• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 10, 2002
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. A solid value well worth a spin. Just don't expect much more than the original titles.
  2. It’s the perfect melding of classic old-school gaming on the newest generation of video gaming consoles.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The problem? I thought you'd never ask. No "Sonic CD." If you've ever played "Sonic CD" on the Sega CD you'll know why it NEEDS to be in this collection of great Sonic Genesis titles.
  4. If I thought the first SONIC was good, I was completely blown away by the second game.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    Good, but could have been so much more. [Dec 2002, p.240]
  6. This title is a vastly preferable alternative to a myriad Sonic Advances in the style of Nintendo's Mario rehashes.
  7. Game Informer
    88
    Perhaps the best compilation ever. [Dec 2002, p.128]
  8. If you already have some of these games, I'd advise just blowing the dust off the old Genesis, because there isn't enough good extra stuff here.
  9. GameNow
    91
    Sonic fans owe it to themselves to pick this up. [Dec 2002, p.72]
  10. 80
    Pastel graphics comprise the visuals, and the audio ranges from passable (Sonic 2) to outright atrocious (Spinball).
  11. The extras included in Mega Collection could have been spiffier, but they're interesting enough and round out the package well.
  12. If you own a Sega Genesis and only Sonic games, it may be time to trade them all in and buy this single disc; you will save space and come back with even more then what you left with.
  13. If you're fiending for Sonic the Hedgehog and either don't have or are unwilling to drag out a dusty Genesis from the closet, don't hesitate to give it a shot.
  14. Lost however is some of the speed and flow of the previous games; a little too much in the way of exploration involved for a Sonic game (if you want to find all the bonus level entrances anyway).
  15. The controls are top-notch -- even the thumbstick is usable, and it works flawlessly.
  16. While a great collectible, the Sonic Mega Collection is still full of games that most of us fans still probably own in one form or another and it is also a bit too similar to "Sonic Jam."
  17. For $40, this is one of the greatest compilation games ever released.
  18. 75
    A wonderful little collection that, while not perfect, is a great value.
  19. netjak
    50
    Sega, however, has seen fit to present the games in such an unflattering collection as to present players with a difficult choice: Do I support the half-assed porting of some of gaming's most treasured titles to current systems, thus ensuring that future retro releases for the company will be as dismal? Or do I withhold my money and wait for Sega to release an unfettered, improved version of the games -- a release that may not come due to supposedly lackluster performance and a dearth of interest?
  20. Nintendo Power
    64
    The ultimate compilation of Sonic adventures. [Dec 2002, p.218]
  21. If you have a girlfriend, boyfriend, or spouse who doesn’t get into games that much, plug in this title and go right to "Mean Bean Machine." You’ll have so much fun you won’t hardly believe it.
  22. It features five great sonic games, and Sega can be excused for including two mediocre titles.
  23. Those who don’t own the Genesis originals or Sonic Jam will find SMC well worth $40; those already possessing most of the included games have little reason purchase this GameCube disc.
  24. Play Magazine
    60
    Some easy fixes would have made Sonic Mega Collection a celebration rather than a somwhat missed opportunity. [Nov 2002, p.90]

Awards & Rankings

49
16
#16 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Someonewholikessonic
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    It's a great game, people think it is rubbish because of no Sonic CD, but you can only fit so many great Mega Drive titles on such aIt's a great game, people think it is rubbish because of no Sonic CD, but you can only fit so many great Mega Drive titles on such a small disk, i have all these on my Mega Drive but i thought, whattever and bought it for my GameCube. The Archie comics are good, but i can't buy them because they are not for sale where i live. So it's a good opportunity for me to see them. The non sonic games are good too. I can't wait for Sonic Adventure DX to come out, even tough i have Sonic Adventure for my Dreamcast, i will probably still get i, and Sonic Advance 2, cause i have every Sonic game there ever has been. I can't wait, i'm glad Sonic went on Nintendo! That's what i think, and i'm sure a lot of people think the same, sonic rulz, ok. Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2017
    8
    Review/Reseña (English/Español)

    Score/Nota: 8.0/10 Unfortunately, I never had the pleasure (for my economy) of having a SEGA console,
    Review/Reseña (English/Español)

    Score/Nota: 8.0/10

    Unfortunately, I never had the pleasure (for my economy) of having a SEGA console, that is why I have this collection with great enthusiasm and I must say that it is really great.

    It shows a great visual improvement in the 7 titles that includes the collection (plus some unlockables to give a total of 12-14 depending on the region) as well as an improvement in terms of sound. The control is pretty good thanks to the ergonomics that has always been the control of Gamecube, which is not lost at any time of the total experience that these games offered in its original console.

    Despite being a collection, it serves for all those diehard Nintendo fans who never had a SEGA console and it becomes a cult gem for all the cube owners. 8.0/10

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Lamentablemente nunca tuve el placer (por mi época y economía) de tener una consola de SEGA, es por ello que jugué esta colección con bastante ilusión y debo decir que efectivamente es grandiosa.

    Se nota una gran mejora visual en los 7 títulos que incluye la colección (mas algunos desbloqueables para dar un total de 12-14 dependiendo de la región) así como una mejora en términos sonoros. El control queda bastante bien gracias a lo ergonómico que siempre ha resultado el mando de Gamecube, con lo cual no se pierde en ningún momento la experiencia total que estos juegos ofrecieron en su consola original.

    A pesar de ser una colección, sirve para todos aquellos acérrimos fans de Nintendo que nunca tuvieron una consola de SEGA y se convierte en una joya de culto para todos los poseedores del cubo. 8.0/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    This game has all your favorite sonic games and mashes it into MY favorite video game system. I spent weeks playing this amazing game evenThis game has all your favorite sonic games and mashes it into MY favorite video game system. I spent weeks playing this amazing game even though I have all the games on the game I just keep playing. I love this game but it isn't perfect but I do recommend it. Just some games aren't perfect on this game but it's still fun! Full Review »