. The level designs are something to be proud of, however, and the music is nice to bob your head too I suppose. But then again, maybe I'm being too liberal. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    Sonic Adventure DX is the edition of Sonic Adventure that most people own, with reason: nobody owned a Dreamcast. Is this game worth your money? Sonic Adventure, on it's own, played like a classic Sonic game in 3D. It even had momentum based gameplay, which is seen as a novelty for even 2D Sonic games these days. But this does have it's flaws. It's sometimes extremely annoying and can makeSonic Adventure DX is the edition of Sonic Adventure that most people own, with reason: nobody owned a Dreamcast. Is this game worth your money? Sonic Adventure, on it's own, played like a classic Sonic game in 3D. It even had momentum based gameplay, which is seen as a novelty for even 2D Sonic games these days. But this does have it's flaws. It's sometimes extremely annoying and can make you loose all control. The collision detection is poor - for a game that came out in 1999, it would be acceptable. But this edition came out 4 years after it's predecessor. A little tuning would have been nice. What's bad about the collision detection is that you will hit something and you will stop, even if it looks like you're nowhere near a wall or a tree. Sometimes, the player on screen will go into spasm and again, control will be lost until you find a way out of the collision detection's bad work. And what's really annoying is that you sometimes phase THROUGH a wall. It's not a regular occurrence but it does happen at least once on your first playthrough, and more times when you replay for speedruns and goodies. Level design is generally great. There's a great combination of platforming and speed and this is one of the reasons why I replay the Sonic stages of this game. Sonic Adventure introduced new playable characters each with their own missions and goals. Sonic and Tails are the most fun. Amy and Knuckles are not amazing, but won't scold you. Gamma's gameplay is mediocre at best and Big the Cat is an awful, awful AWFUL piece of work and the excuse for extreme frustration. Overall, this is a nice idea but some of the core things of the classic games are missing, such as more platforming based gameplay for the Knuckles stages, and not lockon-mediocre shooting levels like Gamma. The camera is a total mess and using it will break you. Don't you dare use the R or L buttons or else you will cry. Let the camera do it's own thing, even if it is extremely spazzy and incredibly annoying. A terrible camera for a good game. Music for this game is superb. Every track feels dreamy and a delight to listen too. The main theme, Open Your Heart, is a total earcandy and will - well, open your heart! The graphics are... a mess. The original Sonic Adventure had good graphics, but 4 years on and there's hardly any change. The only major difference is the shininess of the models, and let me tell you this: it's nice at times, but I can't escape the fact that Sonic looks like he's had a condom stretched all the way over him. I really do think the textures could have been updated and the shapes made less square. A poor effort here, Sega. Sonic Adventure DX added some extras to the original title. You can now unlock Master System games such as Sonic the Hedgehog and Sonic Drift. While I think these are a nice addition, I really don't find them as a great reward and don't really fit well on the GC. Overall, Sonic Adventure DX is a good game, and I would recommend you try it out. It's not everyone's cup of tea and there will be some WTF moments in here. But trust me, you will feel a sample of some of the Dreamcast magic through this game. A 7/10 from me. Expand
  7. May 5, 2011
    6
    DX Director's Cut is a bit of a disappointing port of a fantastic DC game, but aside from some flaws, it's still the Sonic Adventure we played years ago. Pros: Fast, fun gameplay; excellent level design; additional features such as the Game Gear games are handy. Cons: A lot of camera issues, framerate issues, and glitches ruin an "almost solid" port.
  8. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    Sonic Adventure: DX, the first 3D platformer I ever owned, how does it hold up now? Well, pretty well if you ask me. The Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles stages are a lot of fun, the music is awesome ("It Doesn't Matter" was my anthem growing up), the story is engaging and never talks down to the audience/gamer, and the cutscenes are fun and campy. I also like the voice acting, though KnucklesSonic Adventure: DX, the first 3D platformer I ever owned, how does it hold up now? Well, pretty well if you ask me. The Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles stages are a lot of fun, the music is awesome ("It Doesn't Matter" was my anthem growing up), the story is engaging and never talks down to the audience/gamer, and the cutscenes are fun and campy. I also like the voice acting, though Knuckles and Big are pretty lifeless and boring (Seriously, Knuckles always sounds like he's narrating! It's actually kind of funny). As great as these things are, there are a few things that bothered me. The camera is pretty frustrating, it's easy for a character to get caught on walls when running down narrow pathways which breaks your momentum (very annoying). The hub worlds feel like padding and the "unlockables" you get from doing missions are nothing but a bunch of crappy Game Gear games. The real salt to the wound is Big the Cat, quite possibly the most useless waste of animation ever put in a game! His voice sucks, the character sucks, his gameplay (fishing) sucks. He just shouldn't exist at all imo. Amy and Gamma's stages are also pretty dull as well, but their stages don't really last too long. Overall, this is a fun game and I recommend it for anyone. Just be prepared to be bored a small percentage of the time. Expand
  9. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    Overall it's a good game. Sonic and Tails' stages are AMAZING as are Knuckles' and Gamma's. Bigs stages aren't fun but when I played them each stage took under a minute or so, they're very easy. The only bad part of the game is Amy's story, blunt and to the point, it sucks. She's slow and has a terrible way of attacking people. The final boss is half easy and half hard, without spoilingOverall it's a good game. Sonic and Tails' stages are AMAZING as are Knuckles' and Gamma's. Bigs stages aren't fun but when I played them each stage took under a minute or so, they're very easy. The only bad part of the game is Amy's story, blunt and to the point, it sucks. She's slow and has a terrible way of attacking people. The final boss is half easy and half hard, without spoiling anything. Overall a very good game. Expand
  10. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    I really like this game.
    Sometimes it does get hard, and I don't really like it.
    But except that, it's AWESOME!
    It's 2014. We like a 2003 game.
    Logic much?
  11. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    This game is better than the critic review says it is. The gameplay is fast and fun (barring Big the Cat!) and its story is not bad. Also, by gaining emblems, you get to play original SEGA GameGear games such as Sonic Chaos and Sonic Spinball. Admittedly it's not perfect - the camera and collision are not great, but no more than any other game of its time - but it's not enough to justifyThis game is better than the critic review says it is. The gameplay is fast and fun (barring Big the Cat!) and its story is not bad. Also, by gaining emblems, you get to play original SEGA GameGear games such as Sonic Chaos and Sonic Spinball. Admittedly it's not perfect - the camera and collision are not great, but no more than any other game of its time - but it's not enough to justify the score of 57 this game has from critics. Finally, each and every piece of music is fantastic. This game is very good and its difficulty curve is perfect. Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    The game's not bad but it's not the best Sonic game like most fanboys will tell you. Sonic & Tails levels are all about the speedy platforming that made the series famous in it their first attempt at 3D. It's nowhere near the quality and fun of the originals but it's not bad. Be cautious when buying this game though, there are 4 other characters that will force you to go into these poorlyThe game's not bad but it's not the best Sonic game like most fanboys will tell you. Sonic & Tails levels are all about the speedy platforming that made the series famous in it their first attempt at 3D. It's nowhere near the quality and fun of the originals but it's not bad. Be cautious when buying this game though, there are 4 other characters that will force you to go into these poorly made alternate gameplay styles that will make you wish they had just more of the WELL DONE speed levels. Knuckles is reduced to a treasure hunter, Amy is a slow Sonic that must escape from a robot, Big's level are about fishing(yes, fishing. What were they thinking?) and Gamma's levels are bland mech shooters. I don't know what they were thinking making alternate gameplay, but over the speedy Sonic levels are the majority of the game, thankfully. Expand
  13. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    Sonic Adventure is a game released in 1999 and is the best selling game on the Dreamcast. This was also Sonic's full jump to 3D. This story of the game is that Eggman is on another Chaos Emerald hunt but this time he is looking to create the ultimate monster to take over the world. There is nothing too wrong with the story but the gameplay is amazing.Not only do you have improved SonicSonic Adventure is a game released in 1999 and is the best selling game on the Dreamcast. This was also Sonic's full jump to 3D. This story of the game is that Eggman is on another Chaos Emerald hunt but this time he is looking to create the ultimate monster to take over the world. There is nothing too wrong with the story but the gameplay is amazing.Not only do you have improved Sonic gameplay, but you can play as Tails who's gameplay is similar to Sonic's except he can fly and is a little slower, Knuckles who glides around the stage collecting missing pieces to the Chaos Emeralds, Amy Rose who is like a slow paced version of Sonic's gameplay, and then there are the other 2 characters who get me PO'd every time I play as them. That is Big the Cat's gameplay in which you have to press random buttons to reel in fish and there is an overrated character named E 102 who is basically one of Eggman's robots who decided he did not want to be an evil robot. His story seems pretty cool, but the gameplay is bad. While the level designs are good, the lasers and missles seem broken. On top of that, the game has unnecessary time limits and if you don't beat the time limit, you blow up. Yeah, that makes sense. While I love the rest of the character's gameplay, I feel that 1/3 of the game is broken. But the other characters' gameplay is so well done its hard to give this game a mixed score. Expand
  14. T.J.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    XISMZERO, you're the idiot!! Shut your damn mouth and find some other game to critisize.
  15. DavidC
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    this game is really realy good. this game deserves a better score!! i passed the whole game and everything was just awesome!!!!
  16. RyanT.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    What the hell are the critics talking about? This game kicks ass. I totally love it. Don't bother renting this game cause it is so good, just buy it. Sonic fans will really love it. Great.
  17. JacobP.
    Aug 10, 2003
    9
    This is one of the best sonic games ever made it's much better than sonic adventure 2 battle
  18. A.O.
    Apr 4, 2004
    0
    This game sucks arse. Sonic 1 on Master System is a LOT more playable and entertaining.
  19. DanyleC.
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    Better than sonic adventure battle 2 this is a great game and one of the best ever ignore the retards above it is defintly worth its 40$ price tag.
  20. AshleyS.
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    Its 1 of da best games around.
  21. SoulCalibur2
    Sep 6, 2003
    4
    Good sound, graphics, and music, but the hairy idiots who rated this a ten should stay away from whatever they ate that morning. This is a sad, repetitve game, and it would do little more than collect dust at the bottom of your trash can. Terrible camera angles. Personaly, I would leave this game to rot in the fiery pits of hell...o, but that's just me...
  22. UnhappySonicFan
    Apr 17, 2005
    0
    What were they thinking when they made this awful excuse for an 'adventure!' Go back to the Mega Drive sonic, much better!
  23. ZachC.
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    Way better than sonic adventure battle 2 i love it!!!!
  24. JeremyS.
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    Get this game it is very fun. ignore the reviews above, there full of sh*t!!
  25. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    This is a very good game If you like sonic buy it! Watch clumet's lets play on it!
  26. Feb 8, 2014
    4
    The dreamcast version sucks... The xbox and ps3 version sucks... And this one sucks the most. Screw this game. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  27. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    This is one of the best sonic games ever created in history

    Pros
    -Outstanding Graphics
    -Action packed
    -great story
    -Easy controls
    -Awesome music

    Cons
    -Camera can make you dizzy at times
  28. XISMZERO
    Jul 10, 2003
    4
    I think you are all idiots. This game's nothing but a horrible port with framerate problems and a $40 price tag... try renting it first before foolishly rating it...
  29. R.D.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite sonic game, i really enjoy it, mission mode, normal game, the great game gear games and my favorite, the chao garden in conclusion this game rocks!!
  30. TylerA.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    This is possibly my favourite GameCube game ever. Sonic rocks, the sound and graphics may not be the best but you hav a great game here with LOTS of replay value and if people say I must be an idiot to like this game, I am an almost straight A student so I am no idiot and I know quality when I see it. This game is a must for anyone.
  31. sorcerer289
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great game.It isn't as good as SA2,but it is definetly one of the best 3d sonics. The only real thing that bothers me are Big's missions, they were boring and lame. Another problem are the boring hunting levels. In SA2 hunting levels were large and fun in SADX they are boring. But still, I think this game is great and worth the buy...but only if you are a huge I think this is a great game.It isn't as good as SA2,but it is definetly one of the best 3d sonics. The only real thing that bothers me are Big's missions, they were boring and lame. Another problem are the boring hunting levels. In SA2 hunting levels were large and fun in SADX they are boring. But still, I think this game is great and worth the buy...but only if you are a huge sonic fan like me. Expand
  32. Dell
    Apr 21, 2008
    8
    Not bad. This game still is tons of fun and I loved it back on dreamcast and I still love it now. Too bad the ratings scare alot of people away from an otherwise good game.
  33. ShirleyB.
    Jul 6, 2003
    8
    If you like sonic, you will enjoy this game.
  34. CloudStrife
    Jul 7, 2003
    8
    Fun and fast but not quite as good as the first or Sonic Adventure 2 Battle
  35. R.J.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    Forget about XISMZERO, this game totally rocks. Maybe it has a tiny little camera problem but you won't even notice. The best sonic game around.
  36. HoldenK.
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    All sonic games are fun, but this one is the best.
  37. Ryan
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    I had this game on the DC. It became my favorite sonic game. I sold my old copy and Bought DX. I think it's even better than the DC version. This is the best sonic game ever.
  38. AndreB.
    Apr 23, 2004
    5
    This is the most disappointing "Sonic" game ever. Since when do you fish in a "Sonic" Game. If you want a good Sonic game, I recommend "Sonic Mega Collection" or "Sonic Adventure 2 Battle." Whatever you buy, don't buy this unless you are a hardcore Sonic fan. (The only reason I gave it a 5 is because of the Game Gear games.)
  39. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    7
    This game is better than it's sequal. It is way better than their last attempt at a 3D sonic game. Different characters with different abilities added a variety of gameplay. A bad thing was the voice overs, which were kiddy and corny.
  40. IanA
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    I don't understand why this game gets so much hate. This is the same if not better than the Dreamcast Version. All levels are fun to play besides Tails's and Big's, the graphics are OK, and the controls work well on the Gamecube. The idiot who gave this game a 0, sure the Genisis/Mega Drive games are great games, too, but that doesn't mean this game isn't worth anything.
  41. AndrewW.
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    This game is pretty good . It may be a remake but it is still top and a good storyline.There is plenty to do innit and should last a while if you want to get all the emeralds. The only things that let this down are the camera angles and no multiplayer.
  42. J-Max
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    It's Ok but the gamegear games suck it really brougt things down but the game was ok I like the graphics. I kinda missed Sonic Adventure but the memories are back. The camera angle sucks real bad at least they have Free Camera Mode on the menu.
  43. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    It is nonstop fun. Dr. Eggman is up to his old tricks again but now he has Chaos to help him. By collecting all the chaos emeralds, Chaos will reach his perfect form. It's up to Sonic and his friends to stop Eggman. The game is fast and exciting, with some fun game modes to make it even better.
  44. Oct 12, 2015
    6
    Not nearly as good as Sonic Adventure 2 but it's still a pretty good game. The shooting stages for example are not as well designed as in SA2 and some platforming levels just seem bland. It has good music though and some missions are fun to play.
  45. Mar 13, 2015
    7
    While this game may not be a masterpiece by any standards, it still provides some fun platforming challenges and has plenty of content for those who look for it, including a myriad of game gear games. Definitely worth trying if you're curious, but don't expect perfection (especially concerning the story, the cut scenes are some of the worst I've ever seen).
  46. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This was exactly what I asked for when I wanted a 3-D Sonic game simple story, fun levels (besides Big) and decent graphics. I feel this game was a bit ambitious but I feel like it has aged better than other Sonic games.
  47. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    A solid, fun and memorable 3D Sonic title with plenty of gameplay and replayability, which is sadly hindered by the unpredictable and at times, atrocious frame rate.

    I would advise picking up the XBL or PSN port instead, if possible.
  48. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly good game.

    I entered this as my first 3D Sonic game expecting the s*** mountain to blow up in my face and was very pleased to see that no, this isn't bad. It's not even poor. Not even mediocre. It's pretty great actually. Really great in some parts. It does have a lot of flaws though. The Good: Sonic Adventure is divided into 7 play styles and stories. Some are great,
    Surprisingly good game.

    I entered this as my first 3D Sonic game expecting the s*** mountain to blow up in my face and was very pleased to see that no, this isn't bad. It's not even poor. Not even mediocre. It's pretty great actually. Really great in some parts. It does have a lot of flaws though.

    The Good: Sonic Adventure is divided into 7 play styles and stories. Some are great, some are totally worthless or plainly bad. The best parts are usually the longest ones though, so that's the good thing. You play as Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy Rose, Big the Cat, E-102 Gamma(an Eggman robot) and Super Sonic.

    Sonic, Tails, Knuckles and arguably Gamma make the good part of the game to me.

    Sonic's control emulates perfectly the feeling and control of the 2D Sonic games. It's precise, it's fast, the acceleration feeling is really great at all times.
    Additionally, the level design of most of the Sonic stages is gorgeous, especially some somewhat flawed but exhilarating levels like Sky Deck, Lost World(except the awful snake section), Windy Hill, Emerald Coast, Final Egg...some are less good like Twinkle Park and Ice Cap, but they're clearly the minority. Most of the levels are incredibly fun and have the perfect Sonic mix of speed, platforming, and making you want to go fast while at the same time keeping you in danger and under thrills of all flavors.

    The Tails Stages are pretty much Sonic stages, but less fun. Sonic Adventure has a problem with difficulty in the sense that it's way too easy. Tails stages are even easier than Sonic stages, he's always the easy mode of the games and it hurts him here.

    Knuckles Stages are less good than Tails stages. They're more varied and are a different kind of gameplay where you have to find items following a sonar's directions. It's not very fun, but the control is fine and you can get helped by Tikal(this game's unofficial ghost voiceover) to find your way to them. Nothing fancy or all that fun, but playable and not really a big deal.

    Gamma Stages are shooting everything around you and reaching the boss at the end of the levels. It's a pretty fun gameplay, but if SA is overall too easy, this is even easier. Everything save for the final boss can be beaten without any effort.

    Sonic has 10 levels, Tails and Knux have about half of that, and Gamma has only 4.
    Super Sonic has only a load of cutscenes and one final boss, but it's a pretty great final boss so I have no complaints with his part being short.

    On more good things, the music is just excellent, very varied, memorable and gives so much identity to the levels.
    The visuals as a whole are quite great for a 1998 game too.

    The Bad: Amy Rose, Big the Cat, and Camera the Awful. And the hub worlds and storytelling. Actually, almost anything that isn't pure in-level gameplay is laughably bad in this game.

    Amy Rose is a slow, boring, worthless Sonic. Her presence in this game is just due to the fact that the dev team wanted a 7-stories thing because there's 7 Chaos Emeralds...talk about flimsy.
    Big the Cat is the same but arguably even worse because his gameplay centers on fishing, which is neither fun nor has anything to do with the story.
    These two could well be THE reason to not play Sonic Adventure as they're mandatory to finish the game. They only have less than 4 levels each though, so it's not that bad.

    The camera is just terrible. The homing attack was probably created because they couldn't make a good one. You often have foreground objects blocking you or such. You can't see everything you want, the movement isn't very good and it will often just not be able to tell you where you are, which can lead to many deaths in stages such as Sky Deck where you're standing above 10000 feet.
    The homing attack itself, while a bit gamebreaking, isn't an awful thing, but it clearly is a cop-out. A simple lock on target like OoT and then evaluating and jumping the distance yourself would've been preferable.

    The Hub worlds, while some like Station Square and Egg Carrier do give a nice atmosphere and presence to the game, are usually quite useless. And Mystic Ruins is a labyrinthic mess I hate to travel through.

    Lastly, the storytelling is atrociously, painfully, hysterically laughable. I really felt my brain melt during this, but never in a mean way. It's simply a story written by a 5 year old. Several times keys and magical stones you need to go forward in the levels will magically fall out of thin air. Tikal interrupting the game to tell you unconnected bits of her life story makes no sense, Eggman's motivation and reasons are just laughably simplistic, Sonic's actions are sometimes irrational as he forgets about Tails being maybe dead and goes to chase after Amy, Gamma's story has no connection with...the laughter never ends at this awful story. Also Chaos looks like a generic alien.

    Ultimately, it's an extremely fun and flawed game. If you can overlook the hideous side of SA, it's truly a very fun and unforgettable game.
    Expand
  49. Jul 11, 2015
    6
    The game was good for it's time, but suffers from having pointless overworlds that splice the game into two pieces, when it could have all been connected smoothly. The player and the world do not merge, and it simply fails to engross you as a player (for the most part). The music and graphics are pretty good and I like the way it controls. The story is hilarious, though not for the rightThe game was good for it's time, but suffers from having pointless overworlds that splice the game into two pieces, when it could have all been connected smoothly. The player and the world do not merge, and it simply fails to engross you as a player (for the most part). The music and graphics are pretty good and I like the way it controls. The story is hilarious, though not for the right reasons. This game isn't as good as many people say (I'm looking at you Clement! Nice vids though), and not as bad as many people say (I'm looking at you Egorater! You're awesome on Game Grumps, BTW). Just please never remind me of Big's campaign. Expand
  50. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    I don't know why the Metascore of this game is only 57. Yes, the game isn't bugfree but the story of the game is very nice, like every Sonic game. The Story of Sonic ist the best story but all 6 stories are very good. Okay, Bigs and Amys Story aren't good but they aren't bad... I like the game...
  51. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    I will try my best to not be bias during this review, although, this is my most favourite game ever O.O

    I would also like to note I played the Xbox 360 version AND GC version of this game, I doubt that will cause contradiction in my review, their basically the same Sonic Adventure DX on the GC is a fun adventure and platforming game! The story is complicated and fairly uninteresting,
    I will try my best to not be bias during this review, although, this is my most favourite game ever O.O

    I would also like to note I played the Xbox 360 version AND GC version of this game, I doubt that will cause contradiction in my review, their basically the same

    Sonic Adventure DX on the GC is a fun adventure and platforming game! The story is complicated and fairly uninteresting, and the game can get QUITE broken, and the Big the Cat stages will make you question your very existance....

    BUT!

    The action stages are fun to zip through and are all unique (except sub games, and Big... =.=)

    Sonic stages consist of the usual run fast and platform, tails stages are almost EXACTLY the same except your tails and **** so you can fly yo. Knuckles stages consist you finding pieces of the master emerald by tracking them down with your little radar, and to be honest, i think the treasure tracking system is better in this game then its sequel, Sonic Adventure 2. The treasure tracking system is much more clear, and less agonizing. Amy stages consist of you running from a possibly sexual driven robot that is ordered to kidnap you for eggman, these stages are not bad, and scared me as a child... Gamma stages are a shoot and run type thing, these are quite fun, and the story for Gamma is SO sad T_T. Big stages consist of you fishing for your lost frog, and is BORING and AGONIZING. Once you get the hang of it, it's not too hard, but the confusion i first had was SO DAMN FUSTRATING, I had to look up a tutorial.

    This game is very friendly to people who like to 100% and speedrunners! The game consist of emblems and challenges and INTENSE CHAO RACES to complete to 100% it. And for speedrunners, the game is broken and fun, what could be more right with the world!

    The story in this game goes like this, egg man wants to rule the world again (i guess...?) so he decides to come up with a plan to use a goopy being named Chaos. The more chaos emeralds egg man feeds to Chaos, the more powerful Chaos becomes. Sonic and Tails must defeat him! The other guys sorta just get involved from their own purposes some how. It gets pretty stupidly complex from the flashbacks you get with each character, to learn Chaos' past. Gamma's story however, gets you emotionally invested, and is seriously sad, do not spoil it for yourself, it is something you need to experience ;-;

    So, overall, the controls are fine, the game is fun to complete/speedrun, story is eh, ad the stages are fun! (well, most of them.... >.>) As a kid, I liked Sonic Adventure 2: Battle more, but as I grew up, I learned to respect this game more, and is even my #1 most favourite game today. (and tbh, we all just play SA2 for the chao mode...)

    I give this game a 7! ^^
    Expand
  52. Apr 12, 2015
    9
    This is another game I enjoyed in my childhood, It's in my opinion a bit better than Sonic Adventure 2: Battle, but don't worry, there both more amazing than ever!
  53. May 5, 2015
    8
    There's a reason why this is my favorite Sonic game of all time. Sonic Adventure DX is one of my favorite games of all time. All though people think Adventure 2 is inferior, if I don't have the game, I can't play it. But this game is absolutely remarkable.

    The presentation of the game was very good. The game runs at a smooth frame rate. It doesn't have a single frame drop in the game.
    There's a reason why this is my favorite Sonic game of all time. Sonic Adventure DX is one of my favorite games of all time. All though people think Adventure 2 is inferior, if I don't have the game, I can't play it. But this game is absolutely remarkable.

    The presentation of the game was very good. The game runs at a smooth frame rate. It doesn't have a single frame drop in the game. The story also makes perfect sense. It involves this monster made out of water named Chaos who Dr. Eggman has released to destroy Station Square. But to make him have his full power, he must feed him all 7 Chaos emeralds. Sonic and Tails must stop him before Eggman gets all of the 7 Chaos. The only 2 bad things about the games presentation is the camera and the graphics. The graphics literally use snapshots of the item as a polygon, and the camera is constantly flying all over the place. It's also WAY too close to the character you are using. The cutscenes also suck. They're even cheesier than those CD-I Zelda cutscenes... okay maybe not.

    But like people say, graphics aren't everything(I'm looking at you, The Order). The gameplay is very interesting and creative. You can select 7 characters: Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy, *sigh* Big, and Gamma. All of which have their own different story. Sonic has a time style gameplay to get to the goal as soon as possible. Tails' gameplay involves racing certain characters like Sonic to the goal. Tails can also take shortcuts. Knuckles has to find 3 pieces of the Master Emerald to proceed. I have one complaint with that: there's this tracking feature which tracks the pieces of the emeralds for you. However, it only tracks one at a time IN AN ORDER. Amy has to run from a robot to the goal before it catches her. Gamma is kind of like a 3D shooter. And Big.... he has these broken fishing levels where he have to catch *ahem, Big's voice* Fwoggey. It sometimes doesn't even stay on him for some reason.

    In conclusion, this game is definitely worth picking up on Amazon. It's 2015 right now, and it's still great. And sure the camera is an absolute horror and the graphics are a bit disappointing, but hey. At least the gameplay makes up for all of it. I mean, come on. Kids these days are always buying games without even thinking about it. Like, the graphics. They buy games for GRAPHICS nowadays. And I hope that changes. Anyways, Sonic Adventure DX is a great 3D competitor to Mario's 3D games(which he loses in by the way).
    Expand
  54. Aug 10, 2015
    4
    This game is pretty bad. The story is fairly standard, but builds on the lore of the earlier Sonic games quite nicely. It does this mostly through horrible cut scenes that are entertaining for all the wrong reasons. Terrible mouth animations with terrible voice acting and terrible directing. Objects appearing and disappearing out of nowhere, (How did that bird hide a chaos emerald that isThis game is pretty bad. The story is fairly standard, but builds on the lore of the earlier Sonic games quite nicely. It does this mostly through horrible cut scenes that are entertaining for all the wrong reasons. Terrible mouth animations with terrible voice acting and terrible directing. Objects appearing and disappearing out of nowhere, (How did that bird hide a chaos emerald that is bigger than itself?) plain weird character animations, (What is gamma even supposed to be doing?) and the most anticlimactic action ever. (was a plain crash?)

    The game has 6 different characters and tells the story from their perspective. Each of them have their own play style:

    Sonic runs fast, has his spin dash and a homing attack. He is pretty hard to control at the beginning. You get used to it, but by then you will have run against a lot of walls. And often through them.

    Tails has to race against other characters in his stages. He can fly and use shortcuts through the levels. It is quite fun to see a level you already ran through, but using different paths.

    In Knuckles levels, you have to find the pieces of the master emerald. You have a radar that tells you how close you are to every piece.

    Amy has to run away from a robot called Zero while solving brain dead puzzles.

    E-102 Gamma, one of Eggman's robots, walks slowly and shoots his way through the level. This gets boring really quickly as it mostly consists of holding down B and release it after everything is targeted. Also, this targeting system, which you have to constantly activate, makes a very annoying cheeping noise the hole time.

    Big the cat fishes for his frog. That is about as related to everything else as it sounds. I was very annoyed by these stages because I couldn't get the damn frog to bite. Either the game didn't tell my to press into his direction when he is nibbling the bait, or I just didn't find it.

    Sounds like decent variation, right? Sadly, these characters don't alternate. You rather play through the whole game one character at a time. Technically, you unlock the other stories before completing Sonic's story, but the game does not exactly make it easy and fast to switch characters, as you have to quit the game to do it.

    There are three kinds of boss battles in the game: The battles between the main characters are simply: Attack them, wait until they stop blinking, then attack again. Just do this and they will never hit you.
    The second kind is: Evade the attacks until the boss stupidly reveals his weak spot and hit it.
    The third is kind is against Perfect Chaos, which is actually a good battle.

    Amy's last battle is technically one of the second variety, but you have to actively get the boss to expose his weak spot which makes it in my opinion the only other decent one.

    I appreciate that the dialog and cut scenes play out a little differently every story, making it really seem that the characters are remembering/retelling these events differently. I just assume that was the intention, because it would have been much easier just to show the same cut scene from different camera angles.

    The game pulls of the multiple separate but simultaneous story lines quite well, with a few continuity errors, like when Knuckles follows Gamma to the egg carrier, even though Gamma only gets to this place where knuckles saw him after the carrier already crashed.

    The graphics are dated and not up to the standard of other gamecube titles. The music is good, as you would expect from a sonic game.

    One other factor that ruins this game is the camera. It sometimes it just really wants to show you the wall of the room next to you. While you can move the camera left and right with the shoulder buttons, but not up or down. This is because the Dreamcast didn't have a c-stick and they were to lazy to fix this. Instead, it is bound to the "free camera"-mode, where you can look around, but not move. You can sometimes miss camera triggers and sometimes the camera just does not let you rotate, most frustratingly when fishing.

    All in all, there are just to many flaws bringing this game down. But there seem to be a lot of people out there who enjoyed it a lot, so you might want to check it out. It is quite short and easy.
    Expand
  55. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    My favorite Sonic game and one of my favorite games of all time. The game gives you endless hours of fun. The camera angles could be better and the story line is a little cheesy. Other than that,
  56. Sep 22, 2015
    6
    This game aside from the less then admirable graphics and slightly irritating glitches is actually not a bad game. The story is a little hard to follow but it's explained through 6 playable characters and their story lines which collide with the main story except for Big the Cat's story, now I rate this game the way it is for a few reasons; 1. The characters all have unique play styles butThis game aside from the less then admirable graphics and slightly irritating glitches is actually not a bad game. The story is a little hard to follow but it's explained through 6 playable characters and their story lines which collide with the main story except for Big the Cat's story, now I rate this game the way it is for a few reasons; 1. The characters all have unique play styles but to be honest, some are just worse then others, you could be playing as Sonic and ripping through levels as fast as possible and feeling great, but then you play Big the Cat's story and it's about sitting down patiently and fishing for his pet "froggy" in each level. It really is based on opinions but if I get a Sonic game, I want to go fast as they say, not sit and fish for a good few hours. 2. The adventure stages which are the main hub worlds are pretty big and unique, but lack in interest. Go to one point of the adventure field and grab this item and then come back, i'd rather be in the stages instead of running around and opening the stages. I suppose this game is worth it if you find it in the bargain bin but don't pay a lot for this game and except much from it, there are plenty more better Sonic games out there, trust me. Expand
  57. Jan 21, 2016
    8
    Okay the music is awesome,the level design are gorgeous,the hub world is good.Now on to the gameplay
    Sonic:10/10
    Tails:8/10
    Knuckles:6.10
    Amy:3/10
    Big the stupid cat:0/10
    If you wanna play this game just play the sonic and tails level instead.The chao garden is not good as SA2 but its still very enjoyable.the mission is ok.8.3/10.
  58. Feb 28, 2016
    8
    The graphics are a bit shiny and they look like they came straight out of a dreamcast, the overworld can be a bit confusing when you're discussing where to go, the mouth movements are extremely over exaggerated and laughable, there are a few glitches and camera bugs here and there. But everything else is extremely enjoyable and fun, with varied gameplay and a overlapping plot that tiesThe graphics are a bit shiny and they look like they came straight out of a dreamcast, the overworld can be a bit confusing when you're discussing where to go, the mouth movements are extremely over exaggerated and laughable, there are a few glitches and camera bugs here and there. But everything else is extremely enjoyable and fun, with varied gameplay and a overlapping plot that ties everything together yet still makes it so that it still feels like it's own individual campain/story, and is overall a solid remake of the original on the dreamcast. The worst part about is big the cat if it weren't for him I'd give it a 9. Expand
  59. Apr 19, 2016
    6
    Sonic Adventure is a good game. Well, half of it is. I personally think this, mainly because there's other playable characters now. Let's discuss them, shall we? And I will be discussing there stories as well. Sonic's story goes like this. Eggman has control of an ancient beast, and if he and the beast get the emeralds, then well, boom goes the world. Tails, he's just with Sonic the entireSonic Adventure is a good game. Well, half of it is. I personally think this, mainly because there's other playable characters now. Let's discuss them, shall we? And I will be discussing there stories as well. Sonic's story goes like this. Eggman has control of an ancient beast, and if he and the beast get the emeralds, then well, boom goes the world. Tails, he's just with Sonic the entire time and serves as his sidekick. Sonic's stages are everything you'd expect from a 3D Sonic game. It's fast paced action with barely any platforming. Tails, he's the same, but now he's racing Sonic. There's not mush story for Tails, so I won't spoil it. Knuckles story is Eggman broke the master Emerald, and it's Knuckles's job to find the pieces and fix it. His stages are a bit different, as they involve treasure hunting. Personally, I like to just roam around these stages. I'm only going to explain those characters because the other playable characters have absolutely no relevance to the plot at all. Everything about those other characters suck so much that it has to be played to believed. The cutscenes... no. Just no. If there's one thing about this game that didn't age well, it's the cutscenes. SKIP. PAST. THEM. The voice acting is terrible, the lip syncing is absolutely terrible, just... no. The soundtrack is nice, and the graphics are alright, but overall this entire game is pretty mediocre. However, this game, only counting Sonic, Knuckles, and Tails's stores, is pretty good. Expand
  60. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    Why is this game hated? Sure it's not good as the dreamcast one but it adds more variety. The controls in this game do age better than the dreamcast one but there is not to much else basically the same thing as the dreamcast. I would recommend the dreamcast version not this one.
  61. Jun 27, 2016
    7
    Sonic's first major 3D outing is a lot of fun...if you play as Sonic and Tails...the rest however, are unfortunately not a lot of fun. The gameplay is fairly solid and immersive with the inclusion of hubworlds and fun ways to get there, the graphics haven't aged well but they were okay for their time. There's a nice amount of variety but time has been rough on Sonic Adventure.
  62. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    Sonic Adventure is a great game that sadly has not aged very well. The cut scenes are very bad and the game has a couple of glitches. All the characters, accept for Big are all very fun to play as. Big requires a lot of patience. Although SA1 has it's problems, Sonic Adventure is still fun to play to this day. The Sonic stages are all fast and very fun, Knuckles stages are fun, Amy'sSonic Adventure is a great game that sadly has not aged very well. The cut scenes are very bad and the game has a couple of glitches. All the characters, accept for Big are all very fun to play as. Big requires a lot of patience. Although SA1 has it's problems, Sonic Adventure is still fun to play to this day. The Sonic stages are all fast and very fun, Knuckles stages are fun, Amy's are good, E102 is great, Tails is just like sonic, and Big is OK. The Soundtrack for this game is an outright masterpiece! The graphics are good for a game cube game. Overall, I highly recommend SA1 as long as you understand that this game is just very old and must be played in the proper perspective. Expand
  63. Aug 5, 2016
    7
    Story's good, soundtracks great, multiple characters, but screw bigs stages, what was the point of him? A solid jump from 2D to 3D, if you want to get it try and avoid the PS3 and 360 versions, if you don't want a tiny ass screen.
  64. Aug 2, 2016
    9
    **** ign this game good also **** 1 up games for saying you shouldnt get sa1 and giving it a 25/10 they have no taste in games
    Gameplay: 9/10: Big and Amy suck
    Grahpics: 9.5/10: They look so ahead of they're time
    Story: 9/10: Good story for its time
    Soundtrack: 10/10: OPEN YOUR HEART
    Replay:10/10 I always come back to do the A and B missions
    Fun: 10/10 do i even have to explain this...
  65. Dec 9, 2016
    9
    It did fix some problems from the last game but honestly the game was so underrated battle just crushed it. It was just saying, "hey here is sonic adventure...BAM! Gamecube...and some extra...yea" But the game is great still.
  66. Nov 27, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Сюжет 8/10, геймплей 8/10, музыка 9/10, атмосфера 10/10. Это моя первая игра на пк не от алавара. Мне очень понравилось, что здесь есть открытый мир и можно играть за разных персонажей Expand
  67. Dec 10, 2016
    2
    This game is great...if you're not nostalgia-blind. I went into this game pretty much blind, and I heard how good it was from both sides. So here is my analysis of how much of this game I was actually able to sit through.
    -The dubbing and animation of this game is god awful. You could say it's because it's dubbed to Japanese, but this is a remake. There is no excuse.
    -The voice acting is
    This game is great...if you're not nostalgia-blind. I went into this game pretty much blind, and I heard how good it was from both sides. So here is my analysis of how much of this game I was actually able to sit through.
    -The dubbing and animation of this game is god awful. You could say it's because it's dubbed to Japanese, but this is a remake. There is no excuse.
    -The voice acting is even worse. There was no effort put into it, and it is cringey at best. (Fun fact: Sega mailed the voice actors their lines with absolutely no context, so yes, it is not just an opinion that the voice acting is bad)
    -The controls are so weird. If you want to interact with something in any game ever, what do you press? You press A. In Sonic Adventure, you press X. Why. Not to mention, if you try to interact with something, and you're not brushing up against it, X will also make you do an impossible to control spindash, that can't be canceled, and will put you 30 miles away.
    -The camera is so horrible. If you are fighting a boss (which are also boring and incredibly tedious in this game), the game might decide to lock you in a camera angle that cant be changed and is impossible to see with. Also, the triggers change the camera. That's okay, right? Wrong. The camera controls are inverted, and can't be changed.
    -The levels are mediocre at best. The action stages are apparently the good part of this game, but unfortunately, that's only 1/6th of this game. Also, in those stages, sonic is impossible to control, he magnetizes to the walls, and there are countless glitches that will do nothing but make you lose lives. In the remake. And I'm not even gonna start with Big the Cat...
    -All in all, don't buy this game. I mean, I emulated this game (on Dolphin, probably the most fluent, functional emulator in existence), and I'm still disappointing.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#7 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Thrilling and refreshingly buoyant, Sonic Adventure DX-Director's Cut actually justifies '90s nostalgia.
  2. GMR Magazine
    70
    The game alone is worth the price of admission, but this version features an all-new Mission mode that, while fluff, is nonetheless fun, plus 12 entirely cool Sonic games taken wars and all from the Sega Game Gear. [June 2003, p.72]
  3. It's a straight port, with a few minor alterations, and in this day and age it just can't stand up to the competition.