The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 931 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 931
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8.
  2. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Nintendo have certainly kept their expectations high while creating this game, an amazing story line (as always) and a very well though out layout (dungeons and the Great Sea). The "Wind Waker" for me, ranks higher than the "Twilight Princess" and "Majora's Mask", and can't wait for the next game to be released ..

    10/10
  3. Mac
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    To everybody complaining about the graphics, would you rather Nintendo do the same boring thing that almost every other comany does of just making their games more life-like? Or would you rather they create them like art, which is what a truly good game is. Zelda has always been cartoony, and that's not just due to graphics restrictions. I'd say that OoT was the exception, not the rule.
  4. NikoB.
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    This is truly a great game. The cell-shading animation takes nothing away from the game, and only adds to its creativity. Gameplay is easy to understand, and this Zelda has the best fighting in any of the games. Definitely one of the two best Zeldas.
  5. SeanM.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought Ocarina Of Time was good but then I realized how good A Link To The Past was for SNES. I realized that games with cartoon graphics are way the hell better because they concentrate on the story more. You want to get sucked in to the game. Thats what Zelda is all about. I know that SNES is old but still A Link To The Past is the best game ever made and I'm positive this game will kick as much ass as the SNES version did. NUFF SAID! Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Truly a gaming masterpiece, from art direction to simple yet very engrossing game play and design, this is one of Nintendo's masterpieces, and arguably the best Zelda game ever created.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    How did i know this game would have a good rating, i guess you people have great taste. What a great game this is, not quite the perfect 10/10 Ocarina of Time, but that's just fine, this game is still a beauty and deserves a solid 9.8
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is pure genius. Its fun for everyone and it just never gets old. nothing more to say really besides buy it if you get the chance as you wont regret it. :)
  9. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    A amazing piece of work! I absolutely love this game. It is positively entertaining. On the downside it takes FOREVER to get to one island to the other. Overall a amazing game.
  10. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    I think it's the best in the series; Best soundtrack, unique story(until TP), realistic characters, beautifully unique graphics, free camera range, greatest overworld, and a crap ton of extra content. I'm actually a bit disappointed in Nintendo for thinking they had to apologize by making Twilight Princess.
  11. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite Zelda. Zelda is freakin' hott in this one, even if she looks like she's 12. Overall i'd say this game is super **** plus Zelda has nice ****
  12. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best gamecube games of all time. Better then Super Mario Sunshine, Animal Crossing, and Smash Bro. Melee. Link is a great ip and will always have new games just like Mario, but this game was out of left field. The game is all about going island to island in your boat called King of Red Lion. This was my favorite part of the game. Its just really awesome to be linkThis game is one of the best gamecube games of all time. Better then Super Mario Sunshine, Animal Crossing, and Smash Bro. Melee. Link is a great ip and will always have new games just like Mario, but this game was out of left field. The game is all about going island to island in your boat called King of Red Lion. This was my favorite part of the game. Its just really awesome to be link and know that no matter what direction you go in you will find something to do. There are a lot of items in game and each one has there own unique ability. Normal items that you see in every Link game like bombs and a bow an arrows are in this game but new items are out in the world that are great to look for. The music is great and matches the all around feel of the game, the graphics make the game more unique because its a more cartoon like. The Story is amazing because its about saving a princess and who doesn't like that story. In the end this is a must have and anyone who says other wise is lying to them self. Expand
  13. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    When the Wind Waker first was introduced I honestly wasn
  14. MichaelK.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the joy of experiencing. Expand
  15. BLove
    May 6, 2003
    10
    The only complaint that I have is the game is a little too short. However, I simply can't give it less than a 10 as much as I enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next zelda on the gamecube.
  16. JasonH.
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    This is much better than ocarina of time, and as that was the best game ever, the wind waker should now be classed as the best game ever.
  17. CozoniW.
    Jan 3, 2004
    9
    My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The exploring over the oceans was flawed to say the least, became a little repetitive just when you thought the action was hotting up and also wasnt that difficult - expecially when you are flipping between Metroid Prime and Pro evolution soccer 3 which My first Zelda experience. But allthough it has suberbly origonal graphics, immaculate combat and some genius puzzles- it wasnt perfect. The exploring over the oceans was flawed to say the least, became a little repetitive just when you thought the action was hotting up and also wasnt that difficult - expecially when you are flipping between Metroid Prime and Pro evolution soccer 3 which really are hard! But you have to give it at least a 9 because it is part of a select few games who are on a different planet to 90% of other games. Expand
  18. JarkkoJ.
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    I think this game is one of the best games ever made. Graphics are fantastic and gameplay is excellent. There is only one bad thing... it was too easy.
  19. JoseM.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This i sthe second best zelda game to ocarina of time I hate those who say the graphics are whack i say "who cares it ain'tbout graphics it the gameply" and this game blew me away.
  20. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The best game of 2003! The story line is excellent and exiting. The cell shaded graphics are unique but top notch and the gameplay is great. The controls are basically the same as OoT's, and the puzzles are the same wonderful zelda goodness. Best zelda game next to Ocarina of Time of course. A must have for any GCN owner!
  21. LisaI.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker was great game.there was nothing wrong about it.but i still thinkMajoras Mask and Ocarina of time were better games including the better graphics Lisa xxx
  22. BenjaminB.
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Almost the whole game is perfect. It has amazing graphics which you cannot do better when you use cel-shading. the sound always perfectly fits in. The only problem is that it is for Zelda fans, who played most games of this series, a bit too easy - especially the last boss fight. Another problem is that almost right before the end the search for the parts of the triforce is a bit annoying Almost the whole game is perfect. It has amazing graphics which you cannot do better when you use cel-shading. the sound always perfectly fits in. The only problem is that it is for Zelda fans, who played most games of this series, a bit too easy - especially the last boss fight. Another problem is that almost right before the end the search for the parts of the triforce is a bit annoying but finally I have to say when do not have this game you miss a masterpiece in gaming history. Expand
  23. WilhelmB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    The music, the bosses, the enviroment, the animations, have left a permanent imprint on me of what an amazing game should be.
  24. supert0n
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This is the best game in the world!The gameplay works perfectly,and the graphics has its own original style,making the game brilliant,and the storyline is perfect,you must play it!
  25. GreekBoyAndrew
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    OK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that the graphics are ok however they don't use the potenital of the gamecube. What people don't realise is that its not just the graphics, its the fact that link is small, skinny and gay looking. Can the hero of time really look as stupid????? on theOK, we all know that the game play is great. There has been a big debate on wether the graphics are amazing or just crap. I think that the graphics are ok however they don't use the potenital of the gamecube. What people don't realise is that its not just the graphics, its the fact that link is small, skinny and gay looking. Can the hero of time really look as stupid????? on the other hand if the graphics were the same but he was big, musclular and a hard ass then i dont think anyone would complain! in conclusion i feel that you should go out and buy this game because the storyline, gameplay and whole atmosphere of the game is amazing. you can't rate this game after 30 mins of playing it! Expand
  26. Sariachan
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best Zelda game I ever played, I loved Link's new style of fighting, the cell-shaded graphics, the soundtrack, and the overall greatness of this game.
  27. TylerL.
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    I'm so sick and tired of people who judges the book by its cover. Like Tom said its judged on how it is played not by how childish it looks. If you even played the game you will love it just as much as the previous Zelda games.
  28. JoelC.
    Mar 14, 2003
    9
    I was blown away playing the demo at best buy, went there with some friends, and got lost and practically forgot I was at best buy with friends, just absorbed into the game. You can tell its something special when that happens. The graffics are sweet, and I agree they fit Zelda perfectly. I happen to like toddler meth-addict link, he's cool. Now when its released on the 24th this I was blown away playing the demo at best buy, went there with some friends, and got lost and practically forgot I was at best buy with friends, just absorbed into the game. You can tell its something special when that happens. The graffics are sweet, and I agree they fit Zelda perfectly. I happen to like toddler meth-addict link, he's cool. Now when its released on the 24th this month, get your fix of pure gaming meth and join the addiction. Absolutely. Expand
  29. Ness
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off Link. All the sudden it had been interpreted as Nintendo's new strategy, and that was a shock for us. When it comes to Nintendo strategy, it's not that we want to make games for kids. It's that we want to make them creative while appealing to a wider audience. Obviously we see games as entertainment, and we want to find the best way to make the gameplay experience entertaining for everyone." -Shigeru Miyamoto Expand
  30. Mr.Wha
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    Da Best! NUFF SAID.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  2. 100
    When one picks up the controller, the ability to step into that time and place (never more hauntingly beautiful than in this latest instalment) never loses its allure. Even the most hardened of cynics would have to admit that this title is something else entirely. It's the stuff of dreams. [JPN Import]
  3. 100
    Simply a stunning, magical game.