User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 80
  2. Negative: 5 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StarfoxRoxYurSox
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    It pwns, multiplayer is awesome, i dont no y u dissapointed ppl thught it was going to be Halo, but it works for me. Ill bet all you "dissapointed people" play xbox anyway
  2. Scott
    Feb 27, 2005
    9
    There's a really weak trend as of late when reviewers take a look at a new game. They tend to focus on the things the game didn't do. There's no LAN support, no online support, and it's a linear game. All the star fox games are linear, with the exception of a couple small deviations in paths in the original two games. There is nothing wrong with this game. The controls There's a really weak trend as of late when reviewers take a look at a new game. They tend to focus on the things the game didn't do. There's no LAN support, no online support, and it's a linear game. All the star fox games are linear, with the exception of a couple small deviations in paths in the original two games. There is nothing wrong with this game. The controls (like metroid prime) take a bit to get used to. Afterwards it becomes very easy to play, and I actually love the landmaster. The low reviews for this game is just another attempt by video games reviewers to knock nintendo down a couple notches for not being sony. Has anyone even tried multiplayer? There's almost no comments on that. I think everyone is so caught up in playing online they've forgotten they have real friends and it's way more fun to play with three of your good friends. Much more so than playing with a bunch of 14 year old kids on Xbox Live. For all the people who cherish online play and don't remember what it's like to have fun playing video games, rent it at least. You might be surprised. But for the rest of us, who miss the days when games were fun, buy it, you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  3. BenK.
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    OMG THIS RULES!!!! If it isn't broke why break it? Star Fox didn't need to be free roaming because it's Star Fox. IGN sounds like they expected Grand Theft Star Fox ,rather than a classic title that builds on what captivated audiences in the first place. This is an all around fun game that most everyone can enjoy over and over again.
  4. EdgarB.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats different from Andross usual. AWESOME AND ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER. You can use Arwings, LandMasters, and walk on foot with an array of weapons and switch between them all. A pretty good bit of unlockables playing VS mode matches. ALl in all a great game.
  5. MylesP.
    Jul 6, 2005
    8
    Star fox is ok in all, but i could not find a computer mode in the multiplayer section. this game is sorta like halo and halo2 because of the type of vehicles you can hop on and come out of. I hope they come up with another star fox with computer mode in the multiplayer section and more weapons and vehicles you can use in the game.
  6. DerekH.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    I really enjoyed star fox for snes and i loved star fox for 64. so i expected a bad ass star fox for game cube. i was wrong, star fox adventures blew chunks. it was like playing a sorry zelda. i hated it!!! but it seemed like they finally got it back together with star fox assault. the running around part wasn't too hot, but it was still fun. the arwing and landmaster kick ass!! i
  7. RogerC.
    Feb 28, 2005
    9
    An excellent game, who's only fault is the length. Don't base your purchase off of the average "71" score. This starfox is much like starfox64, tons of action, amazing graphics, and solid voice acting.
  8. Diego
    Mar 13, 2005
    9
    I dont know why you hate this game.The on foot missions are pretty fun and the controls rock. I love this game and I think that this game is the best in the series.
  9. PaulW.
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    This game is great! If there were more missions i would give it a 10. I believe that this game is clearly underrated. I looked at some of the reviews and they just kept on saying it is a so-so game. The multi-player is excellent, and the space grahics are NICE! The Arwing and Landmaster are awesome. Walking is so-so. And about the no online, it's better playing games against friends. This game is great! If there were more missions i would give it a 10. I believe that this game is clearly underrated. I looked at some of the reviews and they just kept on saying it is a so-so game. The multi-player is excellent, and the space grahics are NICE! The Arwing and Landmaster are awesome. Walking is so-so. And about the no online, it's better playing games against friends. Online there's some people who play a game so much and so often that they are masters, but have no life. I'd rather go without online. Expand
  10. YoYo
    Jun 27, 2005
    9
    This game rocks. I thought that they should've put a co-op in the story mode. That would've been cool. Anyways, this game I definetly recomend to people who have or havent played a Star Fox game. The multiplayer i awesome. I'm sort of glad there is no online, because I like to play with someone I know like my friends. Great game, get it if you dont have it.
  11. NessaA.
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    I love this game, especially the multiplayer mode. I know it's short, but the graphics and gameplay make up for it!
  12. FoxMcCloud
    Mar 15, 2005
    8
    Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different difficulty settings and trying to get new medals. The multi-player is a blast with about twelve different weapons, all of which fill their own niche. The weapons are fairly well balanced and while none of the weapons are obsolete, some are obviously Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different difficulty settings and trying to get new medals. The multi-player is a blast with about twelve different weapons, all of which fill their own niche. The weapons are fairly well balanced and while none of the weapons are obsolete, some are obviously better than others. The game would have much better replay value though if it had bots in the multi-player and coop in the story mode. That and the fact that it's short are my only three knocks against it. It is for most a good purchase, especially if there is another person you can play against regularly. The multi-player is really what will keep it entertaining months after you get it. Expand
  13. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    I'm baffled by how low of a score this got. Star Fox Adventures was an awful Star Fox game (note it wasn't a bad game generally speaking). This game lived up to my expectations as to what a star fox game should be. The Arwing and Landmaster controls feel very familiar and I had no trouble adjusting to them. Since it was extremely difficult to unlock the On-Foot mode for multiplayer inI'm baffled by how low of a score this got. Star Fox Adventures was an awful Star Fox game (note it wasn't a bad game generally speaking). This game lived up to my expectations as to what a star fox game should be. The Arwing and Landmaster controls feel very familiar and I had no trouble adjusting to them. Since it was extremely difficult to unlock the On-Foot mode for multiplayer in star fox 64 (yes, that exists...) I only got to try that out a little bit. But it wasn't too far off from what they had in this game when you were on foot. The single player story, while not as good as star fox 64's, was very enjoyable. As a star fox fan I felt very gratified when I finished it. I actually thought it was a bit long for a star fox game, but it wasn't too long that you couldn't play through it in a sitting. This is important because with the first two (released) star fox games they have high replay values and play more like arcade games.

    In short, if you are a fan of star fox or simply a fan of 3rd person rail shooters....you should check this game out.
    Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    i don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor the boss battles were great, if only the game was longer. also, i liked the on land levels. they make good multiplayer.
  15. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    i bought this game yesterday and i wasted months trying to find a copy after the junky one i got off line.....this is yet one of my favorite games...im really impressed...the ground missions and landmasters may be a little challenging now and then but i still find this game fun....this game has a very short appeal it lasted me about four hours in bronze....and te multi player is prettyi bought this game yesterday and i wasted months trying to find a copy after the junky one i got off line.....this is yet one of my favorite games...im really impressed...the ground missions and landmasters may be a little challenging now and then but i still find this game fun....this game has a very short appeal it lasted me about four hours in bronze....and te multi player is pretty good....i can now never stop playing this game...if i could i would give this game a twelve....i highly recomend this game for fun star fox fans.... Expand
  16. May 25, 2013
    10
    Its not better than Star Fox 64, but...
    It definitely is an original after StarFox Adventures, adding air and ground combat to the franchise. After this one, I can't wait for Nintendo to make the next Star fox game.
    (Rumor has it its an FPS, which sounds cool!)
  17. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    First off, I want to get something out of the way. I have constantly heard people bash the land segments in this game due to poor controls. I agree that the default control scheme is balls, but if you change it to the twin stick control scheme, everything is fixed. With that said, this is a fantastic game. The story is greatly executed, the characters are more believable than in previousFirst off, I want to get something out of the way. I have constantly heard people bash the land segments in this game due to poor controls. I agree that the default control scheme is balls, but if you change it to the twin stick control scheme, everything is fixed. With that said, this is a fantastic game. The story is greatly executed, the characters are more believable than in previous Star Fox games, the voice acting is good, the gameplay is fun whether you are on foot, in the seat of an Arwing or at the controls of a Landmaster tank. And, to top it all off, it's easily one of the best looking games on the Gamecube, next to Resident Evil 4 and Star Fox: Adventures before it. While the campaign is rather short, it has a good amount of replay value with medals to earn and collectables to find. If you have a Gamecube, and are a fan of the franchise, pick this game up. Expand
  18. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Everything about this game is amazing. It shows heart breaking moments, like with General Pepper, and Peppy, and it is very good, and I love this game, my opinion, its the second best one. Best one is Star Fox Adventures, but this one was just AMAZING!
  19. sdc
    Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Incredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgia boners; it's different, unique, and still fun. I don't care if these foot sections reappear; I'm more than happy with them. Throw in a pre-apocalyptic atmosphere, amazing Arwing sections, graphics that'll knock your socks off, and an orchestral scoreIncredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgia boners; it's different, unique, and still fun. I don't care if these foot sections reappear; I'm more than happy with them. Throw in a pre-apocalyptic atmosphere, amazing Arwing sections, graphics that'll knock your socks off, and an orchestral score that packs a punch; we have what I believe to be Star Fox' greatest adventure. 64 not withstanding. Expand
  20. May 25, 2015
    8
    This is a really fun game ya its not the traditional star fox game with the on foot missions but those are fun too.One big thing people is that its 50% on rails and 50% foot missions which is not true because in almost all of those on foot missions you can get into a landmaster or airwing to help out you friends in the air.Dont get me wrong the game is not perfect when your on foot theThis is a really fun game ya its not the traditional star fox game with the on foot missions but those are fun too.One big thing people is that its 50% on rails and 50% foot missions which is not true because in almost all of those on foot missions you can get into a landmaster or airwing to help out you friends in the air.Dont get me wrong the game is not perfect when your on foot the camara can be a little bit of a pain but that rarely happened to me.The story is very good it has new enemy called the aparoids which are bugs that can take over robots and machines. The story does take some sad moments which im glad they did.when i wrote this its this games 10 year aniversary so happy aniversary. Expand
  21. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    Love it or hate it, it's my favorite game out of the entire series. Sure, the controls may be annoying and the story may be way too short, but honestly, these things didn't really bother me that much. Despite it's length, The story mode was well made and fleshed out , filled with emotional and epic moments that made me realize that this series can be so much more than just Star Fox 64 overLove it or hate it, it's my favorite game out of the entire series. Sure, the controls may be annoying and the story may be way too short, but honestly, these things didn't really bother me that much. Despite it's length, The story mode was well made and fleshed out , filled with emotional and epic moments that made me realize that this series can be so much more than just Star Fox 64 over and over again. The multiplayer was forgettable in my opinion and I never played it that much (probably because I had no friends). The land segments were awesome despite all the hate it got. I thought they were unique and original. Despite it's flaws, Star Fox: Assault is a great game that was criticized because it wasn't Star Fox 64.5. This was a bold step for this series and I would gladly have a Star Fox: Assault 2. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  2. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  3. Undone by the clunky and unpolished on-foot missions. Star Fox: Assault is a missed opportunity for the developers to resurrect the series, which means you probably should give this a miss too.