The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1082 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mac
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    To everybody complaining about the graphics, would you rather Nintendo do the same boring thing that almost every other comany does of just making their games more life-like? Or would you rather they create them like art, which is what a truly good game is. Zelda has always been cartoony, and that's not just due to graphics restrictions. I'd say that OoT was the exception, not the rule.
  2. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    When the Wind Waker first was introduced I honestly wasn
  3. MichaelK.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the joy of experiencing. Expand
  4. SeanM.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought Ocarina Of Time was good but then I realized how good A Link To The Past was for SNES. I realized that games with cartoon graphics are way the hell better because they concentrate on the story more. You want to get sucked in to the game. Thats what Zelda is all about. I know that SNES is old but still A Link To The Past is the best game ever made and I'm positive this game will kick as much ass as the SNES version did. NUFF SAID! Expand
  5. BLove
    May 6, 2003
    10
    The only complaint that I have is the game is a little too short. However, I simply can't give it less than a 10 as much as I enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next zelda on the gamecube.
  6. SamG.
    May 7, 2003
    10
    I haven't played this game yet but I a Zelda Fan!!! So I don't care what it looks like because its not about the graphics. Its about what type of game you like.
  7. ErikF.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    Best game ever!
  8. ChaCha
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Incredible. All you people talk about are the cartoon like graphics, but once I played through the game, I couldn't imagine anything else. Tell me what game can you sail stormy seas, fight gigantic creatures from the depths of the ocean, and watch clouds form and move in the sky. This game is truely a dream. No this game doesn't have the dungeon depth in the Ocarina of Time, but Incredible. All you people talk about are the cartoon like graphics, but once I played through the game, I couldn't imagine anything else. Tell me what game can you sail stormy seas, fight gigantic creatures from the depths of the ocean, and watch clouds form and move in the sky. This game is truely a dream. No this game doesn't have the dungeon depth in the Ocarina of Time, but I love its courage to explore the Zelda universe and actually include more defined NPC's. I rank it up there with A Link to the Past. Expand
  9. CozoniW.
    Jan 3, 2004
    9
    My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The exploring over the oceans was flawed to say the least, became a little repetitive just when you thought the action was hotting up and also wasnt that difficult - expecially when you are flipping between Metroid Prime and Pro evolution soccer 3 which My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The exploring over the oceans was flawed to say the least, became a little repetitive just when you thought the action was hotting up and also wasnt that difficult - expecially when you are flipping between Metroid Prime and Pro evolution soccer 3 which really are hard! But you have to give it at least a 9 because it is part of a select few games who are on a different planet to 90% of other games. Expand
  10. JarkkoJ.
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    I think this game is one of the best games ever made. Graphics are fantastic and gameplay is excellent. There is only one bad thing... it was too easy.
  11. LiNkZB.
    Apr 20, 2004
    9
    I loved this game, I finished it twice and I don't get bored by it, although OoT is better in my opinion I still give this game a 9 ^_^.
  12. JoseM.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This i sthe second best zelda game to ocarina of time I hate those who say the graphics are whack i say "who cares it ain'tbout graphics it the gameply" and this game blew me away.
  13. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The best game of 2003! The story line is excellent and exiting. The cell shaded graphics are unique but top notch and the gameplay is great. The controls are basically the same as OoT's, and the puzzles are the same wonderful zelda goodness. Best zelda game next to Ocarina of Time of course. A must have for any GCN owner!
  14. LisaI.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker was great game.there was nothing wrong about it.but i still thinkMajoras Mask and Ocarina of time were better games including the better graphics Lisa xxx
  15. MichaelW.
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    Zelda WW was a great game. I bought into the animation style and I enjoyed the story. My only complaint about this game was in the pacing. I felt that too many time, especially near the beginning of the game, I was sailing for what felt like hours on end. This problem is the one reason that I have not played this game through multiple times, like I have done for other Zelda games. It is Zelda WW was a great game. I bought into the animation style and I enjoyed the story. My only complaint about this game was in the pacing. I felt that too many time, especially near the beginning of the game, I was sailing for what felt like hours on end. This problem is the one reason that I have not played this game through multiple times, like I have done for other Zelda games. It is the one thing that keeps this very good game from becoming truly great. Expand
  16. BenjaminB.
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Almost the whole game is perfect. It has amazing graphics which you cannot do better when you use cel-shading. the sound always perfectly fits in. The only problem is that it is for Zelda fans, who played most games of this series, a bit too easy - especially the last boss fight. Another problem is that almost right before the end the search for the parts of the triforce is a bit annoying Almost the whole game is perfect. It has amazing graphics which you cannot do better when you use cel-shading. the sound always perfectly fits in. The only problem is that it is for Zelda fans, who played most games of this series, a bit too easy - especially the last boss fight. Another problem is that almost right before the end the search for the parts of the triforce is a bit annoying but finally I have to say when do not have this game you miss a masterpiece in gaming history. Expand
  17. WilhelmB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    The music, the bosses, the enviroment, the animations, have left a permanent imprint on me of what an amazing game should be.
  18. supert0n
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This is the best game in the world!The gameplay works perfectly,and the graphics has its own original style,making the game brilliant,and the storyline is perfect,you must play it!
  19. GreekBoyAndrew
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    OK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that the graphics are ok however they don't use the potenital of the gamecube. What people don't realise is that its not just the graphics, its the fact that link is small, skinny and gay looking. Can the hero of time really look as stupid????? on theOK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that the graphics are ok however they don't use the potenital of the gamecube. What people don't realise is that its not just the graphics, its the fact that link is small, skinny and gay looking. Can the hero of time really look as stupid????? on the other hand if the graphics were the same but he was big, musclular and a hard ass then i dont think anyone would complain! in conclusion i feel that you should go out and buy this game because the storyline, gameplay and whole atmosphere of the game is amazing. you can't rate this game after 30 mins of playing it! Expand
  20. Sariachan
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best Zelda game I ever played, I loved Link's new style of fighting, the cell-shaded graphics, the soundtrack, and the overall greatness of this game.
  21. TylerL.
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    I'm so sick and tired of people who judges the book by its cover. Like Tom said its judged on how it is played not by how childish it looks. If you even played the game you will love it just as much as the previous Zelda games.
  22. NickB.
    Feb 24, 2003
    9
    I'm sick of everyone say that this game looks stupid because of the cartoonish graphics. I bet not one of the people that have gave it a bad score because of that have not played the demo. I played the demo at the store and the game is awesome. The level you get to play has lava all over the place and the screen actually kinda waves from the heat, like when you look over the fire. I'm sick of everyone say that this game looks stupid because of the cartoonish graphics. I bet not one of the people that have gave it a bad score because of that have not played the demo. I played the demo at the store and the game is awesome. The level you get to play has lava all over the place and the screen actually kinda waves from the heat, like when you look over the fire. It's an awesome game and I can't wait to play the whole thing. Expand
  23. JerradH.
    Mar 13, 2003
    8
    Fun game and a worthy edition to the Zelda series, but because of the graphical style that I really don't care for (I don't mind kiddie Link, I just don't like toddler meth-addict Link), and the occasional bit of boring repetitiveness in the gameplay department, its still not as good as Ocarina of Time, and Metroid Prime still rules the Gamecube roost.
  24. Ness
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off Link. All the sudden it had been interpreted as Nintendo's new strategy, and that was a shock for us. When it comes to Nintendo strategy, it's not that we want to make games for kids. It's that we want to make them creative while appealing to a wider audience. Obviously we see games as entertainment, and we want to find the best way to make the gameplay experience entertaining for everyone." -Shigeru Miyamoto Expand
  25. Mr.Wha
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    Da Best! NUFF SAID.
  26. NikoB.
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    This is truly a great game. The cell-shading animation takes nothing away from the game, and only adds to its creativity. Gameplay is easy to understand, and this Zelda has the best fighting in any of the games. Definitely one of the two best Zeldas.
  27. RyanM.
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    This game has so much style that I have to agree with the comments from the majority of the magazines. There will be no finer gaming experience this year. Miyamoto strikes again!
  28. BrianS.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    How someone can give this a 3 is beyond me. The graphics are great, especially the animation, and the gameplay is classic.
  29. Diogoluz
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    its super colorfull and the controls are very easy.
  30. MikeM.
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    Great Game!!!
  31. RemainingNameless
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    this game is wicked!!!!!!! the bosses r kinda easy though, but thats ok becuz the battle with ganon at the end was the best. finally zelda showed that she was useful 4 something other than screaming. even though the graphics r kinda screwed and the game is short, i think it was an amazing segment 2 the L.o.Z series! wicked game!!!!!!!!
  32. JackR.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This game is freakin' amazing. I've been playing it now for about 4 nights and I still keep seeing things that make me say "Wow!". The graphics are gorgeous, the sound is well done, the music is great, the control is tight, the story is amazing, and the game overall is just very well polished. However, there are a few flaws. The camera can be annoying at times, although this This game is freakin' amazing. I've been playing it now for about 4 nights and I still keep seeing things that make me say "Wow!". The graphics are gorgeous, the sound is well done, the music is great, the control is tight, the story is amazing, and the game overall is just very well polished. However, there are a few flaws. The camera can be annoying at times, although this problem plagues almost all 3d games. Traveling the map sometimes feels tedious. Certain repetitive sounds like Link yapping when he jumps can be annoying. These few problems are minor however, and don't detract overall from my enjoyment of the game. This game is so polished and does so well in keeping me interested and amazed that I gave it a 10. Expand
  33. ChristopherG.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This is my favorite game ever!!!!!!!!
  34. D.C.
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    Ups: Awesome graphics and visuals, incredible environments, great overall theme, fun combat and cool new items Downs: The Ocarina was better than the Windwaker, but if you're patient and don't mind sailing A LOT then there isn't much to complain about.
  35. Chris
    May 13, 2003
    10
    Yeah, it's a bit easy in places... But it is, without doubt, the most enjoyable game I've ever played, OoT included. Explore the whole(enormous) world and it'll last for ages..
  36. KeeganM.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, it is easily thebest games I've ever played... except maybe ocarina of Time. And once you get used to the cartoon-style graphics, you'll see how much better they can animate the game.
  37. SamA.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    Just got it and it is the best game ever! When you see the screenshots of it it looks rubbish but in action its as smooth as a babies bum. 10/10? Definitely
  38. MattR.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda has done it again. Expand
  39. AmberT.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Absolutely brilliant!!!!
  40. BrennanL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    This game is my #2 favorite Zelda only topped by Ocarina of Time this a Must-Buy for everyone even those who don't like Zelda if u can overlook the flaws of it's easiness and it's short story.
  41. AndoryuU.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    This game surpasses all others, an outstading play for all ages!
  42. AmyC.
    Jun 7, 2003
    9
    The graphics are cool, the plot is thorough (many twists), and it's overall VERY fun. But here are the reasons I gave it a 9 rather than a 10: 1)That annoying TETRA! I mean, I know she's important (especially when you find out who she really is) but I found her to be extremely unlikable and I couldn't care less about anything bad happening to her. In fact, I really just The graphics are cool, the plot is thorough (many twists), and it's overall VERY fun. But here are the reasons I gave it a 9 rather than a 10: 1)That annoying TETRA! I mean, I know she's important (especially when you find out who she really is) but I found her to be extremely unlikable and I couldn't care less about anything bad happening to her. In fact, I really just wanted her to get killed by that bird. I mean, everytime I play this game with someone they constantly say (and i constantly say) "I hate that girl" or "When's that stupid girl gonna die?" I swear, I haven't met a single person who thought she was "cool". I mean she comes in handy, but I just didn't like her character. 2) Some of the adult characters such as the king of Hyrule, Ganon, and Zelda looked horrible as a cartoon. I mean, when they turned around so you could see their face, I burst out laughing and it was such a serious moment. I couldn't look at either one of them with out busting up. Zelda had makeup smeared on her (strangely enough, she had that problem in OoT) and a head that you could tell was bigger than her body. Ganon was fat and had sideburns bigger than the ones he had in OoT. And the king of hyrule was just plain creeeepy. Sorry, but I couldn't stand seeing them as cartoons. So I'd rather have them look more real. Plus, the plot seems less dark with cartoons. Overall, Windwaker is fantastic, but there were a couple of negatives I couldn't stand. But whatever, what do I know?! Expand
  43. CarolynB.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    The legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is awesome! im always excited to see new boses and i love the animation. its a hard game with all the puzzles, but thats what makes so cool. this is why i rate this a 10.
  44. GameKing
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best GC game ive ever played (except for super smash bros melee.) i havnt even finished it and i still think its the best!!!!!! all my friends that have a GC have it. theres monsters to fight chalenges to take on etc.this is y i gave it a 10.
  45. AzizK.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    LINK IS DA@BEST!
  46. DanielM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I do not know how anyone can live without this game.
  47. JonathanA.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I love this game, Its non-stop action!!!!!!
  48. Mercury
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Perfection.
  49. ArneL.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    It's great... everybody that says it's to similar to oot are right but oot is the best game of all time so thats not a bad score. if you don´t have it buy it.
  50. AndreB.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing. It is utterly perfect in every aspect. The graphics are beautiful. They look as good as any Xbox or PC game. The sound is great, including the music. The gameplay is perfect. This game has some of the best gameplay ever. It really feels like Zelda, even with the cel-shaded graphics. Of course it caused controversy, but now that I've played it I couldn't This game is amazing. It is utterly perfect in every aspect. The graphics are beautiful. They look as good as any Xbox or PC game. The sound is great, including the music. The gameplay is perfect. This game has some of the best gameplay ever. It really feels like Zelda, even with the cel-shaded graphics. Of course it caused controversy, but now that I've played it I couldn't imagine this game without cel-shading. Anyway, this game is perfect. Expand
  51. TedWilsonMattosdeAzevedo
    May 5, 2004
    10
    It´s the game of the year, that´s for sure, some people can talk bad about the game, but who told that never played thegame well, I have this game, I finished, and I can say one thing: This is one of the best games ever created. Perfect cel-shading graphics, incredible battle style, the sea, everything is perfect, the only thing that don´t get to be a problem is because It´s the game of the year, that´s for sure, some people can talk bad about the game, but who told that never played thegame well, I have this game, I finished, and I can say one thing: This is one of the best games ever created. Perfect cel-shading graphics, incredible battle style, the sea, everything is perfect, the only thing that don´t get to be a problem is because the game is a bit short compared to the other Zeldas. But this game is perfect. even with that little defect. Expand
  52. AndyX.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games on Gamecube so far. I don't know how you people could say this game was short....could be since this is the first zelda game I ever played (still took me weeks to beat). The only other adventure game that gave me this much fun is Metal gear solid: twin snakes.
  53. JennaS.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Wonderful graphics and awesome gameplay! One of my favorites.
  54. BryantJ.
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    OOT wasnt that great, I think Majora's Mask was the best but this was a great game also... NEVER judge a game by its graphics!
  55. LinkZ.
    Oct 14, 2006
    9
    It was a great game, the graphics weren't that bad and it had a lot of side quests so you could play it for a year and you still didn't do all quests. There where just two things that bugged me. The triforce in chests in the sea. They may have been in a dungeon in Hyrule, but it would have been better if you had to go into those dungeons. And that brings me to my second point: It was a great game, the graphics weren't that bad and it had a lot of side quests so you could play it for a year and you still didn't do all quests. There where just two things that bugged me. The triforce in chests in the sea. They may have been in a dungeon in Hyrule, but it would have been better if you had to go into those dungeons. And that brings me to my second point: Hyrule. I don't like it being underwater, but it would have been sooooooooooo much better if you could explore the dungeons. But hey, if that would happen i couldn't vote because it would have been a 100 out of 10. But it does have a great storyline and, like all Zelda's, it brings something new in the world of gaming. Expand
  56. RobertF.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Super! Graphics are incredible and longer than people think. Get past the Forsaken Forteress and then the fun with the sword will begin! The BOOMERANG is mega fun!
  57. AnthonyL.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Ok, this was just wonderful. The graphics, the sound and the gameplay are all just top notch. the game was perfect!! If I has to find something to complain about maybe the sailing around the ocean got a tad redundant. this is just one of those games on the Gamecube like Metroid Prime the PS2 and Xbox can never touch.
  58. AdamF.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    This game is simply perfect. The art is unique and stylish, the overworld is huge, the sailing mechanic is original and fun, the dungeons are brilliant (as always) and for the first time in Zelda, the characters feel like actual people instead of figures to sell stuff or move the story along. Anyone saying this is not "true" Zelda is just plain wrong.
  59. FergusP.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    A legendary tragedy.It seems that everybody relates this game to it's biggger, bolder and more universally acclaimed brother OOT. At the end of the day this is a sparkling jewel that few will have the time to appreciate.
  60. AlexC
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    The sailing feature is brilliant, and the ability to control the wind makes this one of the best zelda games ever. A must if you have a gamecube.
  61. JordanG
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    This game is amazing but it requires patience. I'll say that. I greatly enjoyed exploring the vast seas but I do see why it is criticised for the long journeys. Gameplay elements remained mostly the same as other Zelda titles, but that never was a bad thing. The graphics were revolutionary, although I wouldn't say I'd ever want another home-console Zelda game to be This game is amazing but it requires patience. I'll say that. I greatly enjoyed exploring the vast seas but I do see why it is criticised for the long journeys. Gameplay elements remained mostly the same as other Zelda titles, but that never was a bad thing. The graphics were revolutionary, although I wouldn't say I'd ever want another home-console Zelda game to be cel-shaded. Adult Link for me please, I think the manga-esque realism of other titles emitts a better atmosphere. Expand
  62. MarkL.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    A masterpiece better than ocarina of time.
  63. JoelS.
    Oct 29, 2003
    9
    All right all you little winers out there. MAYBE, JUST MAYBE! if you guys got around the graphix and stuff like that you might realize that the game is pretty good, ok i admit, it wasn't as good as ocarina of time but it was awesome, i was intrigued by the storyline, i thought it was awesome and the only other things i didn't really like to much where, the length, being too All right all you little winers out there. MAYBE, JUST MAYBE! if you guys got around the graphix and stuff like that you might realize that the game is pretty good, ok i admit, it wasn't as good as ocarina of time but it was awesome, i was intrigued by the storyline, i thought it was awesome and the only other things i didn't really like to much where, the length, being too short, and the talking boat rather then a horse and a baton, like come on wheres the " Ocarina " that was the Bomb!!!!!!! come on you people, besides the things i just named, theres nothing "bad" about the game and if you think its too "kiddy" or you think the graphix are "gay" and think the storyline sux and that nothing about the game is any good then DON"T PLAY IT!!! WINERS!!!!!! Expand
  64. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2003
    10
    To the previous reviewer- Nice to see you TRY things first before you make a judgement about them...
  65. CliffB.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    What can do you expect, anything less. This game continues the Zelda legend with it's own superb changes. It carries on the francises name with honor.
  66. DaveN.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    The person who gave this game a 3 has some serious issues!
  67. GegM.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i've ever played in my life.
  68. StevenM.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    Truly a master peice well done Nintendo, yet another classic.
  69. DannyG.
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever! NUFF SAID.
  70. JobB.
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    I own a PS2, XBox, and a Gamecube and am known to be very hard on game reviews. I started playing this game with great skepticism, but it has been impossible to not be consistently blown away. I have beaten the import version twice and can honestly say this: That in my 15 years of gaming this is BY FAR the best piece of interactive entertainment I have come across. This game is so close I own a PS2, XBox, and a Gamecube and am known to be very hard on game reviews. I started playing this game with great skepticism, but it has been impossible to not be consistently blown away. I have beaten the import version twice and can honestly say this: That in my 15 years of gaming this is BY FAR the best piece of interactive entertainment I have come across. This game is so close to perfection I beleive Nintendo raised the bar too high for their own good. I seriously doubt any game, even Nintendo's own, will compare to this work of art in years to come. Let me summarize my review to all skeptics (whether because of the game's cel-shading or Link's age, etc) with this: The Wind Waker is the most compelling argument that interactive entertainment really is art, and everything from concept to execution are worthy of nothing less than a plethora of Academy Awards. No self-respecting gamer can call himself one if they don't pick up this game and wallow in its masterful beaufy. If you don't at the very least give "The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker" a try, you don't deserve the right to play videogames at all. Expand
  71. Mr.Bobertz
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    For all you who think this game is made for kids, you need to grow up. If Grand Theft Auto 3 was a cartoon with vegetables, youd hate it even if it was the same gameplay and missions, right? Why is it that everything cartoony is classified as "kids stuff"? What about South Park? That's animated, isn't that for kids? My point is, dont judge a game by how it looks. What lies here For all you who think this game is made for kids, you need to grow up. If Grand Theft Auto 3 was a cartoon with vegetables, youd hate it even if it was the same gameplay and missions, right? Why is it that everything cartoony is classified as "kids stuff"? What about South Park? That's animated, isn't that for kids? My point is, dont judge a game by how it looks. What lies here is a good game. Some good battle innovations, new weapons, and the GBA connectivity all add up. Personally, i like the cartoony look. It looks better than he does in Soul Calibur 2, but not as good as the demo video released before the GC was released. But I think that Orcarina of Time is better. Expand
  72. PatB.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliaint. The people who say "This game is childish" are usually 9-14 years old! They feel if they say that, then play "mature" games, like Resident Evil, they are "mature. HA! Don't listen to the people who say it's childish. They are the children.
  73. AbeH.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    This is the second best game I have ever played the first being Ocarina of Time. Its a masterpiece and do yourself a favour and buy this game. Buy two copies, one for playing and the other for collecting.
  74. ThomasW.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    A Masterpiece. It might be worse then OOT, it might be better. At this level of brillence its hard to tell. This game alone is a reason to own a Gamecube. (along with Metroid Prime, Eternal Darkness, even Super Monkey Ball)
  75. Theimminent26
    Mar 27, 2003
    9
    I start this review with an important statement, this is my opinion so don't get angry with me if i insult you. To start off any single person who won't play this game because of "kiddie link" is missing out this is a very awesome game, in my opinion way better than ocarina of time, but still no link to the past. Next, for everyone who is avoiding "kid" link, that is pure I start this review with an important statement, this is my opinion so don't get angry with me if i insult you. To start off any single person who won't play this game because of "kiddie link" is missing out this is a very awesome game, in my opinion way better than ocarina of time, but still no link to the past. Next, for everyone who is avoiding "kid" link, that is pure imbecility and goes back to the argument of gameplay over graphics. I would understand not wanting to play if they made link original nintendo graphics after showing us 3d games, but because they make him a child its ruined (sarcastic), thats almost worst then saying something like "oh the main character in this game is a little girl or the hero doesn't look cool enough the game sucks now". As for the graphics I was surprised at first but I knew they could't screw this series up unless they made a barrage of mistakes. Now that I see the graphics I am nothing more than amused as was said earlier it is kind of like art to a degree. I admit some character models are stupid but that won't stop this game from being awesome. Oh, and another thing for the whole its just the same exact controls over again no new sword moves argument my friend brought up the other day. Any person who has played a zelda game knows that you play for the quest and unique boss fights and new and classic item puzzles, not the swordfighting. ANYWAYS I give this game a 9 because of the fact that it is easier than normal and some very slight puzzle reptitiveness.......Apt. 26:) coming soon check it out Expand
  76. Al
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    WOW so far this game has been a worthwhile investment....great graphics, great gameplay, great music, and probably the greatest zelda story.
  77. DamirM.
    Mar 6, 2003
    10
    Simply put, this is the best Zelda game ever.
  78. DanS.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever.
  79. Cyrone
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    Simply brilliant. I can't even say in words how perfect, how genious Nintendo is. Its such a shame that everyone has a bad image of Gamecube, but hopefully Zelda will change it all. Very satisfying battles and gameplay!
  80. Kilik
    Apr 11, 2003
    9
    Were gonna get some action yeah were gonna get some action soon trapped in a world of ordinary nightmares...blah blah cant remember-does anyone believe this is me i tried to tell you there is something like that more to meeeeee. I tried to tell you. Yeah this is a good game. The camera is good whoever that was that said that probably has no coordination and cant reallly use the Were gonna get some action yeah were gonna get some action soon trapped in a world of ordinary nightmares...blah blah cant remember-does anyone believe this is me i tried to tell you there is something like that more to meeeeee. I tried to tell you. Yeah this is a good game. The camera is good whoever that was that said that probably has no coordination and cant reallly use the controller. The story is good as for the guy who said it doesn't make sense go back to pre school it is very simple. a good game . play . it. now. Expand
  81. BrendanJ.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    WOW. this is one great game. anyone who gives this game less than an 8 obciously hasnt bought this game. "well i played a demo at target" what kind of thing is that to say. the dungeons are masterpieces, the puzzles, challenging enough to test you but not so hard you'll get stuck, the graphics...INCREDIBLE, the sound, amazing, and the overall gameplay and combat is truly tremendous. WOW. this is one great game. anyone who gives this game less than an 8 obciously hasnt bought this game. "well i played a demo at target" what kind of thing is that to say. the dungeons are masterpieces, the puzzles, challenging enough to test you but not so hard you'll get stuck, the graphics...INCREDIBLE, the sound, amazing, and the overall gameplay and combat is truly tremendous. anyone who claims its a kiddy game is insane about trying to prove how manly they are (weirdos) is missing out on the best Zelda game ever created. The combat is spectacular and dont expect your enemies to take turns like in poorly made games, they'll all come at you if once if they please. anyone who doubts the graphics or gameplay or anything is missing out on the greatest video game experience of all time. It blow metroid prime out of the water, its in a whole different league than metroid prime and thats a great game. anyone who doubts it is half witted. until you BUY and play this game you wont know how truly wonderful it is. playing a demo doesnt give you any perspective of the unbelieveably vast world of zelda. dont pass judgement until you play at least three full dungeons, they are mind boggeling. Expand
  82. MarkH
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    Best game EVER!, if you don't buy it this instant.....then.....then.... Your just a friggin mad man.
  83. j.jBoNd
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    this game is the best i've ever played.
  84. Avideogamefan
    Apr 17, 2003
    9
    A great game. Even though it's a little short, and there are no voices, an awesome game.
  85. JonathanL.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just plain stupid and probably haven't played it. Expand
  86. (Still)RemainingNameless
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    i have 2 say one thing......WTF IS WRONG WITH ALL U PPL THAT DIDNT BUY IT JUST CUZ OF THE F...ING GRAPHICS?!?! this game is awsome! although the bosses were a sinch, the ending battle with ganon proved that zelda was useful 4 something other than screaming and running around. she actually fought! enev though the graphics were really screwed and it might have seemed kiddish, i bought this i have 2 say one thing......WTF IS WRONG WITH ALL U PPL THAT DIDNT BUY IT JUST CUZ OF THE F...ING GRAPHICS?!?! this game is awsome! although the bosses were a sinch, the ending battle with ganon proved that zelda was useful 4 something other than screaming and running around. she actually fought! enev though the graphics were really screwed and it might have seemed kiddish, i bought this game cuz i was a hardcore zelda fan, and u know what, i loved it. the graphics may make link look like a powerpuff girl, but who the fuck cares. its not graphics that make a good game, its gameplay and stroyline and this game followed that of zelda perfectly. this is aa amazing segment 2 the L.o.Z series and those of u that didnt buy it just cuz of the kiddish cartooning are seriously, SERIOUSLY F...ED! wicked game!!! Expand
  87. NathanP.
    Apr 22, 2003
    9
    Man oh man... everyone I knew kept on saying... "OMG, ZELDA IS GONNA SUCK ASS" I was the only one who still had faith in Miyamoto's ability to crank out great games. And boy was I right! Although I thought this game would be perfect, there are a few flaws (the camera can go haywire on your during a few battles), but they all are bearable once you can adjust to them. The graphics look Man oh man... everyone I knew kept on saying... "OMG, ZELDA IS GONNA SUCK ASS" I was the only one who still had faith in Miyamoto's ability to crank out great games. And boy was I right! Although I thought this game would be perfect, there are a few flaws (the camera can go haywire on your during a few battles), but they all are bearable once you can adjust to them. The graphics look gorgeous, and all those who said that the game was too "cartoonish" and "childish"... maybe its you who needs to grow up! I mean, seriously, Zelda brought back what video games was supposed to do in the first place- TO HAVE FUN. The dungeons are well mapped out, and the puzzles are there, but aren't too hard to solve, yet still keep you interested. So be a real grown-up and bring out your inner child and get Wind Waker. This game isn't perfect-- few games are-- but its almost there. Expand
  88. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    People who won't play this game because of the cel-shading are going to miss out on one great game. An awesome story and an incredibly huge world will have you playing for a while.
  89. ScottM.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    This game is the most awesome and breathtaking game i've ever played.I've got all 3 next generation systems and this is by far the best game there is for all 3 systems.The Legend Of Zelda:The Wind Waker is the best game ever.Makers of zelda games, you rock!Thanks for the best game ever!
  90. GanonS.
    Apr 9, 2003
    10
    All I have to say is WOW! And maybe, WOW! again. I never doubted Miyamoto for a second, and neither should have you! This is definetely the best, standing with OoT, Zelda game ever! You know what I'm going to say to everyone who goes on crapping about the kiddy graphics, so I just won't say it. And for everyone who thought they were going to be cool, you were right! The All I have to say is WOW! And maybe, WOW! again. I never doubted Miyamoto for a second, and neither should have you! This is definetely the best, standing with OoT, Zelda game ever! You know what I'm going to say to everyone who goes on crapping about the kiddy graphics, so I just won't say it. And for everyone who thought they were going to be cool, you were right! The cel-shading adds a whole new concept of gaming, for this series at least, and I hope the next title will be the same. Sound and FX are great as always, as well as an excellent story line which I believe blends in very nicely to Ocarina. Also, the addition of a few sword combos, as well as the hurricane spin double the sword-swinging fun! This is truly an instant masterpice; the game of the year without a doubt, and one who's legend will live on for ages to come... Expand
  91. JesseK.
    May 10, 2003
    10
    This is one of the most interactive games I have ever seen. Despite the length of the game, I have never wanted to put the controller down until I saw the last bit of credits. I wish the dungeons were longer, but the Anime-style graphics were amazing! Later people! Peace to Brampton! Holla!
  92. SnakeVenom
    May 16, 2003
    9
    I gave it a 9 because it is a really great game. it doesnt reach the full revolutionary posistion that Ocarina of Time did, but it is none the les a very great work of art. The cell shading and music really help to make you feel like you are in the game. Another thing that kep ot from being a 10 is that now a days people dont like to read alot of text, they want vioces. Bring in the I gave it a 9 because it is a really great game. it doesnt reach the full revolutionary posistion that Ocarina of Time did, but it is none the les a very great work of art. The cell shading and music really help to make you feel like you are in the game. Another thing that kep ot from being a 10 is that now a days people dont like to read alot of text, they want vioces. Bring in the vioces for Zelda and it'll be even better. Expand
  93. Chucky
    May 16, 2003
    9
    I really really like this game. i would have given it a 10, but there are only 6 dungeons. OoT had 9, A Link to the Past had 12. I hope there's not only 3 in the next Zelda game.
  94. JuanG.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Although I give this game a Perfect ten I still beilieve that Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is better. The dungeons in this game are extremely difficult compared to the other Zelda games. I dont think that a person that never played Zelda before could beat it.
  95. Mechanori
    May 7, 2003
    9
    For those of you rating the game because of it's kiddy graphics, stop being so scared of graphics. Even though they are absolutely beautiful anyway, don't judge anything by how it looks. This is a great game, in all aspects, and unfortunately for you people that think realism is most important, it is most certainly not the basis of any previous Zelda game. Did the LttP sprite For those of you rating the game because of it's kiddy graphics, stop being so scared of graphics. Even though they are absolutely beautiful anyway, don't judge anything by how it looks. This is a great game, in all aspects, and unfortunately for you people that think realism is most important, it is most certainly not the basis of any previous Zelda game. Did the LttP sprite look anything like a real figure? Was it meant to? Did Link's eyes look like normal eyes in OoT? No, they were anime styled, and this game is taking that style to a new level. Expand
  96. KyleH.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    How on earth can you say that this game does not have godly visuals. Ive played the whole thing threw and was constantly amazed at the animation, character modeling, particle effects and every other detail that I would have never thought to add. This is how cell-shading should be used. This game has the most polished graphics I have ever seen, except perhaps for Splinter Cell running on How on earth can you say that this game does not have godly visuals. Ive played the whole thing threw and was constantly amazed at the animation, character modeling, particle effects and every other detail that I would have never thought to add. This is how cell-shading should be used. This game has the most polished graphics I have ever seen, except perhaps for Splinter Cell running on PC with a geforce4. Zelda definitley deserves a 10! Expand
  97. LinktheHeroSwordsman
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    The game is very cool and i like the fact that it is so long. It keeps players busy like me, I'm still trying to find Makar for the Wind God. Anyway I like the game better than any other game that I've ever played and it's a must have game for Zelda lovers.
  98. AntónioB.
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    Fantastic.
  99. MarshMellow
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    As good as it gets!!!!!!!
  100. DevonN.
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    Awesome game. Need I say more?

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
4
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  2. 100
    When one picks up the controller, the ability to step into that time and place (never more hauntingly beautiful than in this latest instalment) never loses its allure. Even the most hardened of cynics would have to admit that this title is something else entirely. It's the stuff of dreams. [JPN Import]
  3. 100
    Simply a stunning, magical game.