The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess GameCube

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 633 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 633
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShawnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda veteran, you will instantly see the resemblances to Ocarina of Time, But thse ill be more in the story than the graphics. Those are much better than any other 3D Zelda game out there. The action gets greater and greater to an eventual climax...and then the credits begin. This is a game that will surely go far and Zelda fans are sure love it. Expand
  2. RichardH.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing, but only for people with an attention span of more than 2 seconds.
  3. AB
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is an excellent progressive story that leads the player through a breathtaking experience in a spectacular fashion. Each moment of the game is exhilarating; the characters are amazing, and they develop an emotionally effective plot. The Zelda series is arguably the best in gaming, and Twilight Princess makes it even better. Expand
  4. AlexV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This game is really incredible. The graphics for the gamecube version really surprised me and the storyline was fantastic!
  5. MarkusE.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Attn: Robert K. did you only get halfway through the game or something? Beat the whole thing before you vote. Beginning with dungeon #4, you get fresh, new items that were never before seen in OoT and TWW. The dungeons have completely new puzzles.
  6. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it into an excellent title. While it is good on the Wii, the game just seems made for the Gamecube. The mirrored world and odd controls of the Wii version, as well as the subtle but annoying (annoying to a true Zelda fan, that is) fact that Link is right handed in that incarnation, make the Gamecube the best system to play this amazing game on. Expand
  7. DerekG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing. The first Zelda game with a decent plot in a long time. It is a tad easy, but I can forgive that. The graphics, other than some bad textures here and there are incredible.
  8. ZacR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by the gods. The Wind Waker link was chosen by the gods. The Ocarina link was chosen by fate.) I was sad to see there weren't any deku trees but I guess they all died out after wind waker. I guess drinking all that water can do that to you though. I was really excited at the end when Gannon actually DIED. Before we have only seen him turn to stone or vanish. (He turns to stone in Wind Waker. In Ocarina of Time you never see a body. I suppose he runs off and trys to get his strength back. Which after happening he trys to take over hyrule only for it to be flooded and then him imprisoned untill later) It was really amazing to see that when the water leveled out that they actually tried to have him executed. The entire game was simply amazing. I can't stop trembling with excitement for the next installment and an even deadlier foe! Expand
  9. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess is an outstanding adventure worthy of every bit of hype it's received. The dungeons are genius, the new items and weapons amazing, and the story...well, it's simply breathtaking. All flaws aside, nothing out there stands up to Twilight Princess. Not Elder Scrolls IV, not Final Fantasy XII or Okami...Zelda is, as always, right on top. Nintendo has proven it once more. Expand
  10. JosephV.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess never stops delivering. As soon as you finish, you'll want to go through it all over again.
  11. SamJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they even remotely become tiring and although Hyrule is huge, transversing it is never a chore due to all the means of transportation at your disposal. If you are still skeptical after reading this, give a rent and you will likely realize you just wasted $7 since you will in all likelyhood find yourself buying it afterwards. Expand
  12. KevinB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess easily nailed the game of the year. Thats not really the question. The question I really had to ask myself was whether it was the greatest game of all time or not. After alot of soul searching I concluded that Yes, it is by far the greatest game of all time.
  13. StephenP.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome! Best storyline in gaming history, angelicly easy controls, and polished off with neat graphics. Good job, Nintendo, good job.
  14. Matthew
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW but slightly worse than OoT. It was a lot longer of a game and much more challenging. Definitely a recommendation to all true Zelda fans and newbies. Expand
  15. AdamA.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    This truly is the greatest Zelda of all time. The creators took the greatest elements of all the Zelda games, threw in some very creative twists, brilliantly integrated the graphics with the system, and made one of the most fulfilling games ever made.
  16. AdamF.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than ever, the characters seem actually alive and finally have true personalties, the dungeons are brilliant, the boss battles are more consistently entertaining than ever, and the new twilight realm makes for a very deep, well written, even tragic storyline. ANYONE who says that Twilight is "just a shadow of Ocarina of Time" or has "dated graphics" simply cannot appreciate a masterpiece when they see one in their face. This game IS everything that makes the Zelda series so great. Expand
  17. JohnB
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Don't listen to haters. This game beats Okami AND SotC easily, as you can see from the metascore, too.
  18. ErikM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are awesome, and the voice acting (sounds the characters make) and animations are very entertaining. You can finally use your sword, bow, and even clawshot on horseback, and fighting as a wolf is also very cool. The final battle is fantastic as well. Expand
  19. RandyM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Prepare to be stunned by the sheer brilliance that Nintendo has pulled off. Twilight Princess is easily the best Zelda game, and one of the greatest games ever made. Period.
  20. UweP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed world of Hyrule before you gain access to the next dungeon. Only during the opening 10-15 hours of the game does it feel slightly padded out with a couple of collecting tasks, but then the game really ramps up the pace and doesn't stop until the jaw-droppingly spectacular finale. Expand
  21. ZackeryA.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    This is the most greatest game that I have ever played! It has good graphics and story!
  22. ShelbyG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    One of hte best LoZ games made to date, some of the items were reused from other games, but they did throw in a handfull of new stuff. Also the sword fighting from the back of Epona added another unique element to this great game.
  23. MarkB
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and smash. Probably a bit easier than previous Zelda games, but that meant I didn't end up throwing my pad across the room in rage, or scratching my balding head in confusion as to what the hell I was supposed to be doing next. Games are meant to be challenging I know, but fun is more important! The sound and graphics are gorgeous with often mind-bending effects and enormous landscapes, plus highly effective depth-of-field, antialiasing and multitexturing the like I've not seen in a 'cube game before. It's amazing what they manage to squeeze into one mini-DVD disk and out of the console's modest little hardware package, but then the 'cube was always underrated IMHO. As soon as I'd finished the game (shedding a tear at the cutscenes during the credits of course) I wanted to play it all over again... but I might just invest in a Wii so I can appreciate it all the more in glorious widescreen, and have fun fishing with the Wiimote. Expand
  24. MelidaP.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some of the previous titles. True, the princess doesn't have a huge role where Link's entire goal is to save her, but that should be an aspect that more people should enjoy. I'm sort of tired of the helpless princess persona myself. All in all it's a great game and definitley lives up to it's predecessors. Expand
  25. PeeD
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun and simple game that does not require too much previous skill. Cheers! Expand
  26. AlbertoM.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Thank you very much, Shigeru Miyamoto San... Twilight Princess teaches us that video games still evolve and inspire generations... Tijuana, Baja California.
  27. DannyL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. This game was great. I cannot believe that a Gamecube just pulled this off. No doubt it Zelda did it's best and used the Gamecube's full potential. I loved this game. Expand
  28. Tony
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Best Zelda game period it totally recreates Hyrule and it's the most epic Zelda yet.
  29. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Twilight Princess is a hallmark in game design, Hyrule is huge, and the people appear to carry out everyday activities, and it looks stunning. She controls are spot on, as they flow nicely with great precision, and the story is decisively darker, and the game benefits greatly from it. Twilight Princess is the best game since Ocarina of Time.
  30. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Better than the Wii version, which the wiimote didn't work as well as I'd hoped for. This is a darker grittier zelda game and absorbs you in its fantasy.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2006
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2006
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.