Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 750 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunningIn this ninth entry in the Legend of Zelda series, Link debuts on GameCube with a fun new cel-shaded look, but the game stays true to the respected heritage of the series. The classic mix of sword-swinging action, perplexing puzzles and stirring story lines remains intact, but the stunning cel-shaded graphics give the people and places of Link's watery world a wildly artistic new look. And for the very first time, Link sails freely on the high seas. Join Link on his most epic and scenic adventure yet. Face unimaginable monsters, explore puzzling dungeons, and meet a cast of unforgettable characters as he searches for his kidnapped sister, Aryll. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Nothing can prepare you for the greatness that is The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker... Mark my words: there will be no finer gaming experience this year. [Mar 2003, p.24]
  2. It's only March, and The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is destined to be the best game of the year on any platform.
  3. 10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  4. 96
    It's Zelda's unrivaled design, balanced and varied, and its polished play mechanics and control that ultimately set the game apart from just about every other competitor on the market.
  5. Tingle does make the game a touch easier, but at the same time it makes the story aspects of the Wind Waker a great deal more communal, leading to fewer arguments over whose turn it is. It's also the first game we've seen to really justify the cost of the link cable.
  6. While the game has some minor pacing and audio problems, the brave new art style, tightly evolved gameplay and humorous story takes the famous series in a bright, new direction.
  7. An entertaining, albeit unoriginal Zelda title that fails to be revolutionary yet still has the classic gameplay elements that make the series so great.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 319
  1. JonS
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall Okay, so maybe it doesn't deserve a perfect score. Sure there's like two bits where i got stuck or kind of bored but the sheer wall of content that is enjoyable and intriguing to the very end is just exceptional, if i could 9.8. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Wind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinionWind Waker is a very fun and epic game. Many have complained about the game being too short and sailing being boring, but in my opinion sailing was relaxing and, maybe I was just stupid or did a lot of sidequests, but the game felt really long to me. The dungeons are fun and diverse, there is a lot to see and do on the Great Sea, combat was fun (although too easy for the most part), characters are mostly great and unforgettable and the story was good too. There are a few flaws, like the easiness, but I enjoyed it so much, that I'm giving it a perfect ten. Expand
  3. ScottM.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    This game is the most awesome and breathtaking game i've ever played.I've got all 3 next generation systems and this is by far the This game is the most awesome and breathtaking game i've ever played.I've got all 3 next generation systems and this is by far the best game there is for all 3 systems.The Legend Of Zelda:The Wind Waker is the best game ever.Makers of zelda games, you rock!Thanks for the best game ever! Expand
  4. KeeganM.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, it is easily thebest games I've ever played... except maybe ocarina of Time. And once you get used to the cartoon-style graphics, you'll see how much better they can animate the game. Expand
  5. SnakeVenom
    May 16, 2003
    9
    I gave it a 9 because it is a really great game. it doesnt reach the full revolutionary posistion that Ocarina of Time did, but it is none I gave it a 9 because it is a really great game. it doesnt reach the full revolutionary posistion that Ocarina of Time did, but it is none the les a very great work of art. The cell shading and music really help to make you feel like you are in the game. Another thing that kep ot from being a 10 is that now a days people dont like to read alot of text, they want vioces. Bring in the vioces for Zelda and it'll be even better. Expand
  6. LiNkZB.
    Apr 20, 2004
    9
    I loved this game, I finished it twice and I don't get bored by it, although OoT is better in my opinion I still give this game a 9 ^_^.
  7. JayB.
    Sep 28, 2003
    0
    Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever Even if this game had the best graphics in the world, this would probably be one of the most overrated, poorly designed games I have ever bought in my life, being made only as a result of the publicity and money made from Ocarina of Time. Stop giving this sorry game pity votes! Expand

See all 319 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.