The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 830 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 830

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Carl
    May 6, 2006
    7
    Its well put together, and the graphics are fantastic, but the game is just too easy and the whole thing feels rushed. There arn't enough dungeons, theres not enough land, and the music is terrible. It lacks the 'magic' of previous Zeldas and comes across as kind of shallow and forgetable. It's more of a throwaway game, something Zelda has never been before.
  2. ShelbyM.
    Apr 8, 2006
    5
    it is an ok game but for the third pearl you get you don't have to do anything! when me and my BFF Rebecca were playing (we are HUGE zelda fans) we beat the deku tree and went to the place to blow up the rock slab and we were kinda hoping that we would have to do somthing to get the pearl! i mean come on! they just got lazy at that part! i mean it just comes out of the whales bell! it is an ok game but for the third pearl you get you don't have to do anything! when me and my BFF Rebecca were playing (we are HUGE zelda fans) we beat the deku tree and went to the place to blow up the rock slab and we were kinda hoping that we would have to do somthing to get the pearl! i mean come on! they just got lazy at that part! i mean it just comes out of the whales bell! and why dont you grow up in this game! if i was rating ocarina of time i would give it a ten! that is the best zelda game ever, OoT i beat that game atleast 5 times that is how much i love it! Expand
  3. GameDemon
    Aug 6, 2003
    6
    game is pretty good overall, but falls short in nearly every area (story, gameplay, etc.)
  4. DanW.
    Apr 1, 2003
    6
    As I peruse the "reviews" penned by the "critics" listed here on Metacritic, I get the impression more of a Miyamoto-san back-patting contest than of anything resembling objectivity. Indeed more shocking, however, are the reviews that touch on Wind Wakers significant flaws, and then proceed to give it a perfect score anyway. Yes, the game is gorgeous. The music and sound are passable, As I peruse the "reviews" penned by the "critics" listed here on Metacritic, I get the impression more of a Miyamoto-san back-patting contest than of anything resembling objectivity. Indeed more shocking, however, are the reviews that touch on Wind Wakers significant flaws, and then proceed to give it a perfect score anyway. Yes, the game is gorgeous. The music and sound are passable, though nothing extraordinary, usually just treading old ground again. The gameplay is a mixed bag. On the one hand, it's brilliant nearly all the time. On the other hand, the lock-on system varies from awkward to useless, and the camera is maddening, often positioning itself in the place most opposed to usefulness. In all, it's a great game with serious problems, like a supermodel with a club foot. It's certainly not a 10, or a 9. In fact, I give it a 6. Expand
  5. Dr.dream
    Jul 28, 2004
    7
    Disapointing.
  6. Puffy
    Nov 10, 2005
    7
    Here's the deal........... nintendo tryed to put the graphics based on a child look cause he is a child thru this adventure.. ii for one dont like the look ..... the game is ok ...... one down fall i found was this game has some ruff camra angles ......there is times ur really fightin the camera to stay in the riht postion .........i can name countless times were the camra woudl beHere's the deal........... nintendo tryed to put the graphics based on a child look cause he is a child thru this adventure.. ii for one dont like the look ..... the game is ok ...... one down fall i found was this game has some ruff camra angles ......there is times ur really fightin the camera to stay in the riht postion .........i can name countless times were the camra woudl be like way opssite of were i need it n the l targting not even no were near helpin....... for that fact not even goin in to postin were u need it ..it coudl use a lil more fine tunning....... one thing for sure about this game its not oot.....its a ok adventure its got good iideas ...... like havin to use a big sword to break the wood or thrown the fire thru the wood or jumpin down pots........its got its bad pints n has its good .....i ve played worse games .....if u can look past the look u may ienjoy parts of it........ this is one them games were its not for evreryone .... i suggest rentin it or playin at a frinends or borrowin it ...its not the worst game ever made.... in all honstey u have to give nintendo credit for tryin somethin new ..i think i would have gave this game a 8 if i weent for the camra angles at tiimes Expand
  7. StefanieF.
    Sep 2, 2006
    7
    this game was quite a disappointment. after i went to the two temples, i was like ok now when do i start getting te triforce whatever in the dungeons (assuming it was liek oot) and then all i had to do was sail around? what the hell! seriously, the graphics are cute, the enemies and sounds are even cute, but the dungeons? why werent there more than two dungeons? who decided to make it this game was quite a disappointment. after i went to the two temples, i was like ok now when do i start getting te triforce whatever in the dungeons (assuming it was liek oot) and then all i had to do was sail around? what the hell! seriously, the graphics are cute, the enemies and sounds are even cute, but the dungeons? why werent there more than two dungeons? who decided to make it this small? i do like how you can start aq second quest but that isnt the point. if you are looking for a zelda classic that you can beat in a week or so, then look here. Expand
  8. WingWong
    Apr 11, 2003
    7
    I think this game is pretty good, but I don't think it should have been a Zelda game. The story's plot is a little disconnected with Zelda herself. The feel of the controls, especially the L targeting and the shielding is awkward (I keep on crawling whenever I try to shield against a guy!) Overall, this game didn't really have the "Zelda" feel to it that I had been hoping I think this game is pretty good, but I don't think it should have been a Zelda game. The story's plot is a little disconnected with Zelda herself. The feel of the controls, especially the L targeting and the shielding is awkward (I keep on crawling whenever I try to shield against a guy!) Overall, this game didn't really have the "Zelda" feel to it that I had been hoping for. Though it was not a Zelda material, it would have been a superior game if it was its own series. Expand
  9. YourasA.
    Jul 3, 2003
    7
    Oke game.
  10. RobR.
    Apr 20, 2005
    7
    Gorgeous graphics, big cohesive world. But where's the beef? Too much time wasted on the empty ocean and changing wind direciton, not enough game inbetween. There are lots of sidequests to do (a'la Majora's Mask, which is a good thing), but getting anywhere in this game is such a chore, and you frankly don't need the heart pieces anyway. OOT and Majora's Mask were Gorgeous graphics, big cohesive world. But where's the beef? Too much time wasted on the empty ocean and changing wind direciton, not enough game inbetween. There are lots of sidequests to do (a'la Majora's Mask, which is a good thing), but getting anywhere in this game is such a chore, and you frankly don't need the heart pieces anyway. OOT and Majora's Mask were really far bigger games, despite the N64's limitations. They really needed to spend another year adding more dungeons and making some of the islands bigger. The game has hints of brilliance but fell quite a bit short of what it should have, given the capacity of the GameCube. Expand
  11. JackintheBox
    May 11, 2003
    6
    Very disappointing compared to Ocarina of Time. It feels more like a step back for the franchise than a leap forward. I don't like the looks, the animation is glitchy (guards sticking *through* the barrel Link is hiding in, etc.) and it feels as a very empty, sterile world. Fortunately it came with a bonusdisc, and I'm actually playing through Masterquest and enjoying it a whole Very disappointing compared to Ocarina of Time. It feels more like a step back for the franchise than a leap forward. I don't like the looks, the animation is glitchy (guards sticking *through* the barrel Link is hiding in, etc.) and it feels as a very empty, sterile world. Fortunately it came with a bonusdisc, and I'm actually playing through Masterquest and enjoying it a whole lot more than Wind Waker. Collapse
  12. DuncanS.
    Jul 25, 2003
    6
    This is so pathetic compared to the Ocarina of Time!!! I was waiting to be amazed by realistic graphics like i was when Ocarina came out. WHY GO CARTOONY?!?! They used the name to their advantage hoping that it would bring them success. Well what do you know? If this game had been named "The path of Dean: Wind Waker" or something that didnt have the zelda name attached, people wouldnt This is so pathetic compared to the Ocarina of Time!!! I was waiting to be amazed by realistic graphics like i was when Ocarina came out. WHY GO CARTOONY?!?! They used the name to their advantage hoping that it would bring them success. Well what do you know? If this game had been named "The path of Dean: Wind Waker" or something that didnt have the zelda name attached, people wouldnt have liked it as much. As for the plot, the story line is so predictable, that a 6 year old would know how the whole thing goes after 5 min of game time. Game play is the only strong aspect of this game. I like all the cool weapons that you recieve. The sailing annoys me to the point that i want to fast forward my life half an hour to get to the next island! Expand
  13. MichelleL.
    Oct 14, 2006
    5
    I love Zelda and bought a GC just to play Zelda on, however I was disappointed in this game. I hated how you had to sail everywhere, it took forever and even when you warped to places, having to change the wind direction and such, was a pain. There were not enough dungeons and the graphics were so cartoony and cheesey, not what I was used to with the N64 Zelda games. All in all, I played I love Zelda and bought a GC just to play Zelda on, however I was disappointed in this game. I hated how you had to sail everywhere, it took forever and even when you warped to places, having to change the wind direction and such, was a pain. There were not enough dungeons and the graphics were so cartoony and cheesey, not what I was used to with the N64 Zelda games. All in all, I played it because it was Zelda. Took me almost 2 years to finish because I disliked it so much. The only reason I did finish the game was because I have beaten all other Zelda games and wanted to keep my record. Expand
  14. SpotR
    Nov 8, 2009
    6
    The game is not that good. It starts out fun and exciting but gets boring really fast. Sailing is a major pain. Changing the wind whenever you want to go a different direction gets old really fast. Also, you cant enjoy the dungeons because for half of them, you have to control another character as well as yourself.
  15. Lev
    Aug 23, 2009
    6
    At first, the new graphical style looked very lively and refreshing, but it gets dull very soon. There aren't much new gameplay elements compared to OoT, and as many others stated before me, the sailing part is very boring, the using the windwaker is boring, the dungeons are that great and well...I think Nintendo should just just stop raping Zelda. OoT was very good for it's own At first, the new graphical style looked very lively and refreshing, but it gets dull very soon. There aren't much new gameplay elements compared to OoT, and as many others stated before me, the sailing part is very boring, the using the windwaker is boring, the dungeons are that great and well...I think Nintendo should just just stop raping Zelda. OoT was very good for it's own time and is still a decent game. But it was enough once. I have to say that I really liked the intro though. The lino-cut ,(or maybe fake lino-cut) stilized images were great. Expand
  16. ChrisCamp
    Jul 31, 2003
    6
    It's got gorgeous graphics, good controls and good sound. And the new battle features are great too. But I was put off by the fact that the dungeons are so easy to crack. In Ocarina of Time, you would find a new item (such as the hookshot) and return to an old dungeon that you'd already beat and find more treasure using the hookshot. In this one, you can get every treasure in It's got gorgeous graphics, good controls and good sound. And the new battle features are great too. But I was put off by the fact that the dungeons are so easy to crack. In Ocarina of Time, you would find a new item (such as the hookshot) and return to an old dungeon that you'd already beat and find more treasure using the hookshot. In this one, you can get every treasure in the dungeon the first time through. It's a good game but nowhere near as deep and addictive as OOT Expand
  17. DemonicAngel
    Sep 25, 2004
    6
    As much as I wanted to buy into the hype and love this game, it just failed to pique my interest and ultimately got consigned to the "preowned" section at my local consumer electronics store. The graphics (including art and design) and sound are top-notch. The gameplay was fun for a while, but soon lost its appeal. Controls are about average, and the camera, while not as detestable as As much as I wanted to buy into the hype and love this game, it just failed to pique my interest and ultimately got consigned to the "preowned" section at my local consumer electronics store. The graphics (including art and design) and sound are top-notch. The gameplay was fun for a while, but soon lost its appeal. Controls are about average, and the camera, while not as detestable as that in Super Mario Sunshine, really does not help matters. A rent-first. (And, I might add - Nintendo could do with getting its act together, sharpish. Of the big N's main 3 franchises, only Metroid Prime was any good, and it was third-party developed. Both SMS and Zelda, developed in-house by Nintendo, were seriously underwhelming. Miyamoto-san, take note.) Expand
  18. Gareth
    Nov 4, 2005
    5
    Not the worst game ever as someone said here but its easliy the worst Zelda since the 2D one years back. The game itself is about 5 hours long with the rest of the time spent sailing aimlessly. Decent graphics and a cool black and white level and pirate hideout level cant compensate for lack of gameplay, lack of imagination and poor level design. Free with my copy came a bonus disc of Not the worst game ever as someone said here but its easliy the worst Zelda since the 2D one years back. The game itself is about 5 hours long with the rest of the time spent sailing aimlessly. Decent graphics and a cool black and white level and pirate hideout level cant compensate for lack of gameplay, lack of imagination and poor level design. Free with my copy came a bonus disc of Ocarena of time...which, well, is far far better and is a great reason to buy this if they still come packaged together. Other wise, dont bother, wait till the new one gets here or...i dunno...buy a playstation... Expand
  19. DanB.
    Nov 15, 2006
    5
    REPETITIVE. Having to fight the same bosses at the end that you already beat earlier in the game felt like they were artificially inflating the length of the game. Sailing was BORING and took forever. Having to watch the same 15 second animation over and over again when you changed wind direction was annoying. By the end of the game, I just didnt care anymore if I finished it or not.
  20. MaryK.
    May 17, 2006
    6
    The graphics wern't the best. It was annoying to have to change the wind direction all the time. It was fun exploring. Over all OOT was the best.
  21. GamingLlama
    Sep 22, 2007
    5
    I actually found the sailing quite fun. I liked discovering new islands and such which weren't on the map. I also enjoyed using Link's sword and the variety of combo attacks. The windwaker gets less lame once you learn how to do more than just control wind with it. The plot line is good--a boy from a small island village who goes off to rescue his kidnapped sister and ends up in I actually found the sailing quite fun. I liked discovering new islands and such which weren't on the map. I also enjoyed using Link's sword and the variety of combo attacks. The windwaker gets less lame once you learn how to do more than just control wind with it. The plot line is good--a boy from a small island village who goes off to rescue his kidnapped sister and ends up in an epic quest to fight the darkness of evil. There were a couple things about this game that frustrated me, however. One is the limit to rupies and such, and having to find faeries to increase your capacity. The only reason why I was able to find 90% of the faeries I did manage to find was because I accidently ran into them by sailing. And I haven't found all of them yet. Another was when Link has to swing across ropes on the pirate ship to get the bombs. No enemies here, just moving ropes. It's way too boring and pointless to be the main part of the plot that it is. It'd be better off as a mini game. Then you can't even fight for the majority of the first dungeon. Just sneak past the guards and avoid the rabid animals. It's fun for the first couple hours, but then constantly getting lost in an endless maze in which you can't even take out your frustration on passing enemies is not fun at all. I had to rely on a walkthrough for this level, which completely defeats the whole point of actually playing the game. Which brings me to my last point. The dungeons are extremely large and complicated, but they're basically empty. The few monsters that do pop up are so wimpy, it makes Link seem like some cold hearted bully. As the game goes on monsters become more numerous and difficult, but they still aren't enough for the complexity of the dungeons. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    first off the graphics much like every one where shunning when it was first shown (and rightfully so) are rancid dog crap . i dont know what nintendo was thinking going for this dorky saturday morning cartoon look . that aside you still have the solid zelda gameplay and puzzles . problem is its not near enough its just to short . looking at ocarana of time which was 40-60 hours this gamefirst off the graphics much like every one where shunning when it was first shown (and rightfully so) are rancid dog crap . i dont know what nintendo was thinking going for this dorky saturday morning cartoon look . that aside you still have the solid zelda gameplay and puzzles . problem is its not near enough its just to short . looking at ocarana of time which was 40-60 hours this game is easily beatin in 20 hours and yes thats not doing every thing in the game but a good chunck of it . you could toss in another 10 hours if you do and thats mainly do to all the sailing you will be doing . infact thats what you will be spending about 30% or more of your time doing ... sailing a boat ... it just doesnt have the magic that ocarana of time or prevous zelda games had but is still heald together by its core game play and puzzles . deffinitly not recommended for any one new to the zelda franchise and only the hardcore and i mean the very hardcore and thoose who can get past thoose pissy looking graphics . dont defend them look at twighlight princess .. thats how this game should have looked and it should have had more dungeons and alot less sailing. Expand
  23. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    To be fair, I played through the game multiple times and finished the game twice. There are no flaws with the game that include gameplay, glitches, or anything bad. But there is one thing that has completely killed the mood of the game. It is the reason why my friends who borrow the game from me never finished it. The problem is the part where you are collecting the Triforce Shards.To be fair, I played through the game multiple times and finished the game twice. There are no flaws with the game that include gameplay, glitches, or anything bad. But there is one thing that has completely killed the mood of the game. It is the reason why my friends who borrow the game from me never finished it. The problem is the part where you are collecting the Triforce Shards. The task requires collecting about 3200 ruppies, 21 joy pendants, and collecting the triforce charts, decoding them with said ruppies, and then going out and fetching them. It took me forever to find out how to get into the Oasis for the last triforce chart. I can't believe I am saying this but at least in OOT Navi would give you a hint on where to go, sure she yells HEY way too much but at least she probably could have told me to go to outset island to start. This whole sequence with the shards ruin the experience and slows the game down, and it's very unfortunate because before this you were in 3 dungeons that reveal a lot and get you immersed in the game, but then this whole triforce shard part shows up and it's a complete buzzkill. Expand
  24. I.Lynch
    Mar 25, 2006
    7
    I wanted desperatly to reall like this game, but it just doesnt feel right. But nintendo did pull of the cell shading perfectly.
  25. MigElev
    May 22, 2003
    5
    Ok game, but it gets borring very fast:/
  26. TedL.
    May 31, 2003
    5
    This is a highly overrated game. The graphics are fine. Very cartoony, but the story was ridiculous, unless you're 7 or younger. I felt like the second half of the game wasn't even there, the game actually became easier as I played through it. I've never played a game like that before. Nintendo rushed this game out, so if you have to play windwaker play it for about an hour This is a highly overrated game. The graphics are fine. Very cartoony, but the story was ridiculous, unless you're 7 or younger. I felt like the second half of the game wasn't even there, the game actually became easier as I played through it. I've never played a game like that before. Nintendo rushed this game out, so if you have to play windwaker play it for about an hour and then give it to your kid brother. Expand
  27. Mike
    Mar 11, 2004
    7
    If you're a real zelda fan the graphics won't matter to you. but there's a little too much sillyness with the looks of the poeple. all in all it pretty much followed the zelda story except with the botan and talking boat.
  28. CodyK.
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    This is a very cool game. The graphics and animation are great and the story is not that bad, but the major downfall of this game is the pacing. The game lurches in story because of one of the most annoying and time consuming features that the game prides itself on
  29. DaveB.
    Nov 18, 2003
    7
    It's fun, it's a quality game, but it's not just a tad too childish, it's way too childish! I hope that the sequel is similar, but aimed at a broader audience.
  30. A.W.
    Nov 4, 2003
    5
    Pretty average. Ok, the dungeons were quite good and even though i'm against the cel-shading graphics, they are very good, but it's too short, the sailing and wind changing is one of the most tedious things i've ever done and, because of all the islands and finding maps etc., i could not be bothered doing all the side quests and mini games. 'nuff said.
  31. Apr 7, 2012
    7
    Wind Waker is a pretty much a perfect game that suddenly and unexpectedly shoots itself in the foot. The graphical style is a love-it-or-hate-it type of affair. I really fell on the former side of that argument. I think the visuals are super-cute, colorful and expressive. The general gameplay and dungeons are superb, bringing out all the best traits of the Zelda franchise: Tight controls,Wind Waker is a pretty much a perfect game that suddenly and unexpectedly shoots itself in the foot. The graphical style is a love-it-or-hate-it type of affair. I really fell on the former side of that argument. I think the visuals are super-cute, colorful and expressive. The general gameplay and dungeons are superb, bringing out all the best traits of the Zelda franchise: Tight controls, imaginative puzzle, spectacular bosses... Just perfect! Then... BANG!! You're sent off on a seemingly endless fetch-quest across the ocean, finding shards of the tri-force that have been hidden around the world. No more dungeons or bosses. Just you, your boat and a map. I know that actually sounds like fun, but it's really not. It's just busy work you have to suffer through to reach the finale. BUT ... When you finally do emerge from all that crap, you'll find that the end sequences and final boss of the game are truly unforgettable. So, just about worth holding out for. Expand
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    The wind waker has a great storyline and fairly good character development. The sword fighting aspect is better than in any zelda so far and the new parry attack is a welcome addition to links move set. What is a let-down with this game is that part of the game was rushed to get it out for the fans. Instead of having two extra dungeons a tedious fetch quest which lasts for several hoursThe wind waker has a great storyline and fairly good character development. The sword fighting aspect is better than in any zelda so far and the new parry attack is a welcome addition to links move set. What is a let-down with this game is that part of the game was rushed to get it out for the fans. Instead of having two extra dungeons a tedious fetch quest which lasts for several hours was implemented, and quite frankly along with the tedious sailing around it spoiled the game. I had no fun playing it and it is the part I dread when I go to relay the game. The final boss was also a joke, he was far too easy and after being built up to be an uber powerful villain he ended up being a pushover. I also find that this game is not for a mainstream audience. The childish cartoony look is not only lacking detail (at some points the villains abnormally large nose is invisible) but does not appeal to the masses and I find it to be the least visually appealing in any 3d console zelda title. I will say that the dungeon music is bland, but the rest of the soundtrack is very good even if it is Midi. All in all worth a buy if you are a fan of Zelda, just not what I would say best represents the series. Expand
  33. May 21, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great character development, Very enjoyable but standard plot and Excellent soundtrack The quirky and silly nature of link is enjoyable but the boat rides were simply boring. Maybe I'm blinded by Nostalgia but the Ocarina of Time horse rides didn't feel this boring. My guess is the lack of naval combat in the game. The "Temples" were fun for the most part and employed classic's like the hookshot but also added new mechanics like the flying leaf. It's a must buy for young children who enjoy puzzle games, which I would think is a niche market. Expand
  34. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    It brought an easy to control camera, fluent animation and a feeling of continuity to the franchise. The game feels rushed during the second half of the plot, though, and spending so much time just getting from one island to another gets tedious pretty soon.
  35. Jan 29, 2014
    6
    I would like say this is my opinion so if this bothers you its not my fault but i thought about half of this game was tedious mainly the triforce shards. If I wanted a collectathon game id play banjo kazooie. which was a great game but the sailing and the collecting is dumb,one last thing making tingle apart of this game was so stupid or is that just my i give this a 6/10
  36. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wind waker is a game I see in a bit of an awkward spot. It is never easy to follow up 2 of the best games of all time, and because of that everyone who saw the original trailer was skeptical. Now about 10 years later lets have a look back on this game. Well for one, the graphic still look fine, better than the re release in fact with those awful amounts of bloom. Problems begin with the sailing. I know some people love it, but i just saw it as unbearable, too little stretched over too much. changing the winds was also a tedious process that deserves mentioning. Anyway, the game controls alright in all other aspects, but heres my main gripe. WW represents the fact that the legend of zelda has no idea what to do after being the best game ever. Its like the boston red sox, unable to follow a succesful year and instead just saying hey remember that. I hate how (SPOILER... is the one person who hasent plaid this gone? good) you visit hyrule, because it shows a game that wants to associate with oot. its the 2nd fiddle trying to hand out with first chair, following him around taking notes. Mabey the one other "problem" ww fixed was it gave link a personality, but why does he need that? He was fine as a blank hero forced into a role, there was no problem with that. In every zelda game the enemies had been more interesting than the hero, and theres no problem with that. Finaly, lets discuss gameplay. Its zelda, it hasent changed. its good, reliable, but my problem with windwaker it lacks variety. MM added the masks and an interesting attack pattern, oot set the foundation. ww goes back to square one on this. dungeon design is interesting, but without any great items (besides the deku leaf) it lacks a fun way to explore. So all in all, i cant say ww was bad, but it refused to be the leap loz needed to stay with the times. It almost represents nintendo entirely, saying hey remember when we made (every nintendo series ever) lets make it again. sequels are only good if they add somthing nintendo. all in all ww needed to do more, but was never bad to play, just boring Expand
  37. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    Easy bosses, very few dungeons and an unimaginative world with islands that serve little purpose. My least favorite 3D Zelda game. If all islands were expanded upon and contained interesting and unique locations, the score would be much higher.
  38. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    Wind Waker is another favorable entry into the Zelda franchise. For me, I wasn't a big fan of the graphics. Looks like this type of graphics were you like it, or you don't. This was only part of the problem I had with this particular game. The story for me was too short, and it lacked that vast open world exploring which I expected so much from Wind Waker. The temples weren't thatWind Waker is another favorable entry into the Zelda franchise. For me, I wasn't a big fan of the graphics. Looks like this type of graphics were you like it, or you don't. This was only part of the problem I had with this particular game. The story for me was too short, and it lacked that vast open world exploring which I expected so much from Wind Waker. The temples weren't that challenging, and some, like the Forbidden Forest and Wind Temple, were very boring and not compelling. The final boss fight with Ganon however was incredible. Having the doomed Hyrule wash away while the Hero of Time fought against evil itself is what made this boss fight one of the best in the franchise. So overall, good game, but not alot of action until the very end. Otherwise, worth the money. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  2. 100
    When one picks up the controller, the ability to step into that time and place (never more hauntingly beautiful than in this latest instalment) never loses its allure. Even the most hardened of cynics would have to admit that this title is something else entirely. It's the stuff of dreams. [JPN Import]
  3. 100
    Simply a stunning, magical game.