The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 681 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. 10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 310
  1. May 27, 2011
    10
    Pretty much one of the greatest games ever made and have always preferred this over any Zelda game, especially the fan favorite Ocarina of Time. Amazingly charming and beautiful graphics which still holds up to this day, perfect controls, excellent music, fantastic gameplay, absolutely epic story and a seemingly endless and satisfying lasting appeal. There is so much to do and explore in this game and all your time spent playing is worth the hours. If you have a Gamecube or a Wii, do yourself a massive favour and buy it for yourself, your friends, your family and your pets. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Nintendo have certainly kept their expectations high while creating this game, an amazing story line (as always) and a very well though out layout (dungeons and the Great Sea). The "Wind Waker" for me, ranks higher than the "Twilight Princess" and "Majora's Mask", and can't wait for the next game to be released ..

    10/10
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    So much memories here. I first played OoT and MM, yet I still love this. A lot of people didn't like the more childish approach. I disagree. The graphics are amazing, even skyward sword, 8 years later, doesn't look much better. But the STORY is what makes WW a masterpiece for me. 10/10 Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    While most people say Ocarina of Time is the greatest game of all time (and it certainly is a true masterpiece) there is one Zelda which is even better: The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. The game is possibly the greatest game ever created or if not, atleast the best on the gamecube. The game's visuals (which are unfairly criticized) are gorgeous even 10 years later. While the gameplay is mostly the same as Ocarina, the few slight tweaks and adjustments mix it, the games only poor section the the infamous Triforce Quest, however the rest of the game is incredible enough to overshadow that portion. Very few games can even come close to the amazing experience of The Wind Waker. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Cool artstyle, great gameplay, flawless story and an amazing soundtrack. What more can you ask for?

    I can understand how some wouldn't take
    the game seriously because of the artstyle, but this **** is not to be underestimated. I felt sorry for the game, at the time, as many fans were disappointed in the way it looked, but I believe so many were really suprised when it came out. The story, as I said, is the unique part about this game, along with the beautiful music. One of my faves. Thank you, Nintendo. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    beautiful game, beautiful atmosphere, beautiful music, beautiftul story! what more can i say! its incredibly fun going out and exploring the islands in the deep great sea! the world is so vast with tons of content to discover! you feel so free in this game! you can literally go anywhere in the map right from the get go! it would probably take you about 30 to 40 minutes to travel from one side of the map to the other! a great and wondrous game! the music is great and fits in well with what this game is trying to portray! an epic story, epic final boss battle, and lots of interesting quirky characters to meet!

    only complaint with game! its too easy! way too easy! and sometimes i cant help but wonder how great this game wouldve looked if it was aimed for realistic graphics! the graphics are good, they are,! its very stylized! so i wont bang on the graphics!

    overall the game is superb! if only this game was harder and more challenging, then this game wouldve fringed even closer to perfect!

    9 out of 10!
    Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    first off the graphics much like every one where shunning when it was first shown (and rightfully so) are rancid dog crap . i dont know what nintendo was thinking going for this dorky saturday morning cartoon look . that aside you still have the solid zelda gameplay and puzzles . problem is its not near enough its just to short . looking at ocarana of time which was 40-60 hours this game is easily beatin in 20 hours and yes thats not doing every thing in the game but a good chunck of it . you could toss in another 10 hours if you do and thats mainly do to all the sailing you will be doing . infact thats what you will be spending about 30% or more of your time doing ... sailing a boat ... it just doesnt have the magic that ocarana of time or prevous zelda games had but is still heald together by its core game play and puzzles . deffinitly not recommended for any one new to the zelda franchise and only the hardcore and i mean the very hardcore and thoose who can get past thoose pissy looking graphics . dont defend them look at twighlight princess .. thats how this game should have looked and it should have had more dungeons and alot less sailing. Expand

See all 310 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.