Sonic Riders GameCube

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Liz
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Well, I thought it was fun, even after beating it three times over. The graphics were nice, and the CG videos were amazing, but I saw flaws there. For one, the mouths didn't move accordingly, but that can be overlooked. There are very few levels, but there are two worth your time to unlock, and they are very fun, with shortcuts and other things hidden everywhere. The other levels are Well, I thought it was fun, even after beating it three times over. The graphics were nice, and the CG videos were amazing, but I saw flaws there. For one, the mouths didn't move accordingly, but that can be overlooked. There are very few levels, but there are two worth your time to unlock, and they are very fun, with shortcuts and other things hidden everywhere. The other levels are fun too, however few, and give you a feeling of actually being in Sonic's universe, not in some random city. Basic controls, but they fit the bill nicly. The frusterating races come all too often though, and is the real reason why this is only worth a rent. Sonic Fans: Buy. Racing Fans: Rent. Hate both? Avoid. Expand
  2. TheRealSyko
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    I am well aware that Sega's flagship franchise has been ailing of late, suffering from Video Game Leukaemia: turning out droves of unfinished titles. This is one of the few exceptions. The concept of the game is refreshing, the gameplay is addictive, yet difficult enough to keep the length reasonable (unlike its sequel). One thing it lacked was substantial cutscenes, probably for the I am well aware that Sega's flagship franchise has been ailing of late, suffering from Video Game Leukaemia: turning out droves of unfinished titles. This is one of the few exceptions. The concept of the game is refreshing, the gameplay is addictive, yet difficult enough to keep the length reasonable (unlike its sequel). One thing it lacked was substantial cutscenes, probably for the better: all the less of Jason Griffith's sneering Sonic voice and hoarse Jet voice to hear. Shadow (fangirl idol #1) is entirely absent from the story, and inserting Jet to supplant him, even if for one game, was probably not a good PR move. HOWEVER: All things considered, the graphics are well rendered for PS2 (just don't mention GT4 and FF12), the gameplay is insanely addictive when you get into it, and the unlocks tempt you to keep going back for more. WELL worth it. I borrowed it from a friend and was impressed enough to buy it. Expand
  3. TreyW.
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    This game is a game for people who don't press the boost button repeatedly, The graphics are very high tech, and with the 3 new characters and the hoverboards make this game a blast.
  4. JoeyR
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    The critics that rated this poorly obviously aren't good at it. Therefore, they take their frustration out on the franchise. Plus, they don't like the entertainment-without-blood-and-sex that Sonic delivers (they've been making up excuses about why Sonic stinks since the mid 90s and Sonic's ratings have only gone up since then). It's different. It's The critics that rated this poorly obviously aren't good at it. Therefore, they take their frustration out on the franchise. Plus, they don't like the entertainment-without-blood-and-sex that Sonic delivers (they've been making up excuses about why Sonic stinks since the mid 90s and Sonic's ratings have only gone up since then). It's different. It's entertaining. It's engaging. It's fun. Play it. If you're any good at fast paced racing games, you'll enjoy it. Expand
  5. FrankG.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    On the outside this may seem to be just another way to squeeze money out of Sonic's name, but once you play the game you may find, as I did, that this is one of the most refreshingly fun racers in a long time. This game is in a league of its own with its racing style that combines the best of surfing, biking, skating, and many other extreme sports.
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Sonic Riders is not entirely a bad game. Though Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing/Transformed overshadow this one, I think it's still a good game, the controls are decent once you get used to them and the music is once again great. Hell it's much better than Zero Gravity and Free Riders by a long mile.
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Sonic and racing should go well together but when they ried it the first time, *Cringe in fear* , but I don't want to remember that abomination of a racing called Sonic R. This game is a massive improvement over it and is probably one of my favorite racing games
  8. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This game is better than Mario Kart Double Dash. The futuristic hover board racing does not get old. It delivers what it promises, and somehow more. It is a blast!
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I'm surprised to find this game has such a low score....I enjoy this game might be worth the buy for most people.....sure the game has no online capabilities but it still is a pretty good game...
  10. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    I'm honestly not sure how this game has such a poor score, as it's actually a very fun racing game with plenty of depth and challenge; and challenge isn't something you see too often in this genre. While the variety of unlockable gears may be a bit unnecessary and the somewhat small amount of tracks can make racing eventually repetitive for some, the game (especially for a sonic titleI'm honestly not sure how this game has such a poor score, as it's actually a very fun racing game with plenty of depth and challenge; and challenge isn't something you see too often in this genre. While the variety of unlockable gears may be a bit unnecessary and the somewhat small amount of tracks can make racing eventually repetitive for some, the game (especially for a sonic title released in '06) is very fun. There are plenty of racers to choose from, and while the track number is small, it makes up for it in that the tracks themselves are very memorable. It definitely takes a lot of getting used to however, and your first impression may poor because of that. But if you do learn the intricacies of the mechanics (which may require a look at the instruction manual), you'll find a fun racer that's definitely worth picking up, as long as you don't give up on it early on. Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2016
    8
    Not the best spinoff but I do like the story but again it's a spinoff. The controls feel good the graphics are good. The courses are amazing. Even though I like Zero Gravity a bit better this game is still good but not perfect. I don't know if I would recommend this game or not.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2006
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. AceGamez
    80
    Sonic Riders doesn't boast too many tracks, nor does it have an online mode, which is a shame, but a bit of unique futuristic racing with familiar faces is what I'm after these days, and Sonic Riders delivers on that front hands down.
  2. Endure the few inevitable instances of frustration and your left with a solid sonic spin-off.
  3. Sonic fans may fill their need for speed here, but everyone else, please walk on.